Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witty, practical collection of tips on being more persuasive
Yes! is an entertaining book - to match the title, it's a blast! Noah J. Goldstein, Steve J. Martin and Robert B. Cialdini provide, as the subtitle indicates, 50 distinct examples, explanations or techniques to help you become more persuasive. They present the general principles of persuasion and discuss an abundance of specific, detailed uses. The authors offer numerous...
Published on 17 Sep 2008 by Rolf Dobelli

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
the book was listed as in good condition, but is stained, slightly yellow and tatty.
Published 4 months ago by L M Jay


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witty, practical collection of tips on being more persuasive, 17 Sep 2008
By 
Rolf Dobelli "getAbstract" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yes! (Hardcover)
Yes! is an entertaining book - to match the title, it's a blast! Noah J. Goldstein, Steve J. Martin and Robert B. Cialdini provide, as the subtitle indicates, 50 distinct examples, explanations or techniques to help you become more persuasive. They present the general principles of persuasion and discuss an abundance of specific, detailed uses. The authors offer numerous studies (their own and others'), hypothetical situations, and elucidations of what to do and what not to do. They advocate the idea that you can and should test persuasive strategies. They are convincing, and they write wittily and breezily. getAbstract recommends this useful book to anyone engaged in persuasion, including executives, marketers, trainers and salespeople.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars About the Fifty Ways, 11 Jun 2011
By 
John M. Ford "johnDC" (near DC, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
"Researchers are often on the lookout for ways to apply their scientific knowledge to make existing policies and procedures even more effective." This book uses social science research to suggest fifty ways we can persuade more effectively. It draws on over half a century of the scientific study of persuasion. The authors recommend this research as a more reliable source of effective strategies that our individual experiences or intuitions.

Each of the book's fifty issues is presented in a brief, readable chapter that begins with a question. Here are five of the more interesting questions:

1. What common mistake causes messages to self-destruct? If you mention how many people are doing something bad, you may unintentionally provide "social proof" that this behavior is acceptable.

2. Does fear persuade or does it paralyze? Fear only motivates us to action if we have a clear and effective means of reducing the danger.

3. Start low or start high? Which will make people buy? Lower auction starting prices convince more people to start bidding and this increased participation convinces others to join in. Once someone bids, they keep bidding to avoid losing their investment of time and effort.

4. What can a box of crayons teach us about persuasion? Unusual names ("Kermit Green") that engage us in solving a puzzle make crayon color names easier to remember.

5. When does letting the call go to voicemail cause a hang-up in your influence? People from individualistic cultures value the informational aspect of communication while those from collectivistic cultures value the relationship-building aspect. An "individualist" might offend some of his colleagues by always letting voice mail answer the phone.

Readers interested in a more thorough, research-oriented treatment of persuasion may want to continue with Robert Cialdini's book Influence: Science and Practice. This much thicker book presents its research according to six universal principles of social influence: reciprocation, authority, commitment/consistency, scarcity, liking, and social proof.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable for any presenter or negotiator, 25 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yes! is an easy-to-read, brilliantly-written book about why people behave the way they do. It is made up of 50 very short chapters, each one backed up with research, and is one of the best business books I have ever read. Should you buy it? Yes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 8 Jun 2011
I haven't even completed reading the book yet but I can recommend it without hesitation. The examples/points are short and succinct which makes it perfect to pick up and read whenever you have a spare 5 minutes. Hands down it is the best value for money simple marketing book on the market at present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars funny, easy and very interesting, 8 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Yes!: 50 Scientifically Proven Ways to Be Persuasive (Audio CD)
This is the first book I am reading in this subject and my boyfriend and I find it very interesting.
The book provides many examples from studies or events and then explains the results in 50 small, well-written and funny chapters. Although it relates more to business interactions by giving business examples, the techniques can very easily be translated to any social interactions.

Now, I do understand better some of our subconscious actions and how we get influenced to give higher tips in the restaurants ! Will try to not be influenced and will apply some of the advices to influence other !!!!

Strongly Recommanded !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, 16 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yes!: 50 Scientifically Proven Ways to Be Persuasive (Audio CD)
In my opinion the most of the reviews are overrated. Don't get me wrong I still like it but it is not the greatest book.

When I bought this CD set I thought it would be more about personal influencing, similar to Carnegie's book but it is more about business marketing. Looking back a month after I have listened it I can't list you any ideas that I can use!? Mostly it was just another 'good read'.

Yes, I have a better understanding about good and bad marketing campaigns by the companies, most of which are American anyway, but it does not help seeing that yet again you have been manipulated into something you don't need.

It lacks the action and practicality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good one, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
thanks it was a good one i`ll defiantly shop again with this seller in near future for more books yes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
According to the high expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive, 20 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The best book ever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yes!: 50 Scientifically Proven Ways to Be Persuasive
Yes!: 50 Scientifically Proven Ways to Be Persuasive by Robert B., PhD Cialdini (Audio CD - 17 Feb 2009)
£21.42
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews