Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb book: combining TOC, Lean and Six Sigma
Like most TOC books, this one revolves heavily around manufacturing. It pays homage to earlier works by Goldratt, even Herbie gets a mention :)

The book essentially explains how an organisation adopts Lean Six Sigma (LSS) and then gets somewhat confused when profits don't increase and costs don't decrease. Luckily, TOC comes to the rescue - focussing the...
Published on 4 Mar. 2010 by G. Fraser

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish!
If you are serious about improvements and theories then this is not the book for you. I appreciate what authors have tried to do by making a 'Love Story' out of a serious subject but it really was long winded and didn't teach me what I thought it would reading the summary page.
Published on 9 Jan. 2013 by Jo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb book: combining TOC, Lean and Six Sigma, 4 Mar. 2010
By 
G. Fraser (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Like most TOC books, this one revolves heavily around manufacturing. It pays homage to earlier works by Goldratt, even Herbie gets a mention :)

The book essentially explains how an organisation adopts Lean Six Sigma (LSS) and then gets somewhat confused when profits don't increase and costs don't decrease. Luckily, TOC comes to the rescue - focussing the implementation of LSS to where it's needed and provides the most benefit, not to mention the usual benefits of TOC such as constraint management and throughput accounting.

This book is an essential read for anyone who's about to embark on LSS or is wondering why their LSS isn't working for them. I'd highly recommend it to LSS fanatics, or anyone who wants to consume the latest TOC book. That being said, from a TOC perspective I didn't gain anything new (no 'Eureka' moments) but it's still a great read and you'll be glad to see it on your bookshelf.

Note to author: Please write a TOC book based on a software company (ie. nothing to do with design/manufacture of physical products!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you enjoyed "The Goal" .... this is for you...and, learn whilst you sit in traffic !, 3 Mar. 2010
By 
This review is from: Velocity: Combining Lean, Six Sigma and the Theory of Constraints to Accelerate Business Improvement - a Business Novel (Audio CD)
Excellent !! - I can listen, and take it in, whilst I'm sat in the car. I can't read as many books at I'd like to, due to time, so this is great answer - This is an audio book with a duration of around 6 hours. The pack comes as 5 CDs, so if you have a 6 disc multi-changer in your car you can put it in and let the story unfold (not so great if you can only insert one CD). In the novel style of The Goal, but this time it is fictional character Amy Cieolara faced with the task of turning 'round a business as was faced by Alex Rogo all those years ago. Much of the contenet involves finding the 'right solution' for the company (Hi-T Composites) but along the way we meet Wayne the Master Black Belt who is convinced Lean Six Sigma is the way to go, and Murphy, a fan of the Theory of Constraints - initially, both think they are right and the other guy is wrong. It isn't a battle where one of LSS or TOC eventually wins, but it takes the appropriate parts from each to come up with the mix which addresses their issues. The problems they encounter along the way include an over customized IT system which drives the group companies with the wrong metrics, overdue orders, loss of customers, managers with no time for the latest fad etc etc - all the usual true life stuff. There are some really thought provoking things raised, such as when the Lean 'balanced line' is clearly not working (takt time not appropriate in this company), deliberately having a constraint in the system actually helped. Also the importance of ensuring the constraint did not move was paramount for the Drum-Buffer-Rope logic to maintain throughput, kind of dashing all those old ideas about playing chase the bottleneck in your factory - where you would increase the capacity at your bottleneck then see where the next one popped up, then attack that one .... not so here, interesting stuff which I highly recommend especially for all those who find they have a lot of dead time whilst travelling. Creating the logic tree for the turnaround project was especially interesting. Incidentally, the book is read by an American lady with a charming voice.
5 stars ? well 4 (or 4.5) for the content, and another 1 star for the format. (hope they make a training film of it some day)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An easy way to understand some key concepts about Lean, Six Sigma and TOC, 6 Jan. 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are familiar with the concepts of Lean, Six Sigma and TOC already then nothing in this will come as a surprise. However, the way that they and their relative strengths are explained is clear, engaging and practical. If you are not already familiar with them then this should work as a good explanation of the various concepts and why they do not always deliver the promised benefits.

I always think that a truly good idea is one that leaves the listener thinking "that's obvious" or "why would you do it any other way" and I finished this with the same feeling. The style is familiar from such books as "The Goal" and "It's Not Luck" but why change a winning formula when the business novel approach works to get these ideas across.

This was the first book that I read on my Kindle and I agree with the previous review that there are problems reading the illustrations. (looses a star for this)

And for the reviewer asking for a TOC book about software, its a bit dated now but I suggest you have a look at "Necessary But Not Sufficient"
Necessary But Not Sufficient: A Theory of Constraints Business Novel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Readable if unspectacular, 13 Sept. 2010
As a book of management theory, this is more readable than most. It has enough narrative pace to make the learning process enjoyable, and it is well written both as fiction and as education. What it lacks is substance. The Goal taught me materially more. Even so, I would say it is worth reading - and worth slipping in your boss's Christmas stocking if s/he is too attached to traditional project techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish!, 9 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Velocity: Combining Lean, Six Sigma and the Theory of Constraints to Accelerate Business Improvement - a Business Novel (Audio CD)
If you are serious about improvements and theories then this is not the book for you. I appreciate what authors have tried to do by making a 'Love Story' out of a serious subject but it really was long winded and didn't teach me what I thought it would reading the summary page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Boring story book, 11 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Velocity: Combining Lean, Six Sigma and the Theory of Constraints to Accelerate Business Improvement - a Business Novel (Audio CD)
The authors have tried to take a very structured and theory based subject and turn it into a story book. . . . . However, I wanted to learn about the theory of them subjects, not some woman's life whilst she learnt them. What a waste of money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a good choice for Kindle, 21 Oct. 2010
By 
Mr. A. Ramsay (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought a Kindle, primarily for business publications. Unfortunately, the diagrams (reality trees etc) are an extremely important part of TOC books and even using the kindle zoom these are unreadable even with good eyesight. Publications sold in kindle format should be 'fit for purpose'. I can't see how this is the case with this book. If someone knows how to upload diagrams to the pc so that they can be printed in full size, I would be grateful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars same content - rehashed in another story, 18 April 2011
By 
Nottebaert "xof" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you have read the previous books of Goldratt, you can skip this one. I can summarize it very easy: even if you use other management systems like lean or six sigma there is still a need for TOC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews