Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Brilliant guide
Published 1 month ago by Josh

versus
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Least informative guide ever
I have bought the collectors editions of every Final Fantasy since the original release of FFX. With that I buy the Official Guide aswell. I use the guides for chest/item locations only until I have finished the story and then use them religiously to get my game to 100% completion.

With that being said, I am sat here currently using the Original release guide...
Published 5 months ago by Peter Tovey


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Least informative guide ever, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy X-X2 HD Remaster Official Strategy Guide (Offical Strategy Guide) (Paperback)
I have bought the collectors editions of every Final Fantasy since the original release of FFX. With that I buy the Official Guide aswell. I use the guides for chest/item locations only until I have finished the story and then use them religiously to get my game to 100% completion.

With that being said, I am sat here currently using the Original release guide because this guide is poorly written, extremely small print and does not show on the map all the items. You have to sit and read the entire walkthrough to learn the locations of alot of the items, in the original guide, it puts all the things on the map, gives a key to what each icon is and away you go to get said item, that's all I want from a guide, not "walk here, turn left, go straight, pick up xxx, then turn arond go here, pick up xxx" etc. I want to play the game not spend countless hours reading a step by step guide to find my items.

So to summerise. If you want to read about EVERY single step that Tidus/Yuna has to walk to get everything, then this is the guide for you. If you, like me, want to just know the locations of the items on the initial playthrough and then read to find the stuff you missed along the way... Get the original release guides... http://www.amazon.co.uk/Final-Fantasy-Official-Strategy-Guide/dp/190351133X and http://www.amazon.co.uk/Final-Fantasy-X-2-Official-Strategy/dp/1903511534/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1395927871&sr=1-1&keywords=final+fantasy+x-2+guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Never ever buy a BradyGames guide, 19 Mar 2014
By 
A. G. Mckeever "Prince Lex" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Final Fantasy X-X2 HD Remaster Official Strategy Guide (Offical Strategy Guide) (Paperback)
BradyGames guides are consistent for one thing only: missing a load of important information. The golden standard for Final Fantasy is always Piggyback. BradyGames are cashing in on this game's re-release by throwing together their old broken guides, and as usual the incredibly poor quality shows.

Remember that the Piggyback guide is based on the PAL version so all the international content from the original PAL release is included in there to begin with. The Piggyback X-2 will only lack the monster creator and Last Mission stuff - which this guide doesn't even have anyway.

Avoid at all costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible, Missing Information, 18 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. R. J. Calderwood (Oxford UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy X-X2 HD Remaster Official Strategy Guide (Offical Strategy Guide) (Paperback)
Firstly, the paper quality is horrendous - this will tear within hours.

Secondly, half the town maps are missing - meaning that you will miss important key items. Comparing this to the decade old Piggyback version shows how much is missing from the 'updated' version'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shameful, 21 Mar 2014
This review is from: Final Fantasy X-X2 HD Remaster Official Strategy Guide (Offical Strategy Guide) (Paperback)
This guide is utterly shameful. It does not even deserve one star. I haven't played much of the game today, therefore I haven't looked at the whole guide, but I don't need to.

The print quality is cheap, and they have mustered what looks like a teenage GCSE effort. They had a wealth of beautiful art work they could have chosen from, but no, instead they've copied and pasted some blurry unrepresentative pictures (for the aeons in particular). If effort was a strenuous issue they didn't have to look far, they could have just googled some better pictures!

I was looking forward to starting work on getting trophies for FFX, but had a shock when on the contents page there are only trophies for FFX-2. I spent about ten minutes being confused and looked online, because I was certain I had read FFX has trophies. Once I confirmed online that there were, I flicked through the book twice and finally found a lackluster trophy list put together, which had not been listed on the contents page. When you're buying something 'official' it's not a nice feeling to spot blatant lazy errors like that in the first five minutes.

Everything from the maps to the bestiary are represented in what looks like some ancient paint program. I think I would have considered the look really cool when I was about 12 years old and had no computer skills. Speaking of maps, they don't even put the items on them. If I drew the map myself and used some highlighter pens it would look far more exciting than these maps do.

When I play, I'm dazzled by the PS3 2014 HD remaster and then I look down to read this lazy, cheap looking guide that looks like it was made 18 years ago and it just doesn't feel right. This HD remaster has been huge with fans and it deserves a much better guide than this. I'm actually surprised Square Enix allowed this. The old guide was made in 2002 and it looks far nicer. If I'm really honest, if I was being paid to make this guide, and I knew that a vast amount of people were highly anticipating it and it was celebrating an anniversary of a staple game, I'd be quite ashamed. This is a company that makes strategy guides and have far better resources at their disposal.

Don't even get me started on the punctuation errors.

Like others have suggested, I honestly think that if you want quality you should stick with, or try to attain, the piggyback versions because if you use it a lot it does have an impact on your gaming experience. There's little content that is new, which with the internet nowadays can be found online in two minutes. I do understand that collectors will want it regardless (I know because I'm one of them) but it will be a stain on what has so far been a polished effort on Final Fantasy strategy guides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buy the piggyback guides if you can, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy X-X2 HD Remaster Official Strategy Guide (Offical Strategy Guide) (Paperback)
Being a huge fan of FFX, I pre-ordered FFX HD on PS3 & Vita, and pre-ordered this book (even though I have both the FFX and FFX-2 strategy guides from the PS2 games). Today it arrived and I was extremely disappointed.

I flicked through the pages, and came to the last 50 or so which hadn't been bound properly. The pages had been inserted at quite a severe angle, and consequently when the pages were trimmed the corners were chopped off - about a third of each of those pages is missing.
The pages that have been bound "properly" (and I use that term loosely - much like the pages) aren't very good. The paper that they have been printed is of quite poor quality, they feel like those you would find in a magazine you get free with a newspaper (and even that is being generous). They are very thin, and it would take very little to tare them. This is immediately noticeable when you pick this guide up as it is about half the weight of the FFX piggyback book alone.

As for the quality of the content, it doesn't seem to be anything to write home about either. One of the main reasons I buy these books is for the concept art and high quality screenshots. These don't feature in this book.

In the characters section at the start, each of the main characters has half a page dedicated to their backstory, playstyle, overdrive(s) and a picture. Compare that to the piggyback book, where there is a whole page dedicated to the character's backstory, playstyle and picture (the same pictures in this book, but much larger), but then you also have another section dedicated to the characters' overdrives - roughly half a page for each.

The aeons suffer a similar treatment. They only get a third of a page dedicated to them, and instead of featuring the very nice art that was used in the piggyback book, they only feature some poor screenshots that have been cut out. The picture of Shiva is particularly poor. I haven't played the HD version of the game yet (as it hasn't been released yet), but it looks like it's a screenshot from the PS2 game - It's very blurry.

I haven't looked through every section of the book, but at a glance, they all seem to suffer a similar fate.

This guide takes 52 pages to cover the main storyline of FFX, where as the piggyback guide takes 91 pages. The piggyback guide has a far better, clearer layout. And as I mentioned earlier features concept art and (good) screenshots to break up the guide. The screenshots that are featured in this guide are either small or blurry - often both.

The walkthrough itself is probably good enough (I haven't looked in much detail), but if that's all your after, use one of many, many online guides.

Lastly, the size of this book. The width and height is nearly identical to the piggyback guides, with one main difference - the thickness. The FFX guide alone is slightly thicker than this combined guide of FFX and FFX-2.

If you can find a good price for the old piggyback guides, then I would highly recommend picking them up. The quality is in a completely different league. If you can't find a good price, then don't bother with this guide, just use an online guide - You'll get just as much out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stay away, 19 Mar 2014
By 
S. Hoult "hoults" (liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy X-X2 HD Remaster Official Strategy Guide (Offical Strategy Guide) (Paperback)
Was disappointed with this guide as it has poor quality paper and lack of new concept art plus it doesn't have trophy outline
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A waste of money., 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy X-X2 HD Remaster Official Strategy Guide (Offical Strategy Guide) (Paperback)
If you've still got your original walkthrough by piggyback don't bother buying this. Maps are incomplete and the walk through guide is bare minimum and doesn't even include all of the additional extras. A better investment would be to buy the piggy back guides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disapointed, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy X-X2 HD Remaster Official Strategy Guide (Offical Strategy Guide) (Paperback)
The original guide was far better than this one ! if you can keep your original or buy it but don't take this one. It's poorly written, lots of missing are missing or incomplete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disgraceful, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy X-X2 HD Remaster Official Strategy Guide (Offical Strategy Guide) (Paperback)
I rarely write reviews but I felt I had to for this poor guide.

I'm a huge Final Fantasy fan and as well as collecting the games I also collect the guides too. I was hoping for a guide to accompany the re-master to include the additional content and perhaps some new art too that's sometimes included as a bonus in these guides.
Having looked through this guide it is very poor, the quality of the paper is awful, the area maps are small and in some cases simply inaccurate, the bestiary has very little info and tiny pictures and there's no additional artwork.

If like me you still have the Piggyback guides (who make the best guides in my opinion) then save yourself some money and avoid this guide at all costs, unless your a collector like myself and feel the need to own this for completions sake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ten Year Old Version, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy X-X2 HD Remaster Official Strategy Guide (Offical Strategy Guide) (Paperback)
I bought this product hoping it would be as good as the one they made for the original FFX.
I can assure you, it is nothing of the sort.
This one is literally made of the most flimsy of paper and seems like at every turn the page is going to tear.
The only reason I bought it is because im a collector.
Save your money, but if youre in dire need of a walkthrough guide, buy the FFX PS2 version guide.
That guide is easily a 10/10. This guide is there was a 0/10 id give it that.
Newer doesnt always mean better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Final Fantasy X-X2 HD Remaster Official Strategy Guide (Offical Strategy Guide)
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews