Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great American voice
Like Steinbeck and Kerouac before him, you can hear America is his words. Those looking for insider gossip, showbiz revelations or a straghtforward narrative need to look elsewhere. The book starts with his arrival in New York City in 1961, beautifully evocative and kind hearted. Lovingly bringing to life those people around him, some more famous names than others, it has...
Published on 17 Oct 2004 by Dylan35

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars chronically boring
I was hoping to find this book bubbling with the spirit and wit of the Dylan songs of my youth. Instead, I found it dull, repetitive, negative in tone, and sprinkled with pointless litanies of musicians. I feel very sorry to have to say this about the memories of a man whose songs I liked so much.
Published 18 days ago by tony haslegrave


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great American voice, 17 Oct 2004
This review is from: Chronicles: Volume One (Hardcover)
Like Steinbeck and Kerouac before him, you can hear America is his words. Those looking for insider gossip, showbiz revelations or a straghtforward narrative need to look elsewhere. The book starts with his arrival in New York City in 1961, beautifully evocative and kind hearted. Lovingly bringing to life those people around him, some more famous names than others, it has a unique sense of time and place. Amazing details show a true poetic licence in full flow. He describes the furniture in a friend's apartment in exhaustive detail; the place comes alive. He then writes that the apartment had "about 5 or 6 rooms". New York city, like the past, is another country. We then jump cut (nicely missing out his most famous period) to the late 60s and early 70s, living in seclusion in Woodstock, trying to raise a family while his generation come calling for their lost leader. His polite but solid rejection of the misguided, unworkable '60s ideals is nothing new - he said as much at the time. Maybe now people will finally get it. He belongs almost to a different time, a stranger world, that "old weird America". His fascination with Robert Johnson speaks volumes. His later work is beginning to capture this weirdness. The chapters concerning the writng and recording of "Oh Mercy" are revealing. They show that when he has the right producers, musicians, and motivations, he can make something great. The book is littered with fascinating asides - pen portraits of working musicians rather than pampered superstars, detours into the civil war, gods, generals and literature. There's a playfulness at work. Sly jokes appear here and there. He reveals that he wrote an album based on the short stories of Chekov, but doesn't tell you which one. Shaggy dog stories of old men on Southern porches, and trudging through swamps to get to Woody Guthrie's house. Everyone he writes about comes alive, positively. It's a great book from a great American voice. I expected nothing less
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A man out of time, 11 Oct 2004
This review is from: Chronicles: Volume One (Hardcover)
"Cronicles" has recieved rather mixed reviews in Denmark. It seems like most reviewers have been disappointed because Dylan does not reveil any secrets, private or lyricwise. So they act like dedicated and thus disappointed fans rather than reviewers. But "Cronicles" is a perfect introduction to the way Dylan looks at the world, pretty much from his coming into NY in 1960. The scoop of the book is his description of the NY folk scene with all it's weird existances, all the people he met there. It corresponds perfectly with Greils book "The invisible republic": For Dylan there are poeple, myths and time. The present does not really interest him unless it cooresponds with the past. In essense nothing has changed since way before BC and this is what interests him and has done all along. Thus he was able to write all these classic, mystical songs. Dyland tries really hard to tell what this implies and how it is possible to transform this view into songs of importance. And besides: His prose is beautiful, you can hear him talk. And like in his songs, he takes all kinds of detours. This book brings Dylan back home where he belongs: to the world of people first and in the service of them - a transcendentalist old bard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dylan : Not Blown Yet!, 9 Oct 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chronicles: Volume One (Hardcover)
This is Dylan in top form. If you like his songs then you'll like this book. Elliptical, poetic, with a seemingly simple surface but touching the same complex depths his best songs do. I'm not sure how someone who didn't 'get' Dylan in the first place would respond to the book, but even so, as a narative it still holds up.
The zig zag chronological order is occasionally puzzling, but builds to create a satisfying whole,. To me, each chapter felt like a track in an Dylan album - each varying in intent and style, but with an overall consistent authorial voice binding them together.
Indeed, some chapters I liked more than others, just like with his albums, and there were occasional really clunky or over-ripe bits that as a long time Dylan fan I immediately forgave.
The early 60's Grenwich Village descriptions, however, which act as a kind of recurring theme throughout the book, particularly those of the people he openly acknowledges influenced him, show the author and his world in a clear light, with a kind of disarming honesty reminiscent of JD Salinger's Holden Caulfield - a reference I imagine Dylan wouldn't be entirely insulted by.
Through it all, Dylan's sense of personal ambition is presented matter-of-factly but doesn't jar. His sense of his own separateness and a profound respect for previous culture and other artists work, seems in character for one who was to develop into such a unique artist themselves.
In fact it's as an 'artist' that the picture of Dylan emerged to me with greatest clarity, with plenty of insights into the nuts and bolts of artistic creation - the gritty business of making stuff. (The fact that he built his own furniture in his first apartment and can remember the brackets and timber to this day seems entirely appropriate for an artist that I have always considered a supreme technician.)
It's along time since I read a book right through in one sitting and I am looking forward to the other (supposedly two) editions.
Yes, he's poet and, thank God, he didn't blow it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bob Kerouac or Jack Dylan?, 4 Nov 2004
This review is from: Chronicles: Volume One (Hardcover)
I know it is boring to give this book 5 stars. However, as a late developer I have only grown to like Mr Dylan's work in recent times. I can't bragg about being there at the time but now that the music industry is at the point of eating itself, one can take comfort in the fact that this legend is still alive and can still produce a gift like this...can I give it 6?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eccentric and human, 3 Mar 2007
This review is from: Chronicles: Volume One (Paperback)
You have to remember that this did not start as an autobiography - it started as a series of notes to some re-releases of his albums. Dylan happened to tap into a seam of memories and kept going. That explains the strange structure of this book. It starts at the beginning: Dylan arrives in New York and enters the coffeshop scene of Greenwich Village and all its artists, poseurs and freaks. It then jumps to 1969 and the semi-retired Dylan visiting the playwright Archibald McLeish. Then we're in the late 80's, Dylan struggles with a lack of inspiration, contemplates quitting, has a bad accident, learns how to sing like a jazz singer and invents a new way to play the guitar based on a technique taught to him by old blues guitarist Lonnie Johnson. All this without touching upon Newport 65, or the Christian conversion of the late 70s. The pen portraits are fascinating, as is his account of visiting Woody Guthrie in an asylum. He creates a vivid sense of place of New York in the early 60s and New Orleans in the 80s - both vanished worlds now. But best of all, he outlines how he came to write those early songs and the books he read that influenced him - this seems genuine and generous to me, like Dylan is handing on the flame to whoever can understand. Just remember it's structured around the creation of his albums - it is not a chronological history. If you love his music you will find this rewarding. If you don't know the music, I think you'll find it confusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dylan's Back Pages, 8 Oct 2004
By 
Mr. P. J. Jones (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chronicles: Volume One (Hardcover)
By my own admission I am not the speediest of readers, but I whistled through this book in no time.
It's as insightful as it is masterfully written. It takes you to smokey coffeshop Greenwich Village in the 60s. This book bursts with colourful description and great storytelling.
Even if you were not the biggest Dylan fan, you would still find this a spellbinding read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars roll on two and three, 28 Nov 2004
By 
S. Gee "stewgee" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chronicles: Volume One (Hardcover)
I guess like everybody else here, I should declare an interest - I really like Bob Dylan and while sometimes I am a little disappointed by his musical outpourings, I don't regret a purchase and basically think pretty much all of it has something going for it. This is probably true for most of these reviewers...
When it came to Chronicles, I was worried - Dylan has the potential of course to tell a fantastic story, but also to make a terrible mess of telling the story. In this case I would have liked to rate the book with four and a half stars, because while it is without doubt the best book on Dylan I've read (and I've read a few), there are points where some editing would not have gone amiss.
I've gone with five stars because the first section, on Dylan's early hears in New York, is simply wonderful, as is the bit on the Woodstock years - I could read another five hundred pages on that lot quite happily. However, the middle section on the recording of Oh Mercy, is a bit on the long side, and I was not quite sure why it was included in such depth. Sure the stuff on Dylan's "new vocal technique", which would allow him to sing for hours with no fatigue, is weirdly fascinating, but also kind of aimless; a shorter section on this would have worked much better. We close up back in New York, with fame and success crowning the horizon, and of course, Bob doesn't let you down...
Dylan's writing style is his own of course, he's conversational and very definitely has his own voice, which you probably know very well indeed by now, and he has a few tricks up his sleeve, his favourite is a kind of cinematic flash-back which is a rather crude device, but executed with a touching naivety, and like most everything else in Chronicles, it fits.
If you have any interest in Dylan at all, you obviously want this book. Let's have two and three nice and quickly please Bob.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the essence of imagary, 11 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: Chronicles: Volume One (Paperback)
if you want to understand the contructs of imagination through the eyes of an objective thinker, read this book. especially helpfull to songwriters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars portrait of an artist, 30 Oct 2006
This review is from: Chronicles: Volume One (Paperback)
Is this the real Bob Dylan? who can say, but what we can say is that this book gives a tantilising insight into a man who was by any any odds the twentieth century's greatest lyricist and arguably it's biggest enigma. After forty years Dylan finally draws the curtain back, the result is a facinating journey through his influences and a times suprising idols. A compelling insight into the gestation of a genius. Dylan reveals far more than we dared hope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful Reminiscence, 4 Oct 2006
This review is from: Chronicles: Volume One (Paperback)
Who'd have thought Dylan would/could ever have written this? Apart from his recent renaissance as a recording artist this is the best present any Dylan fan could wish for. It reads like a more coherent version of 'Tangled Up In Blue' full of twists and turns with Dylan's voice always firmly in your mind. What appealed most was Dylan's humility. I didn't see any of the old Dylan arrogance in there, just a very human character, puzzled by an alien world that sometimes sees him as a god. At one stage he longs for life behind a white fence in surburbia as a normal man. Fantastic on his early years and great on flashbacks to key moments in his career. I hope we get another Volume out of him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xabf12a20)

This product

Bob Dylan Chronicles Vol 01 Au
Bob Dylan Chronicles Vol 01 Au by Bob Dylan (Audio CD - 30 Nov 2004)
21.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews