Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars89
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 14 October 2006
Before you read the review of ARK ANGEL, you need to take into account that this is the sixth book in the engaging, entertaining, action-packed adventure series starring Alex Rider. If you haven't read the first five books in the series, you'll probably want to do that before you pick up ARK ANGEL. Although it can stand on its own, you'll feel more in the loop by reading the previous books first.

ARK ANGEL picks up immediately where SCORPIA, book five, left off. At the end of that book, we saw Alex Rider on the ground, wounded by a sniper's bullet. For those who thought that Anthony Horowitz was planning to kill off our favorite young MI6 agent, please be assured that ARK ANGEL does not in any way imply dead. Alex is alive and relatively well, recuperating in an exclusive private hospital in London. The sniper's bullet missed his heart, instead bouncing off a rib and exiting out his arm. Now, as he's recovering in posh room nine of the hospital, he becomes friends with Paul. The same Paul that turns out to be the son of Nikolai Drevin, one of the richest men in the world.

When Alex saves Paul during a kidnapping attempt, Nikolai invites Alex to finish his recuperation at his estate. Alex soon wonders at the wisdom of being in Drevin's company, however, when he learns that an eco-terrorist group known as Force Three has threatened not only the Drevin family, but the safety of the entire world.

Nikolai Drevin's latest project, Ark Angel, is in full swing. Designed to become the first ultimate luxury hotel in outer space, it contains everything the world's richest people could want. It's also, at least according to Force Three, a threat to the environment of Earth as we know it. Now the members of the terrorist group are out to stop Ark Angel from ever opening, and they'll do anything--and everything--they can to see their mission come to completion. Even if it means hurtling the hotel back through the atmosphere and onto Earth's surface.

ARK ANGEL is another action-adventure read that will keep you turning pages right through to the end. Alex Rider has come a long way since the fourteen-year old boy roped into complying with MI6, but there's part of him that's still determined to leave the spy organization for good. Yet he knows that his skills are needed, and the unending action of ARK ANGEL show in detail why that is. You won't go wrong with any of the books in the Alex Rider series, and I can say that I'm excited about the opening of the movie STORMBREAKER, the first Alex Rider adventure, which is in development now.

Reviewed by: Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius"
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
There is a level of political and economic sophistication in the book that impressed me, particularly in the motivation for Nikolei Drevin's crazy plot of destruction. I enjoyed the sideswipe that Horowitz is clearly taking at Russian oligarchs via the character (and the football game with Chelsea was a nice touch that advanced the plot). I did think that an opportunity was missed with Paul Drevin though - a lonely boy of Alex's age who can't meet his father's expectations and who really seemed to want Alex as a friend - I think he could have been used to draw a little more emotion out of Alex and made him more vulnerable, but equally, given the ending of the book I hope to see Paul Drevin again (although hopefully not as an enemy).

There is one large contrivance that sets up the end of the book, wherein Alex has to go up to the Ark Angel space station. I think that it would be obvious to any teenage boy reader that the situation is a set up and what the set up is, but Horowitz persists in going through the motions in a way that's actually tedious. A far better way of doing it would have been to acknowledge what's waiting for Alex up in space and give him the decision as to whether or not to go. But that's just me.

I do wonder if the series is perhaps running out of steam. As Horowitz acknowledges through the character, Alex is not going to be 14 forever and I do wonder if there's anything left for him to do - particularly given the amount of attention he's received during the series, which means he's no longer a secret spy any more. Horowitz has said that the series will stop when Rider reaches 15 and he'll get a happy ending. I hope there's enough steam left in the series for that.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2005
Yes Alex Rider is back, recovering in a hospital he saves Paul the son of a russian multibillionaire from kidnapping from the ruthless Force 3. An eco warrior terrorist group. Looking to reward him Pauls father makes Alex a guest in his luxurious home. However is there more to the billionaire than meets the eye? Another fast paced plot that leaves you asking for more- this book feels slightly less edgier than the others eg scorpia but nevertheless lives up to Horowitz' excellent standard. I would say that 3/4 of this book was totally tightly written and excting but the ending was abit predictable. I hope the movie gets made soon!!!! ( and hopefully the actor playing alex will be REALLY hot! :) )
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2005
This is the 6th book in the Alex Rider series and they just get better and better! At the end of book 5 we were left wondering if Alex would live or die and i am pleased to say that he survives! This book is full of excellent twists and turns that keep the plot fast paced and gripping. Ark angel goes into such good detail about all of Alex's missions and you beleive them completely and get drawn into the world that Horowitz has created!I think that it deserves more than 5 stars! It is definitely worth buying!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2005
After reading Scorpia, it was hard to believe Alex could survive, but miraculously he did. When the book was published i rushed out and bought it and it was so good i couldnt put it down, no doubt about it, this book has to be read! The suspense and action in the book make you just want to keep on reading and you even experience the rushes of adrenaline as everything happens, this is a great book and i would advise anyone and everyone young and old to read it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2012
Intense, thrilling, colossal, epic - Ark Angel is an action-packed adventure story about a young boy called Alex Rider.

Alex is in hospital after being in a terrible adventure in the previous book (Scorpia). The bad guy, Devrin (a big criminal in parts of the world) plots to send Ark Angel (a flying hotel in space) on to a small city in America.
Can Alex save the population?
Find out in Ark Angel, a truly tremendous book written by Anthony Horowitz.

Other books by the author:
Storm Breaker, Point Blank, Skeleton Key, Eagle Strike, Scorpia, Snakehead, Crocodile Tears, The Falcon's Malteser and there are lots more.

A quote from Emma, who also has read the book - "I've only read a little bit but I already know its one of the best books I have ever read!" It should be aimed at all children above 9 years old who enjoy an electrifying, heroic story!
It's amazing - a fantastic novel to read!

Read it if you dare!

Review written by Amber
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2005
If you have been following Alex Rider's adventures up 'till now you will not be disappointed with Ark Angel. The six book in Horwitz's Alex Rider series. However to fully understand this book you will need to read the other five. This book is fast pace from the word go, with some amazing scenes that will one day stun cinema goers. Alex Rider is recovering in hospital when he befriends the son of a Russian multi-billionare (I know he sounds like Roman Ambramovich, but trust me he's not!) who is being targeted by and eco-worrior terrorist group. After that Alex is thrust back into the world of spys when he is forced by the CIA to spy on Drevin (the Russian Multi-Billionare) who has let Alex stay with him on his own private island, and is not all that he seems. This book then has some of the best action scenes ever written and culminates in a deadly battle in space between Alex and a strangley tatooted Kasper. The only critisim I can find for the whole Alex Rider Sieries is that so much has changed between when Stormbreaker was Written and when Ark Angel was written that some of the gadgets in Stormbreaker seem a bit dated now (The Gameboy colour!). This book is a must read for youg and old. it is funny, fast paced and has some characters very similar to real people (see if you can spot the David Beckham looky-like) and although we feel sorry for Alex, being forced to be a spy, it leaves us asking "Will there be an Alex Rider 7?" Because the author says he will stop when Alex is 15!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2005
Ever since i read the first Alex Rider book I have been gripped by all 6 intense storylines. Book 6 has undoubtedly been the best for me, although all are literary masterpieces. If you havent read any Alex Rider Books, I would reccomend them heartily. There is never a boring moment in an Alex Rider book. I Would say to anyone and i mean anyone that you should buy all 6 books in the series. Read all six and you will be itching for the seventh.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Only eleven days after nearly killed by a sniper's bullet, Alex Rider is back in action - facing "the biggest criminal in the world" and destined to travel further than ever before.

Yes, more high speed adventures and dramatic escapes. Again Alex is shamefully used by MI6 and the CIA, who know a good thing when they see it. (What does it matter about his GCSEs!) As ever, MI6's Smithers is fun. Gadgets this time masquerade as an asthma inhaler, an iPod and mosquito repellent. Not fun at all is multi-billionaire Nikolei Drevlin, who cannot bear to lose - not even a "friendly" go-kart race, and certainly not a league football match. (Faithful readers will know all along that Horowitz has a spectacularly gory demise lined up for him - something to look forward to.)

The novel concerns plans for a luxury hotel in space - the Ark Angel of the title. In his 2010 edition "Afterword" Horowitz admits certain aspects of the story may be hard to believe. He assures us everything described is possible. Like Ian Fleming, the writer who so inspired him, Horowitz does his research - love of detail always a key feature.

Hard to put down - that is not just the book, but Alex himself. Long may he continue to ensure the ruthless are thwarted -thereby guaranteeing his fans more immense enjoyment!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2005
Alex Rider didn't die when he was shot by a Scorpia gunman in the last chapter of the previous book. The book thrusts you right into the world of Alex Rider, for the 6th time. The world of deceptions, anger, revenge and war. The world where a schoolboy is reluctant to become a spy, instead of the other way around. As said at the end of book two, by Alan Blunt, Head of the MI6, "Most schoolboys dream to become spies. With Alex, we have a spy who dreams to be an ordinary schoolboy." Alex did not choose to become a spy; he was blackmailed and forced in the first book (Stormbreaker) to work for the MI6.
Back to Ark Angel: Ark angel was Alex RIders 6th adventure, but first one yet to be because of him, not because of Alan Blunt and his slightly less blunt assistant. This book picks up a little after Alex Rider was shot in Scorpia, the previous adventure, by a Scorpia gunman. Alex rider throws himself in the way of would-be kidnappers of Paul Drevin, the rich son of the Russian millionaire, Nikolei Drevin. Later in the book, Alex finds out the truth about Nikolei Drevin and has to stop him from destoying the world.But how? Buy the book and find out! (Hmmmm........Does this sound familiar? It should because this kind of plot was in bk.3, bk.4, and bk. 5)
Ark Angel is a slightly slower-paced book than the fast-paced Eagle Strike, and the simply rocket-paced Scorpia. There is still Mr. Smithers, thank goodness, as he along with his gadgets, are one of the funniest things in the series. These are weird gadgets (I won't mention any of the gadgets in Ark Angel, as not to spoil the laughs!) like exploding chewing gum, Gameboy games with functions like a smoke grenade, Nuclear wave detector, and so on. The CIA have made another name for themselves, this time in New York (people who have read Skeleton Key should remember Centurion International Advertising).
All in all, Alex Rider is in for another hair-raising adventure in Ark Angel, book 6 of the series (presumably called Alex Rider, but not confirmed). Great book, okay storyline, but the laughs and jokes far make up for the slower-paced storytelling and the ordinary storyline. Alex Rider fans: GET THIS RIGHT NOW, if you have'nt done so already, but for people new to the series, start at Stormbreaker.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.