Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better without the psychologist....., 12 Oct. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the first book i've read that was written by HH the Dalai Lama and I must say its a very good book.

I've been a bit stressed out at work lately for one reason or another and reading this book really put my problems into perspective.

Although the book is written by a prominant figure in Tibetan Buddhism don't let that fool you into thinking the whole book is full of high-brow Buddhist philosophies, because it isn't.

The advice contained in the book is the usual common-sense, witty and profound style often found in the Dalai Lamas books. Unfortunately theres an American psychologist interviewing the Dalai Lama throughout the book and who often makes his own observations which aren't anywhere near as on-the-mark as the Dalai Lama and quite unnessasary but I can forgive the books faults simply because the Dalai Lama really does hit the nail on the head every time. He'll be asked a hypothetical question about why so-and-so is unhappy at work and he'll just give a straightforward answer and you'll think 'Of course! Why didn't I see that before!'

All in all, excellent practical advice. If you have concerns or worries about your career or working life, this book will put your mind at ease
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life changing series., 15 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic book! As was the first in this series, The Art of Happiness - A Handbook For Living. I would recommend this series of books to anyone. The benefits of what they teach are incalculable. Get a whole new outlook on the world and realise what really matters and what doesn't. A must read series!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and Useful but.., 5 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read the original book "The Art of Happiness" many years ago and it was interesting, taught me a lot and has been a great help over some recent years of tragedy.

I bought this book as I am interested in "The Work" aspect of happiness. To be fair the structure of the book can be a bit tedious and you need to be motivated to keep going. However, it is interesting some research that Cutler has used on positive psychology and how to handle work as part of your life.

So, if you are genuinely interested in being happier at work, and you are willing to makes changes to your life, then it is worth reading. You may find buying the original book first.The Art of Happiness: A Handbook for Living

If you are looking for excitement or dynamic writing them you need to look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 2 Aug. 2008
By 
Crazy Foo (England Land) - See all my reviews
not as good as the first book: "The Art Of Happiness", but does cover many topics the first book doesn't. Seems to be scraping the bottom of the barrel a little bit, should probably buy "The Art Of Happiness" first if your interested, if u already got it then this is like a good expansion of the first. Still an awesome book, very common sense, so usefull for everyone, not a book just for buddhists or meditators etc. But useful for buddhists because the dalai lama's so down to earth compared to some of the rather extreme teachings out there which seem unrealistic for a modern life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Happiness, 16 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Working and being happy. The Dalai Lama has a lot of good advice in his books. I would recommend them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 21 Nov. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I can't quite believe I have never reviewed this.

It is such a good book and underpins so much of what we now know about the way work is evolving.

Written as dialogue, it is never dry - and always inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Infomative., 18 Dec. 2009
Truly excellent little book.Informative and simplistic and would recommend everyone to read it especially if you are interested in making your life happier and understanding why inner conflict arises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Art of Happiness at Work, 16 Aug. 2011
By 
David Sheen (Cooma, NSW, AU) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Art of Happiness at Work (Audio CD)
This is a recommended text for all workers. If everyone read this text and followed it's teachings there would be no such thing as workplace stress, harrassment, discrimination or bullying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Artful Happiness-Inducer for workers of all ages!!?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
fast delivery, interesting book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Art of Happiness at Work
The Art of Happiness at Work by Howard C. Cutler (Audio CD - Aug. 2003)
£23.66
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews