Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Straightforward & Quality Companion.
Firstly, I just want to say that yes, you can find all the information contained within this guide online for free. I feel like this argument rears its head every time I buy a guide for a game. But, as ever, if you are like me and still take pleasure from the actual physical things in life, this guide is well worth the relatively small £13 price tag.

This guide...
Published 16 months ago by J. C. Neale

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better! An unbiased review based on my experience using it!
To commence with the undeniable, The Last Of Us is an incredible video game! It is easily from among the best of the generation of consoles and easily one of the top 3 PlayStation 3 games

Yet despite this, It is a pity the guide by Brady Games, for me, I find a bit of a let down. Sure, the finish is very nice and along with it you get a real Firefly Medal...
Published 15 months ago by Mr. F. H. Akhter


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better! An unbiased review based on my experience using it!, 28 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last of Us Limited Edition Strategy Guide (Brady Games) (Hardcover)
To commence with the undeniable, The Last Of Us is an incredible video game! It is easily from among the best of the generation of consoles and easily one of the top 3 PlayStation 3 games

Yet despite this, It is a pity the guide by Brady Games, for me, I find a bit of a let down. Sure, the finish is very nice and along with it you get a real Firefly Medal keychain replica too, but its in the utilisation of the guide where it lets you down, especially when you want to get as many trophies as possible in less playthroughs!

The only time where I can recommend this guide is when you will literally read it word for word paying the utmost attention. Yet reading the guide word by word whilst you play can be a very time consuming process which can affect the enjoyment you get from the game as you will constantly shift your attention between playing and reading.

I bought it, hoping to see every single shiv door and every optional conversation highlighted as well, within the main text. Yet these 2 aspects of the guide do not receive the same attention/treatment as artifacts, manuals, comics and medals which each have a dedicated section/box on the designated page so it stands out and hopefully you will not miss it.

For example, with regards to the optional conversations (needed for silver trophy) list at the end of the guide, I found myself shuffling back and forth in the guide during my playthrough missing a number of them in the process as I progressed through the game. This is quite cumbersome. For me, this has resulted in the need for a third playthrough. I do not play games 24/7 so time is restricted. The shiv doors are mentioned in the main text but they should at least have been written in a dark font to stand out from the text to differentiate it. Unlocking all shiv doors gives you a trophy which is needed if you want to get a Platinum! The shiv doors do not even get listed in order of appearance like all other trophy related items do in the section after the main story section of the guide.

Another gripe I have is the layout. At times you will come across some of these dedicated text boxes for pendants, comics, manuals, artifacts etc within the guide yet you will have probably gone beyond the designated point in the game when you read where to find them. This is frustrating as you will find yourself requiring to either go back, restart the checkpoint or worst of all, missing that item altogether and needing to play through the story again. This happened to me as I missed a couple of Firefly Pendants whilst using the guide.

Also, as this is supposed to be a 'Limited Edition' product, where is the special and exclusive artwork section??!!

Apart from these let downs I have experienced, I would like to give credit to the finish (though fingerprints may show). The images are nice and clear, there are some well-written parts of the guide such as those preceding the main story and the section on Factions.

All in all, it is a good guide but sadly it is let down by the disappointing layout and the lack of dedicated text boxes in the main guide for shiv doors and optional conversations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Straightforward & Quality Companion., 22 Jun 2013
By 
J. C. Neale (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last of Us Limited Edition Strategy Guide (Brady Games) (Hardcover)
Firstly, I just want to say that yes, you can find all the information contained within this guide online for free. I feel like this argument rears its head every time I buy a guide for a game. But, as ever, if you are like me and still take pleasure from the actual physical things in life, this guide is well worth the relatively small £13 price tag.

This guide has a nice quality hardcover, the text on the front is extruded (A nice little touch) and on the back is a small Firefly logo. The cover is the soft-feel matte type, so yes it may bring up your fingerprints more often than not, but it makes it nice to feel in the hand. And the smell! Ah, the smell is wonderful. I'm not alone in being weird like that, am I? Anyway...

The Firefly pendant is good quality. The metal has weight to it, the Firefly logo (One on each side) is nicely embossed and has been weathered well. It's basically an as-good-as-you-can-get replica from the pendants in the game.

The content in the guide is very straightforward. There's little to no introduction, and there's no extra pieces or art or words from the games creators, but none of that is a problem for me. The guide gives you everything in a straightforward and efficient manner, and theres little to no veering off point and talking about references or the like - It simply guides you through the game, giving you all the information about pendants, conversations, collectables, trophies, supplies and where to find them.
There is a section explaining multiplayer at the end, which has some good hints and also has the map overview of the levels, so that may to be useful to some.
There are also maps for the single player playthrough, detailing enemies and collectables, which I have found very useful.

Overall this guide is a great companion to the game. I'll be sure to have this on my lap while playing New Game + mode and finding all the conversations and bits that I missed.

Is it worth the extra £4 above the standard Signature Series guide? Absolutely, in my view. For £4 more you are getting a really nice soft feel hardback guide, with a well made Firefly pendant replica.

Recommended to all players. (Even if you just want the pendant!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It was ok, not great., 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last of Us Limited Edition Strategy Guide (Brady Games) (Hardcover)
All the information you need for trophies, tips and progression is in the guide but it's so split up. The maps are not 100% accurate and are annoying to follow as you go along. It is poorly laid out the best way to use this guide would be to buy the £2 map and use it with your IPad, which I do not own so it didn't help. Needs a better layout.

In conclusion I'm not a fan of this guide, to get the maximum out of it you have to flick between pages a lot and you spend a lot of time rechecking it in case you miss things, for me that makes it a 3-Star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A survival guide?, 14 Jun 2013
By 
Dante the Igniscient "ashend10" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last of Us Limited Edition Strategy Guide (Brady Games) (Hardcover)
Bradygames have published another great strategy guide. This hardback edition is very similar in presentation to their Bioshock Infinite guide in that it comes with a large card companion which gives information on the contents of the book and houses the Firefly Keychain. This is a replica of the in-game Firefly Medal, is just under 4cm in diameter and has an antique-finish.

The hardback cover is very robust and affords the high-quality paper inside the best protection. The book begins with a survival guide covering the basics, improving your odds and combat. The weapons section details all melee weapons and all firearms from the basic revolver to the assault rifle. The walkthrough itself gives the players detailed maps of every location, shows enemy encounters and pick-ups. There is a separate section on collectibles and the locations for all the firefly pendants, artifacts, training manuals, comics and Ellie's jokes. Multiplayer coverage is comprehensive with all tactics, weapons and maps covered. The back of the book has a tag and trophy list. Most of the unique art is of the locations, weapons and enemies. The guide uses in-game photos throughout.

Those gamers after the "I want to talk about it" trophy may like to know the optional conversation with a woman wearing a cap at the dam is not listed in this guide. Also, the guide lists a conversation with Henry in the suburbs where he talks about barbeques. This optional conversation is not in the game.

There are a couple of gripes: the black hardback cover is easily stained and shows up finger prints. There is no art gallery in this book and some guides have developer insights and/or conversations. This guide does not. But even with a few issues I would still recommended this guide to those gamers who want all the information at hand and in book form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ace, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last of Us Limited Edition Strategy Guide (Brady Games) (Hardcover)
this guide has helped me a lot in finding the fireflies tags would recommend getting it and on the games hard mode it does help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great strategy guide with an awesome necklace, 4 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last of Us Limited Edition Strategy Guide (Brady Games) (Hardcover)
This guide is great, detailed and nicely colored. A very stylish book, also very sturdy [hard binding] I've already finished the game on the PS3 but it'll come in handy when I'll get the PS4 version.
The key chain is also great and I am using it as a necklace piece. It's a bit heavy but not too bad.
For the price, I got no complaints with either! Worth getting if you're a TLoU fan, like myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Could Have Been Laid Out Better..., 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last of Us Limited Edition Strategy Guide (Brady Games) (Hardcover)
Quite a good guide. However, I do wish they had written it in a way that it shows you how to activate all optional conversations in the walkthrough, instead of having it's own individual category. A bit picky perhaps, but it makes collecting everything in one playthrough a tad more awkward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Guide Really Helpful, Definetly Recommend it!!!, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last of Us Limited Edition Strategy Guide (Brady Games) (Hardcover)
Got this guide from amazon and I have to say it really helped me out as I was struggling to get all the collectibles in the game, if you got the game and need help then I suggest you get this limited edition guide as it will help greatly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice guide, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last of Us Limited Edition Strategy Guide (Brady Games) (Hardcover)
It's overall a nice guide but I think it could be better.

They don't clearly point out things like the optional conversations (that you may miss for the trophies) and some of the collectibles that require some additional step to get are not well marked in the maps.

Overall, a very nice guide with plenty of pictures, useful maps and information. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good quality book, very detailed., 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last of Us Limited Edition Strategy Guide (Brady Games) (Hardcover)
Guide itself looks very nice. Hard cover has very nice finish, it's made with good quality materials. Information is very clear, a lot of chapters carefully described. However, authors forgot about one thing. "Optional conversation" section lacks one conversation. In Tommy's Dam, at the very beginning you have to talk with a female guard. That's the only thing I noticed. Other than that, it's perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last of Us Limited Edition Strategy Guide (Brady Games)
The Last of Us Limited Edition Strategy Guide (Brady Games) by Brady Games (Hardcover - 14 Jun 2013)
£16.63
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews