Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great addition to the game
This guide covers most thing you'll need to know when playing the game. It covers all of the missions but often tells you useless info that the game tells you anyway.
However, it is very good at telling you where all of the hidden things are for those of you that want to get 100% completion. It also gives you the information on the food you eat, clothes you can wear,...
Published on 1 Nov. 2004 by SPUDDY BOY!!!!

versus
22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For those who feel like cheats even looking at this page...
...the way I see it is this. For the first time there is a strategy guide you could seriously beat someone to death with. This is a seriously meaty work. Full colour pictures, maps, item catalogues. In GTAIII and Vice City we could say that all things come with time, eventually you will see everything even if you don't actually finish the game (because of insane jumps and...
Published on 1 Nov. 2004 by loe_n_zanussi


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide, 12 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Starting this game is somewhat bewildering; my initial reaction was 'just what have I let myself in for'! This is where the strategy guide stepped in to guide and assist me. By the the time I was well into this superlative game, the guide continued to be useful and was always at my elbow. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GTA San Andreas, 22 July 2011
By 
Thiago Silva (Limerick, Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto:San Andreas™ Official Strategy Guide (Signature) (Paperback)
ahh yes this game, i played it so much that i keep dreaming of it... i have played it many many times and was never able to finish it, so now i finally decided to buy the guide, i do hope it arrives in a goood contion, then i may finally find all of the secrets that i could find on my own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for a GTA fan, 16 Mar. 2007
By 
Any fan who plays GTA San Andreas would be lost without this strategy guide!

It contains a huge walkthrough to every mission, featuring hints, tips, strategies and shortcuts/aletrnate strategies. It will not cover them all: no guide can, but it is still pretty comprehensive. Following the guide may seem like cheating, but it is good to have a reference source for when you are stuck (which can happen a lot), and you don't need to follow it word for word: I have found many shortcuts the writers have missed.

The oddjobs section is also amazing. It covers pricelists for shops, strategies for vehicle missions, and advice for 100% completion (near impossible).

Presented in a graphic, detailed, humerous way, this is an essential buy for any fan of the game, and is a worthwhile investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas Official Statagy Guide, 24 Mar. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto:San Andreas™ Official Strategy Guide (Signature) (Paperback)
Arrived on time and in good condition, and if you loved the game but could never achieve 100% completion or if you wanted to know about any hidden extra's then this is the book that keeps on giving
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Only helpful for very few sections, 13 Dec. 2004
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto:San Andreas™ Official Strategy Guide (Signature) (Paperback)
This book does have an extremely detailed walkthrough section on th GTA:SA story missions yet after you play a few missions you realise how reduntant the walkthrough to story mode is, the walkthrough basically repeats the mission briefand gives a description of what happens throughout, there is no way of telling you how to complete a mission in different ways since there is only one way to complete the vast majority and if there is a choice you will be informed.
Also most people will who wish to purchase this will do itsoley for the maps/locations of the different 'special' city challenges e.g.: The graffiti tags in Los Santos, the picture points in San Fierro etc. This book is unnaccurate in all of its placings of anything on a map but especially when reffering to the picture opportunity points in San Fierro, this is where the guide really excells its self in it nonsensical helpfulness, as the points indicated on the map in numbers are completely different to the descriptions provided on the opposite page.
Purchase this if you want to get within a shade of 100%, but you'll probably lose interest with the game before you get there as the guide doesn't provide exact locations of anything.
Infact the only things I manged to use it for was to find a knife and a heat seeking rocket launcher, I rest my case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Grand Theft Auto: Official Strategy Guide, 23 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto:San Andreas™ Official Strategy Guide (Signature) (Paperback)
I found this game of very high quality and it has produced hours of entertainment. It was delivered promptly and priced very reasonably. I would highly recommend this to all my friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars san andreas, 21 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto:San Andreas™ Official Strategy Guide (Signature) (Paperback)
a great guide for this huge game. it cover the main plot very well and also provides help finding everything hidden in this huge gaming world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Full of omissions, errors... in a word, shoddy., 12 May 2005
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto:San Andreas™ Official Strategy Guide (Signature) (Paperback)
The producers of computer games as well-respected and successful as the Grand Theft Auto series should really have better sense than to licence out official companion material to such shoddy, amateurish companies.
This is a really poor product. The walkthrough aspect of the book is more plot synopsis than guide; and the hidden weapons locations are marked in completely the wrong place on their 'handy' maps. I would go even as far to say that the book is 'faulty'. after all, it certainly doesn't do what it is supposed to - and that's make the game easier to play.
One of the chief reasons for purchasing this guide would likely be to find all the hidden items (horseshoes, oysters, gang tags, photo ops) - a feat that would be nigh-on impossible without some form of assistance. BradyGames' official guide manages not only to indicate most of these items as being an inch or so (which could be several hundred meters in-game, given the massive size of the play area), but also to use completely different numbering systems for their maps and keys (photo op #9 on the map is really #35 on the key! Genius)! Their attempt to assist further with screenshots of the locations of each item is made worthless by virtue of the fact that said screenshots appear to be from a different build/version of the game: they display objects and scenery which are not actually present in the finished game.
I would expect inconsistencies, vagueness and even outright errors in guides created by fans on a non-profit basis, not in the premium official product. Imagine my surprise, then, when I eventually found myself resorting to the former to eke out the last hidden secrets of the game. The bottom line is that GTA: San Andreas is not a difficult game by any stretch of the imagination - yet this strategy guide manages to make it one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great addition to San Andreas but not entirely necessary, 27 Nov. 2004
By 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto:San Andreas™ Official Strategy Guide (Signature) (Paperback)
Once again, Brady Games have made a fantastic stragety guide for one of the biggest titles of the year. However, as is often said about guides, it is not entirely necessary for your enjoyment of San Andreas.
The first chapters cover basics, starting with the basic gameplay elements, before moving onto weapons and a complete list of all the available vehicles. It would help if they were given some sort of rating other than sex appeal however.
The main bulk of the guide covers all of the various missions in the game. As useful as this is, it is only really needed on some of the more difficult missions, and all missions give on screen instructions anyway. I have also heard of a few mistakes in this area too.
As well as all the main missions, it also covers all of the side missions too. This is a bit more useful, as these have to be found around the massively vast cities.
Maps are also included throughout the guide, which is very handy if you want to quickly find a certain location. I didn't have a clue where the van used for burglarie missions was until I found this. Everything in San Andreas can be found in these maps, and that includes tags, horseshoes and oysters as well.
Overall I would say that this guide is worth having if you want to know everything about San Andreas, but like I said, it isn't as necessary as you would think for some of the missions. I wouldnt really want to pay full price for it either.
One final point. When you first receive this guide, it seems absoutely huge and heavy. Well, in actual fact there are 200 or so pages - they just decided to use thicker paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic condition of my gta san andreas strategy guide for ..., 27 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto:San Andreas™ Official Strategy Guide (Signature) (Paperback)
Fantastic condition of my gta san andreas strategy guide for the money i paid well done guys you really are AWESOME books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grand Theft Auto:San Andreas™ Official Strategy Guide (Signature)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews