Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An authentic feel good book
Simply one of the best feel good experiences you will get from a book. It made me laugh and cry and appreciate life and the effort we should all make to live it in a more honest, fulfilling and meaningful way.
It manages to be sentimental, whimsical and emotional without ever passing into queasy simplicity. Sonny's relationship with both his parents, his friends,...
Published on 28 Oct 2001

versus
3 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oversugared apple-pie
I'd love to agree with all the other reviewers but from the off this book is pedestrian and full of stereotypes and too sugary by far. After 100 pages of it I've had enough of the applepie sentimentality, the wooden "house on the prairie" characters, the motorway-like inevitability of the plot and the interminable wait for these boys to do something interesting with...
Published on 18 July 2003 by Mikidoli


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down, 19 Sep 2002
By 
Scott Petersen (Berkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: October Sky (Paperback)
This was one of the best books I have read for a long time. It really evokes the atmosphere of small town America in the fifties and the story is truly inspirational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great!, 11 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: October Sky (Paperback)
excellent book. Very well written and a plot that has something for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read, 24 July 2014
By 
Debi (Cambridgeshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent, excellent, excellent!!! A must read book really wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Oct 2014
This review is from: Rocket Boys: A Memoir (Audio CD)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oversugared apple-pie, 18 July 2003
This review is from: October Sky (Paperback)
I'd love to agree with all the other reviewers but from the off this book is pedestrian and full of stereotypes and too sugary by far. After 100 pages of it I've had enough of the applepie sentimentality, the wooden "house on the prairie" characters, the motorway-like inevitability of the plot and the interminable wait for these boys to do something interesting with rockets! This is Billy Elliot again but for ballet read toy rockets. And the most irritating thing is why the perfect title "Rocket Boys" was replaced by "October Sky"? Is Rocket Boys the name of something pornographic? Now that would be a page turner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rocket Boys: A Memoir
Rocket Boys: A Memoir by Homer H Hickam (Audio CD - 1 Dec 2006)
£10.04
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews