Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grimm meets Hans Andersen meets Anthony Browne
At first, there doesn't seem to be much to the plot or depth of the story but like most of Anthony Browne's books, you will find something new every time you look at it that you haven't noticed before.

The story is about two siblings with gender stereotypical personalities and their attempt to resolve their differences by their mother's insistence. Their...
Published on 10 May 2011 by Celia B

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars lovely book for teaching adventure stories in year 3
Recently used this book to teach adventure/mystery stories to year 3 class. Children loved the characters (brother and sister) as well as the mysterious aspect of what happened to Jack. Great for drama!
Published on 7 Dec 2008 by Lori


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The Tunnel, 16 Jun 2014
By 
Mrs. Madeleine M. Ward (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tunnel (Paperback)
More than happy with this book.It arrived in time in beautiful condition.I would recommend to anyone.It was exactly as described.Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Faantastic resource, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tunnel (Paperback)
I used it for PSHE lesson on dealing with feelings of sadness and being scared. Great resource. Thank you :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tunnel (Paperback)
This is such a brilliant book to use in my year 6 class. The children loved it and got so much out of it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I wanted a book for my grand daughter that was a little different, 14 April 2014
By 
Mr. D. M. Timothy (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tunnel (Paperback)
very impressed by the book ,the pictures are great to talk about as there is so much in them.
The written content supports the story and allowed us to go off track and revisit the story as there is so much in it without words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The tunnel., 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tunnel (Paperback)
Interesting and unusual children's book with lots to discuss and question. Very nice illustrations too in the book. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazon pay your tax!!!, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tunnel (Paperback)
This book is great for children and adults. The pictures are really lovely with lots of attention to detail. However, unrelated to this it would be even greater great if Amazon would PAY THEIR FAIR SHARE OF TAX in the UK so others won't have to suffer further cuts in services, schools, public transport, housing etc. Please Amazon, behave more responsibly and contribute to a fairer society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Book, 30 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Tunnel (Paperback)
A good little adventure story with lots of elements that can be used in a classroom setting as well as enjoyed at home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A bit too dark for pre-school children, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tunnel (Paperback)
I bought this after visiting the Anthony Browne exhibition at the Leeds City Museum, where the children really enjoyed crawling through a replica tunnel. Because of this I bought the book. It's a story of a sister and a brother and the brother is turned to stone. I read it before showing it to the children and decided that they may find the combination of the story and illustrations a little frightening, so sadly it won't get read again. I think it's more suitable to older children than the 3 and 4 year olds I had in mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent storyboard, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tunnel (Paperback)
Can't wait to use this with my year 3 class.

A timeless classic in the making.

[...] for results in 3/4 weeks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very moving, 10 Nov 2013
By 
Ms. S. Harms (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tunnel (Paperback)
Me and my 4 and 6 years old girls love this book. It's a very moving story with brilliant pictures. Recommended. Especially for slightly older children, maybe 6 upwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Tunnel
The Tunnel by Anthony Browne (Paperback - 6 Jan 1997)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews