Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars41
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 October 2002
A great book with funny illustrations on every page, which give you plenty to talk about. The punch line of the story is the fact that a photograph of your childs class is the very thing which frightened the horrible aliens away, giving a good opportunity for irrereverend hilarity. The story is written in rhyme and flows beautifully, but we really did fall of our chair laughing.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2009
I used this book with Year 1 children, they soon began to join in!! The children talked about the story all day and many activities span from this. The illustrations are fantastic and the children enjoyed making their own Alien paintings and describing them. A must for every child.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2012
Another Fantastic book by Colin Mcnaughton, a cleverly illustrated colourful book in simple rhyming verse suitable for boys or girls of all ages, just the right length not too long or short. Children will love all the fun brightly coloured alien characters. An ideal first read that children will will want to read over and over. Entertaining read for adults too, Little ones will want to join in when they hear "The Aliens are coming!" My children voted this a top read 5 out of 5! And can't wait to get more Colin McNaughton books.We're Off to Look for Aliens
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 1999
This brilliant book is sure to grab the attention of each child/parent/teacher that reads it. It is particularly good for children who need help with onset and rime during early phonics education. You can't help being amazed at the drawings and the alien's funny antics described so well by McNaughton.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2008
Kids up to 8 will love this book and will read it over and over. It's very funny! This book was shortlisted for the Kate Greenaway Medal. McNaughton goes to town inventing weird-looking aliens with ever more disgusting habbits. "They come from planets near and far - Some big, some small, some quite bizarre. Twinkle, Twinkle little star - the aliens are coming!"
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2000
An hysterical story with funny rhymes, fantastic illustrations and a chance to wow your children with your alien voices. Gory but not frightening, this will be an immediate hit but be prepared to read it over and over and over again, and to answer some rather unanswerable questions! A perfect 4th birthday present.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2012
The first time I read this book to my son, I probably got more fun from it than he did. My 15 month old son always chooses this book for me to read to him as he knows I love reading it. The alien languages are just hilarious 'inky pinky ponky' and so on
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2014
Another fantastic story told in rhyme
A hit with children every time
I’ve used it with children aged from five to ten
And they always want to read it again and again

The illustrations are hilarious - great stimuli for talk
Such as how they might eat, fight, run and walk
The descriptions encapsulate their features so well
That children like their own versions to tell

Adults love the humour, that is so true
And children are inspired their own versions to do
This book is a great hit, as far as I’m concerned
And through its use many children have learned

So this is a great book
I recommend you go take a look
The story is cool, even today
Ask any child, listen to what they say!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2012
I purchased this book for my class. They love it and have had great fun thinking about aliens and creating their own aliens.

It has a good pattern and easy to follow rhyme.

Would recommend.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2012
a very good book for young kids, lots of colour and pictures BUT also the rhymes are brilliant. the story line is very good and my niece loves it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.