Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal bedtime story, 28 Feb. 2003
This review is from: Bringing Down the Moon (Hardcover)
This brilliant book is all about aspirations, how your friends can help you , even if you don't fulfil them. I particularly like the various different splits of story and pictures across the double pages. The pictures are ideally suited to the narrative, gentle, reflective, almost dreamy.
I have given copies to several children, aged three to six, and they all love it.
The paperback is the same (large) size, but the colours are not quite so intense as the hardback.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautifully illustrated and a lovely story, 4 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Bringing Down the Moon (Hardcover)
Bringing down the moon is one of the most beautifully illustrated books I have had the pleasure to read to my children. The story is also very heartwarming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engaging Story, 16 July 2009
By 
M. McClean (Donegal, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My son aged 2 1/2years just loves this story about Mole trying to bring down the Moon. He took to it right away, and gets involved in Mole's escapades as we read the story together. We got the book/DVD combi and this is good, because you either read it or watch it together. Kevin Whately (Sgt Lewis from 'Morse') narrates the story on the DVD and you can get ques from him to use yourself. It's a lovely story, very engaging, and we can thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant story book, 21 Feb. 2010
By 
A. Nurse (essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a fanatastic story book for kids of all ages I feel (even the BIG kind). Wether you read it yourself or listen and follow it's simply Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 5 Jan. 2010
By 
a great book, loved equally by my daughter and myself! the CD is a great addition too and brings the book to life. my daughter loves anything to do with the moon and this book is just wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bringing Down the Moon (paperback), 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bringing Down the Moon (Paperback)
Lovely story about a mole who notices the Moon for the very first time and decides he's going to 'Bring Down the Moon' for himself. However Rabbit, Squirrel & Hedgehog know the Moon is too far away but Mole continues to try bring down the moon by climbing trees, poking sticks up at the sky and throwing acorns. This resulting in falling from trees and landing in puddles.
Finally after Mole fails they all stand and admire how beautiful the moon is and Mole then agrees with the others that 'It's not as near as it looks'.
Bought for our 2 year old son who loves books, animals and is fascinated with the moon so a good combination. A lovely story for the child and the adult who's reading it. Large print text for perhaps age 6-8 years who can read out loud. Nice illustrations in gentle 'sleepy like' colours.
I will probably purchase 'the best gift of all', 'no place like home' and 'diamond in the snow' which are other books by Jonathan Emmett & Vanessa Cabban as our son continues to keep bringing us this book to read so it's obviously a hit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brill., 29 Jan. 2007
Any book about animals that say 'Hot Diggerty Drat' when they curse has got to get full marks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars instant hit, 3 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bringing Down the Moon (Paperback)
I have refreshed my 2 year olds book case recently to keep her away from the tv. in the latest delivery this arrived with 2 hairy mclary stories and tales from acorn wood. well, the others didn't get a look in. the drawings are beautiful and my daughter seemed to have an instant affinity with mole gazing at the beautiful moon in the indigo night sky.

from other reviews I initially thought it might be too old, but I was wrong....and I wouldn't say she is advanced. the language is quite plain. some other books rhyme unusual or old fashioned words and she seems to enjoy the more practical and realistic book. her enthusiasm for this was lovely to see, immediately she was shouting mole and moon, and cried when I moved it off the bed for her nap. a wonderful hit and I love it too to boot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting story to read aloud, 9 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Bringing Down the Moon (Paperback)
This is an enchanting tale about a mole who sees a full moon for the first time and is dazzled by its sight. It is so beautiful, he wants it for himself and sets about fulfilling his goal despite his forest friends warning him that 'It's not as close as it seems.'

Children aged 3-5 will love hearing about mole's adventures and Cabban's illustrations provide much to talk about. They will also love joining in with the repeated phrases. Children aged 5-7 will understand the impossibility of mole's quest. Teachers of foundation stages and Key Stage 1 will find much to talk about and engage their pupils with this beautifully illustrated story.
http://alisonsliteracyclassroom.blogspot.co.uk/2015/02/bringing-down-moon-by-jonathan-emmett.html
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gentle beadtime story, 14 July 2010
Lovely word play and sounds, a touching ending, well ilustrated. My two boys, and numerous friends' children, loved this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bringing Down the Moon
Bringing Down the Moon by Vanessa Cabban (Hardcover - 3 Sept. 2001)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews