Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful guide to have
This guide is very good in my view. It has a detailed walkthrough of each story mission, side mission and random mission in the game, well over one hundred. It has info on all the friends and girlfriends you can have, cars and places they like ect. It also has maps showing items/weapons plus race tracks so you can try them out before driving them for real in the mission,...
Published on 16 Aug. 2012 by L. Bailey

versus
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lacking small details
All this guide seems to have is a main mission walkthrough and a few handy maps at the back. Which is great, but I feel it should contain more.
I would've like to see a complete vehicle list and good locations to find them.
The profiles on the main characters are a bit thin on details.
There are no maps showing the locations of the 'Easter Eggs' (Heart of...
Published on 5 May 2008 by T. Jones


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lacking small details, 5 May 2008
By 
T. Jones (Dartmoor, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV Signature Series Guide (Paperback)
All this guide seems to have is a main mission walkthrough and a few handy maps at the back. Which is great, but I feel it should contain more.
I would've like to see a complete vehicle list and good locations to find them.
The profiles on the main characters are a bit thin on details.
There are no maps showing the locations of the 'Easter Eggs' (Heart of Liberty City etc.) and secret details.
I do like the mini guides to help you find all the stunts and flying rats though.
On the whole a good purchase, but it seems to have been rushed through to come out in time with the game.
I bet Prima could've have done better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be more information, 21 May 2008
By 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV Signature Series Guide (Paperback)
If you want a walkthrough of the main storyline then this is a good book for it. It also gives you details of all the flying rats and unique stunt jumps.

However the book does seem slightly flawed.

1. There is no page at the start with all the cars/bikes/helicopters etc so you know what there is.

2. There is no page to tell you where to find the exotic cars.

3. On the pullout map at the back it gives you locations for 10 exotic cars. When you get there the car is no where to be found. No clues as to how / when they are supposed to be there.

So it does have some useful information but there is a lot they have missed out and just made a half assed attempt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Basic and could be much better, 7 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV Signature Series Guide (Paperback)
If the main reason for getting this guide is to attain that 100% rating and I'm pretty sure it can help you do that. But the guide feels light on content by comparison to those in the series for previous GTA outings like San Andreas and it has the feel that is was rushed out to coincide with the game's launch. For example there is no definitive list of vehicles like in previous guides. Side missions like dating are covered but it's broken up with different aspects of it scattered throughout the main narrative section and other things are just not mentioned in the right place - there's a brief explanation of the wanted levels on page 7 of the pre-amble but you will only find out how you can reduce you wanted level by three stars by dating Kiki in a section on Online Dating on page 101 in the Main Story Walkthrough. So this book could really do with the one thing it hasn't got - an index.

The one thing that is useful are the maps but these are small by comparison to those accompanying previous GTA guides which means that the markers are only approximate locations on the map. Other reviewers have also mentioned an error in the location given for one item.

Now that the game has been out a few years you can now find all the material covered in this book online but unlike this guide most game sites are indexed and searchable so it's much easier to find exactly what you're looking for. And they also list cheat codes should you need them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful guide to have, 16 Aug. 2012
By 
L. Bailey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV Signature Series Guide (Paperback)
This guide is very good in my view. It has a detailed walkthrough of each story mission, side mission and random mission in the game, well over one hundred. It has info on all the friends and girlfriends you can have, cars and places they like ect. It also has maps showing items/weapons plus race tracks so you can try them out before driving them for real in the mission, which I found helpful as I'm a girl and crap at driving LOL Side missions it cover are...Drug delivery for Little Jacob, Exotic Exports for Brucie, High-End Assassinations, Car Thefts for Stevie and Most Wanted take downs. There are small info cards on some pages with mini profiles of people you meet in the game. There is also info about multiplayer but as I dont play that I cant say how useful the maps and info is for that. I think the only things that's missing is info on the shops and places of interest around the city but this is a walkthrough not a city guide. I found it useful and fun to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant San Andreas, 9 Jun. 2009
By 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV Signature Series Guide (Paperback)
Brady's guide points you in the right direction, but frankly one feels that the programmers haven't told the authors everything about the game. For instance in the Verdant Meadows flying tests, there is no mention of having to achieve 70% pass mark, which is a bit bewildering at first, when you find out the hard way! Hence there is a need for the free online guide, e.g. by author Rusk, as a second source.
However, this is such a good game, it all adds to the problem solving and difficulty.
What one needs to remember is that there are very many alternative strategies for this incredible production and clearly only the specialist long running sites can cover them all.
The illustrations and layout are excellent, and this publication is a must; but even at some 270 pages not everything can be covered.
I was once a technical author - could I have done better? Perhaps not, so I give this publication a solid four out of five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Almost everything you need, 15 Feb. 2010
By 
Mr. N. J. Gregory (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV Signature Series Guide (Paperback)
Firstly, this review gives you everything you need to know and would recommend it for someone wanting to achieve 100% completion. However, after using the book to find all 200 pigeons (flying rats) I found that 2 were wrong in the book and you need to search on the internet to find where they are. Also the additional characters who are standing on street corners etc. arent always where the book says they are which is frustrating as you need these for 100% completion.

Still glad I bought it and will always buy these books for future games in the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Essential to get 100% completion, 25 Sept. 2008
By 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV Signature Series Guide (Paperback)
I completed that main story of GTA4 and some of the side games also but was not getting anywhere near 100% completion, then I picked this book up.

The story is only 68%, and this book gives you lots of detail on how to make up the remainder of the game. From pidgeons to when to meet a hidden character and where to pick up weapons for free and armour, stunt jumps etc - it is all in here. These bits of the game are really time consuming to master, and without a guide I don't think I would be able to manage it. There are also a few handy (pull out) maps included.

Whilst the major chunk of this book is a step-by-step walk through of the main story - I bought it to help steer me towards the 100% mark. I think in this respect, it has enabled me to play the game more, and get more value out of it.

All in all, this would qualify it for 4 stars, but I think having to fork out more money for this type of info is asking gamers a bit much. If it had been sold alongside the game for £5, it would probably be 4 star - but as it is, the price (and hence value of the game) takes it down to 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GTA IV STRATERGY GUIDE, 6 May 2008
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV Signature Series Guide (Paperback)
First of all i had to give it 5 stars.
this is what you need if you wish to complete the game 100% and i mean 100%, the book is fully detailed with hiden weapons, and small objecties and gives you a brief idea about the characters.
Also for the xbox 360 it tells you how to complete your 50 acheivments.
Thumbs UP!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the cash, 11 May 2008
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV Signature Series Guide (Paperback)
If I knew this was going to be just a walkthrough of the main game (which, apart from the flying rat and jump guide it pretty much is) then I wouldn't have bothered.

You can find better walkthoughs online.

I bought this expecting it to have pics of the cars so you could identify them and more detailed info on the rest of the city.

There is only one pull out map and that's just the basic city with the same info on that you get with the game itself. It would have been better to have the weapon, armour and health maps as pull outs too.

From the thanks at the back of the guide I think the writers spent too much time being pampered in New York and drinking Maker's Mark than playing through the game and thinking how to structure their guide well.

Simply looking at Brady's Vice City Guide first would have been a start.

Waste of money. Only gets an extra star for the layout and pics inside which are nicely laid out. Shame about the content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For GTA IV this is needed for complete it., 10 May 2013
By 
Mr. L. Jeffery "Ghost Reader" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV Signature Series Guide (Paperback)
Its a GTA game, so there are loads of collectables to get and loads of things to aquire. For thos you need a guide, unless you have more time than most to find everything. This guide is well written and easy to use. Recommended for any of us who like to complete games 100%.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grand Theft Auto IV Signature Series Guide
Grand Theft Auto IV Signature Series Guide by Rick Barba (Paperback - 29 April 2008)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews