Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A thoughtful and stimulating book
I and the children in my class (7 year-olds) found this book stimulating and stunningly presented. The children were convinced that the pictures were photographs, and had great fun spotting the "ghosts". The book led to lots of discussion of environments throughout the world, and could be used as a starting point for artwork.
Published on 9 Jan 2002 by frog@jillianjane63.fsnet.co.uk

versus
10 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A pretty book for young children.
This is a pretty picture book with few words. It is basically a collection of pictures of collages based on an Australian rain forest. Although the pictures are pretty and very well constructed there is not really enough striking content in them to hold a child's attention for more than a couple of minutes. The suggestion that the large edition of the book is...
Published on 29 Mar 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A thoughtful and stimulating book, 9 Jan 2002
This review is from: Where the Forest Meets the Sea (Paperback)
I and the children in my class (7 year-olds) found this book stimulating and stunningly presented. The children were convinced that the pictures were photographs, and had great fun spotting the "ghosts". The book led to lots of discussion of environments throughout the world, and could be used as a starting point for artwork.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Book even better, 14 April 2008
By 
lewiscarrollnut (london, - United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Where the Forest Meets the Sea (Paperback)
I got the Big Book of this title, for use in schools. However it is just for 2 little brothers. They love it. They are fascinated and intrigued by all the detail and can look at it for hours. Parents also love it. In fact, it's a real eye catcher of a book with beautiful vibrant colours. I think I agree with another reviewer who says that the big book ought to have teacher's notes though. However, this did not spoil my enjoyment of it.
I do highly recommend all books by this artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great geography resource, 12 Oct 2008
By 
J. Collins - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Where the Forest Meets the Sea (Paperback)
This is a great resource for geography at primary school. The superimposed pictures of hotels over the rainforest are a great discussion point on human effect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great teaching resource, 5 May 2012
This review is from: Where the Forest Meets the Sea (Paperback)
Used as a literacy link to our Yr2 Brazil topic - the link being the rainforest. Used for descriptive writing, comprehension & hot seating. Children loved the story and gained an understanding that there were other rainforests in the world. Equally learning how precarious this amazing environment has now become. Definitely recommend. Looking forward to using another Jeannie Baker book for our Significant Author focus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where the forest meets the sea, 8 Jun 2010
By 
Catherine Howard (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Where the Forest Meets the Sea (Paperback)
Brilliant picture book for young children. All the pictures seem to be made from collage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing - Awe Inspiring - Beautiful - Thought Provoking, 8 Jan 2010
This review is from: Where the Forest Meets the Sea (Paperback)
The immediate simplicity of this books only serves to understate its true beauty and magic.
The story itself is thought provoking and the artistry is truly amazing and beautiful.
Each page encourages a child to ignite its imagination - from crocodiles on the beach, through aboriginal children playing in the rain forest to dinosaurs roaming beneath the canopy - and who is that mystical tribes person?

It ends with imagining the future impact of man.

Evidently this is not a single resource with which to explore the subject. Wider research will be required for that. I cannot, however, imagine a more stimulating entry in to the subject of conservation than this.

It surely deserves every award available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have book, 4 Nov 2006
By 
K. Matthews (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Where the Forest Meets the Sea (Paperback)
All of these books are fantastic. An English teacher friend introduced me to them. Books without words? I orginally thought but once I read one I was ana ddict. I showed them to my 3 young daughters and we spent hours discussign the various details in the pictures. Now whenever a baby is born you can guess what they receive the following Christmas!

Please please try these books - bet you'll be an addict too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super book, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Where the Forest Meets the Sea (Paperback)
Used this with a KS2 class and the message really shone through. The children enjoyed looking at the pictures and writing their own versions. A great book about rainforests
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars just what I wanted for my teaching, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It went with what I was going to teach. The children enjoyed it looking at it and it went well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lovely book from childhood that we wanted to pass on to our nephew & nieces.

As described, hardback, good price, warned that delivery would be slow and it was but I knew it'd take a while to get here.

Very happy with product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Where the Forest Meets the Sea
Where the Forest Meets the Sea by Jeannie Baker (Paperback - 27 July 1989)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews