Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here at last! The sequel to the wonderful 'Groosham Grange'
Did you know Anthony Horowitz actually wrote a version of this book about 4 years ago? It has been available in France (in French!) for many years. Much of the content has been altered for this new release and it is great to see the long-awaited sequel to the wonderful 'Groosham Grange' here at last. Horowitz came up with the idea of an 11-year-old boy suddenly...
Published on 29 Oct 1999

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
Great book I enjoyed thirst and second. A must buy. Existing,brill, fab,a bit scary, dramatic,
Surprising and well done Athony Horowitz
Published 12 months ago by miss's kindle


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here at last! The sequel to the wonderful 'Groosham Grange', 29 Oct 1999
By A Customer
Did you know Anthony Horowitz actually wrote a version of this book about 4 years ago? It has been available in France (in French!) for many years. Much of the content has been altered for this new release and it is great to see the long-awaited sequel to the wonderful 'Groosham Grange' here at last. Horowitz came up with the idea of an 11-year-old boy suddenly discovering he has special powers and suddenly being whisked off to a strange magical school long before anyone had ever heard of J K Rowling... In this sequel to Horowitz' most famous book (although 'Granny', 'The Switch' and 'The Devil and His Boy' are all favourites too) David Eliot returns for his second year at Groosham Grange and we learn a lot more about the school itself, its staff and its pupils and about his dreadful parents! Humour is on many levels, as with all of Horowitz' work. This book is full of excitement, pace and humour and larger than life characters. David has a new rival at the school too - who is challenging him for the coveted Unholy Grail - awarded to the star pupil each year. Meanwhile somebody is trying to bring down the school. One last thought - in 'Groosham Grange' and now the 'Unholy Grail' we have an 11 year-old-boy with dreadful parents, the Eliots (very like the Dursleys). David has 2 best friends - a girl, Jill and a boy, Jeffrey (rather like Hermione and Ron). David has a rival (rather like Malfoy) - I could go on by mentioning the school itself, the staff, the matron, the lessons on how to fly on a broomstick and how to make potions etc. etc. Just remember, Anthony Horowitz wrote Groosham Grange AND this sequel some time ago - long before Mr Potter came on the scene... strange but true. Don't get me wrong - I love Rowling's books - I would just like Horowitz to get the credit he deserves for coming up with these great ideas first! This a wonderful book and great for reading aloud (to a Yr 5 or 6 class, I suggest). It's just as good as the first book, if not better. I strongly recommend it. Can't wait for his next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars OK - GOOD Rating, 2 Jan 2004
This review is from: Return to Groosham Grange (Paperback)
This book, is not so good as the first, but seeing as it is a follow up, it is actually quite good. David eliot hated this school in the last story, but because he is winning the award of power, he isnt going to let it be ruined. Not by some kid, Vincent, who seemes quite suspicious to David, in getting the award off david, and in making the school fall. Worst of all, knowone else seemes to be noticing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Book Really worth reading it, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book itself was really good!¡!¡!¡ It was also typical Anthony Horowitz and that's what made it amazingly cool! I think that this is suitable for 7-16 year olds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cheap books, 15 May 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Return to Groosham Grange (Paperback)
bought this book for my son who was reading it at school,he loves it and i loved the price when ordered it arrived as promised fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thrilling tale of a story with lost of magical mishaps!!!, 16 Nov 2001
By A Customer
A thrilling tale of an adventures and magical story. All on a very strange school called Groosham grange. In this school no lesson is normal and the teachers are out of this world. Vampires, Werewolf's and 10,000 year old ladies, who would hire them for a job?
David Eliot who is 10 years old has been at the school 1 year. In his first year he and his two friends, Jill and Jerry tried to escape from the school a few times but failed. Now all three friends think it is better than home. At the moment there is a tournament going on in the school, the prize is a golden cup, called The Unholy Grail, which has magical powers that nobody knows, David Eliot is in first place, but a new student called Vincent is catching up. Could Vincent be cheating because he has only just arrived at Groosham Grange and he is less than 50 points behind David? Vincent has been slipping away each night, but only David knows. To find out who wins the unholy grail this is the 2nd Book in the series. The first book is called Groosham Grange. If you adventure and mysteries than this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazeballs, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book so much !!!!!! You have to read it !!! It is good for boys and girls!! I would recommend this book to ages 7-12. From Lois age 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read this book and the first one when I was in 2nd year of High School. It was great to refresh my memory with this classic book. I would recommend this author to everyone if you like these kind of books. I personaly love this author along with Darren Shan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great read, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Return to Groosham Grange (Paperback)
i bought this book for my little boy, he had already read groosham grange & loved it and this carried on the story .He has read almost all of antony horowitz childrens books & we can both highly recommend them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent no.2, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book so much, that like the first one I finished it ina day.Exiting, remarkable ,and entertaining. It`s groosham!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 4 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book I enjoyed thirst and second. A must buy. Existing,brill, fab,a bit scary, dramatic,
Surprising and well done Athony Horowitz
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Return to Groosham Grange
Return to Groosham Grange by Anthony Horowitz (Paperback - 5 May 2003)
3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews