Customer Reviews


112 Reviews
5 star:
 (98)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A winning autobiography
Reading Michael J. Fox's memoir, Lucky Me, was a complete joy. He tells his life story in a funny, friendly, and exceptionally modest way, as if he were sitting and chatting with his best friend.
Michael grew up in a Canadian military family that moved around a lot. He got his first acting job as a teenager, then dropped out of school to try his luck in Hollywood...
Published on 11 Oct. 2003 by Kona

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Sorry but I found it boring.
I hate to say it but I found this book extremely boring and wasn't what I was expecting at all,I bought it because of the great reviews it received, as I got half way through I started speed reading and missing sentences out.He doesn't go into much detail about the films he made it is mainly about his Parkinsons disease.
Published 2 months ago by Honest shell


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A winning autobiography, 11 Oct. 2003
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lucky Man (Paperback)
Reading Michael J. Fox's memoir, Lucky Me, was a complete joy. He tells his life story in a funny, friendly, and exceptionally modest way, as if he were sitting and chatting with his best friend.
Michael grew up in a Canadian military family that moved around a lot. He got his first acting job as a teenager, then dropped out of school to try his luck in Hollywood. The tv series Family Ties brought him stardom, and the rest is history. This is not a Hollywood insider's kiss-and-tell book, however. Indeed, there is no name-dropping or gossip about the rich and famous. He focuses, instead, on how the love of his parents, siblings, wife, and four children has kept him grounded, helped him overcome alcoholism, and now gives him strength in his battle with Parkinson's disease.
Fox loved his work, and faces life without acting, because of the increasingly debilitating symptoms of PD. He is hopeful for a cure, takes an active part in educating people about it, and helps raise money for research. This is a quick read, engagingly written, short on self-pity and long on gratitude for his career and his family. I recommend it to his fans and to those who want to learn more about Parkinson's disease.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most interesting, touching and enthralling book I've rd!, 22 April 2005
By 
Mr Matthew S Mansell (Guildford, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lucky Man: A Memoir (Paperback)
I've never written a review of a book in my life, but was telling someone about this book last night and thought to myself I must put some comments up here.
This book is just brilliant. Yes, of course it does talk about his Parkinsons disease, but there is so much more to the book than this. Autobiography's can always be so self absorbed and padded out with detail on publicity that we all know about already, but this book is just educational!
He talks about the problems of families, stardom, being a role model, his relationships good and bad, the horrible disease of Parkinsons (Which I knew little about before I read this) and then where all of that has left him now.
I would thorougly recommended this book to anyone. You will not be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a guy..., 27 April 2003
This review is from: Lucky Man: A Memoir (Paperback)
In Lucky Man, Michael J Fox tells us about his rise to fame and his struggle with Parkinson's. But, the rise to fame isn't a complaint about how hard it was, and the Parkinson's section doesn't constantly whine about how hard it is.
He is honest, and writes extremely well. He goes through it all, from the beginning of his life to where he is right now, and I felt I'd become his friend by the end. He tells his story the way somebody would sit next to you and tell you a story, engaging you rather than just lecturing you.
Anyway I don't want to go into details and in effect ruin all the great stories he has to tell. Just buy the book, it's cheap. Read it and you'll enjoy it and I think you might be all the better for it. You'll just feel happier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best book i wish hadnt been written, 23 Jun. 2002
This review is from: Lucky Man: A Memoir (Hardcover)
michael j. fox has been a constant presence in the lives of any person who's watched movies or t.v. for almost two decades, and this stunningly honest memoir is a must for all of those people, even if it a little sad to read.
my generation has all but grown up with this diminuative canadian from his days on 'family ties' through the 'back to the future' phenomenon and into his virtuoso turn in 'spin city' but it surprised how little of the true story we really know.
in this emotional and immensley personal book fox tells the story of his life as you've never heard it before, from his childhood to the present day, the detail is fascinating and the wit is engaging.
which all adds to the shock of the books framework:the mans ten year battle with parkinson's disease. he speaks of the condition with honesty, humour and sheer writing brilliance. this is a mulit-talented individual exploring a new medium of connecting with his audience.
reading about his coming to terms with his diagnosis is by turns crushing and uplifting, he is so determined to beat this disease and yet so riddled by its effects, its hard to imagine this fate befalling marty mcfly.
ultimately we should be thankful to fox for sharing with us all a remarkable, and lets not forget, on-going story of his life - this is not an obituary but more of a mission statement.
but there is a niggling part of me that wishes he was still too busy making hit movies and classic television to write this until fifty years down the line he takes a break to tell us how lucky he is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You start reading wishing you knew him & end feeling you do., 3 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Lucky Man: A Memoir (Hardcover)
...I thought it would take me a fair while to read, but boy was I wrong! Not only is his writing so very easy to read, his story was so much more detailed and moving than I'd thought it would be. You think you know it all already, but you're not even close. This book is like a jigsaw, with sad pieces and happy pieces, which Michael J Fox magically moulds together to create his life story. The two main things that shocked me most with this book: the sincere honesty of his personal life and the ease and professionalism with which he writes. Is there anything this gifted man cannot do?! After reading this book, I can honestly say there isn't one thing I would have liked to know more about. He lays open his personal and private life for all to peruse - so much so that I actually felt guilty in parts when reading about his problems. You're in tears one second and laughing the next. All profits go towards the Michael J Fox Parkinson's Foundation and this made me feel very proud when I'd read the book - not only have I got a really good book that I will undoubtedly read several times, but I've also indirectly donated to help people like him. This book gives you hope and courage through reading about Michael J Fox's hope and courage...Jennifer Haylor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 31 Oct. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Lucky Man: A Memoir (Audio CD)
This was a highly enjoyable and moving tale of one of the most popular and loved Hollywood stars of the 1980 and 90s.
Michael J Fox charts his fantastic success against the odds and illustrates how he managed to cope with Parkinsons disease during his film career from an emotional and practical (timing the use of drugs) perspective.
Michael deals with his illness with a sense of optimism and honesty that is inspiring and leaves the reader in envy as opposed to feeling pity for his physical suffering.
You wont stop until you have finished this well written and candid look at Hollywood and the life of a true star.
A must read for all Michael J Fox fans or otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you need inspiration, read this..., 31 Oct. 2004
This review is from: Lucky Man: A Memoir (Paperback)
This book was totally inspiring. Being someone who does not normally read autobiographies due to their often self-obsessed portrayal of a person, I was deeply moved by this account of Michael J. Fox's life and his journey with Parkinson's disease. I found Michael's account of his suffering, denial, and eventual acceptance of this debilitating illness moving. The book opens with the moment he first notices the symptoms of the disease. He then jumps back in time to describe a beautiful period of growing up, his relationship with his family, in particular his "Nana" and father, and his rise to fame as an exceptional and lovable comedian. His relationship with wife Tracy is a wonderful tale in itself in which we learn the huge role she plays in supporting Michael from the moment he is diagnosed with Parkinson's disease to the time he sets up The Michael J. Fox Foundation for PD sufferers. Throughout, Michael is sincere, informal, and describes his life with Parkinson's disease in a way that brings a tear to the eye and a smile to the face! This is a truly remarkable story and one that everyone should take the time to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Honest but not detailed enough, 30 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Lucky Man: A Memoir (Hardcover)
I found the style of this book slightly irritating. It is not in chronological order at all and you have to concentrate on dates even within a couple of pages. However, this book doesn't purport to be a tell-all autobiography of MJF but rather the story of his illness, Parkinson's Disease, and how he eventually came to terms with it. With MJF's announcement of his illness, public awareness of Parkinsons has increased, 'ordinary' sufferers have felt empowered, state funding for research has increased, and this book is obviously desigined to underline this, and it succeeds. I would have liked more detail about his life with PD, and how he copes. He is honest about his problems with alcohol, he is less forthcoming about how he conquered them. He speaks of his therapy but again in an almost superficial way. Having said all that, I thoroughly enjoyed the book, but was just left wanting more information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SIMPLY INSPIRING, 9 Jun. 2006
By 
C. Jones "Jonesen" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lucky Man: A Memoir (Paperback)
I was given this book by my brother-in-law who raved over it, so despite not being a biography reader (3 read in total out of several hundred fiction books) I gave it a go. Even if you are not a Michael J Fox film fan (I was indifferent)this is a thouroughly well crafted book with an easy writing style which will leave you in awe of his strength of character. I've recommended this book to everyone, its a lesson in positive thinking, being both entertaining, funny and life-afferming. GREAT BOOK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will keep you reading way past bedtime..., 1 Sept. 2003
This review is from: Lucky Man: A Memoir (Paperback)
I'll try not to write an essay on why you should buy this book, just why i enjoyed it so much as briefly as possible, leaving you more time to reach for your credit card.
Firstly, unlike other memoirs and autobiographies, this is not boring. It doesn't detail every single moment from birth to present day, just the important bits. So, you don't have to be a hardcore fan to read it basically. If you are, even better.
It charts his life defining moments from childhood living in army barracks, to his rise in fame and fortune, with various rocks along the way. Fox does not write for want of sympathy or a plea for donations to the foundation for P.D in his name, but to let you, the reader get in touch with him and throughout the book, you really feel like you know him personally.
Because of the personal nature of the content, Mike wrote it himself and i think that that really helps. He does not 'big himself up' or make himself out to be an idol, yet when you read about his sucess and good times, you want to punch the air and shout 'You the man!'
Overall, this book is just as interesting as whatching his films, and certainly more interesting than today's TV (and that comes from a 16 year old!). It is such a joy to read, and is expertly written. His style is so smooth on paper and despite being a high school drop-out, his work easily matches that of many a great author, what with the metaphors and clever humour. You can really see that this is one comedy actor that doesn't need a comedy script writer to be funny.
Half way through you will flick through the last half and think: "Oh no! only another 150 pages to go." I enjoyed this book so much i was truly dissapointed when i finished it in the early hours of this morning. And so i leave you with this advice, start reading early in the evening because come bed-time, you wont want to stop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lucky Man: A Memoir
Lucky Man: A Memoir by J. Fox Michael (Audio CD - 14 April 2009)
Used & New from: £14.29
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews