Customer Reviews


1,631 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,257)
4 star:
 (223)
3 star:
 (74)
2 star:
 (34)
1 star:
 (43)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


216 of 225 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At Times Heart-Warming, At Times Heart-Wrenching, But Always Riveting!,
When it was suggested that I read The Kite Runner, I put off doing so for a long time because I am primarily a "thriller/suspense/mystery" type-of-guy. That was a mistake that I'm glad I eventually corrected. The Kite Runner is an astonishing, powerful book that had me riveted from the first to the last page. It is a story of fierce cruelty and yet redeeming love, as well...
Published on 5 Jun. 2008 by bobbewig

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A curate's egg
As someone who has visited Afghanistan several times I was pleased to see a popular novel set in the country. Hosseini's writing style in the first half of the book is delightful and he could have created a modern literary classic. But by the second half he has decided to dump Nobel for Hollywood. He uses just about every worn-out cliched emotional writing device there is...
Published on 9 Jan. 2007 by David Hancock


‹ Previous | 1 2164 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

216 of 225 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At Times Heart-Warming, At Times Heart-Wrenching, But Always Riveting!,, 5 Jun. 2008
By 
bobbewig (New Jersey, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Kite Runner (Hardcover)
When it was suggested that I read The Kite Runner, I put off doing so for a long time because I am primarily a "thriller/suspense/mystery" type-of-guy. That was a mistake that I'm glad I eventually corrected. The Kite Runner is an astonishing, powerful book that had me riveted from the first to the last page. It is a story of fierce cruelty and yet redeeming love, as well as of an intimate account of family and friendship. Both transform the life of Amir, the main character, who comes of age during the last peaceful days of the Afghani monarchy; just before Afghanistan's revolution and its invasion by Russian troops. Hosseini is a masterful writer whose prose and narrative style ooze emotion. If you have any hesitancy about reading this book, as I did, put your doubts aside and rush out to get yourself a copy of The Kite Runner. You'll be very glad you did. It is not only a book that will keep you from doing anything else but turning the pages, it is a book that will stay in your head and heart for years to come. It is that good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A curate's egg, 9 Jan. 2007
By 
David Hancock (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kite Runner (Paperback)
As someone who has visited Afghanistan several times I was pleased to see a popular novel set in the country. Hosseini's writing style in the first half of the book is delightful and he could have created a modern literary classic. But by the second half he has decided to dump Nobel for Hollywood. He uses just about every worn-out cliched emotional writing device there is and then peppers it with so many preposterous coincidences I was left open-mouthed at the audacity of it all. It will have them weeping in the aisles down the Odeon, no doubt about it. But it could have been so much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Kite Runner, 18 Jan. 2006
By 
Ian "Ianphot" (Oxford, OXON United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Kite Runner (Paperback)
A wonderful book which pulls all the emotional strings, making you think that it is an autobiography. Maybe a touch too contrived towards the end but that is a tiny critiscism of one of the best books I have read in a long time. I hope they don't try and make a film of it, the characters should stay alive in the brilliant word pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truely magnificent book, 13 Sept. 2006
By 
Linda Oskam "dutch-traveller" (Amsterdam Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kite Runner (Paperback)
Amir and Hassan grow up together in Kabul in the seventies. Amir is the son of a rich and influential man, Hassan the son of his handicapped but very appreciated servant. The boys seem inseparable, but despite everything there is always the difference in standing. And then on the day of the big kite competition in Kabul something happens that turns their friendship upside down. In the beginning of the eighties Amir and his father flee to America, where Amir marries and becomes a writer. But his past with Hassan is haunting him. Then he is called to Pakistan by the dying best friend of his late father and he finally hears the secret that changes the meaning of his past. In the end he has to go back to Kabul (which is now ruled by the Taliban) to come to terms with his past and save Hassan's son.

This is truely a magnificent book that grips you from the first page. It is awful and beautiful and contains every aspect of life: friendship, treason, love and a villain and gives wonderful descriptions of Central Asia and the Afghan culture as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A powerful, emotional experience - with a few flaws, 13 Jan. 2008
By 
Andy Miller (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Kite Runner (Paperback)
This book came with a shower of critical plaudits from both literary reviewers and word-of-mouth accounts. And for me, the majority of this book fully deserves the accolades that adorn its covers - `masterful and painfully honest', `rich in warmth and humour' and `vivid and engaging'.

The book divides into four different sections, the opening one dealing with events in the childhood of Amir in Kabul before the Russian invasion of the late 1970s. I found this to be beautifully written. Familiar emotions surrounding childhood and friendship are wonderfully evoked and made all the more convincing by the veins of jealously, fear and cowardice that become revealed when this friendship is tested. I was introduced to a relatively unfamiliar culture in a beguiling manner, with more familiar social processes such as power, wealth and hierarchical relationships subtly revealed as the tale is told. And the physical locations - the groves of trees, the city streets, and the rooms and courtyard of Amir's home - are delightfully portrayed.

The second section moves to a Californian city, and an Afghan immigrant community. Again, this is a wonderful depiction of an uprooted people struggling to preserve dignity and social protocols particularly in the life of the garage sale flea markets.

The novel worked far less well for me though in the third section. To say too much would give away the overall structure but the fast-paced adventure here seems far-fetched in places, the characters and their experiences less convincing. In the final section, however, a sense of authenticity returns rounding off the novel in a satisfying fashion.

I found the majority of this book extremely moving. It is rare that I put down a novel so frequently, affected so strongly by its themes and the directness of its writing. However, perhaps because of the reservation voiced above, the last few times this happened, I did have a sense of Hosseini more deliberately attempting to manipulate my emotions, more as a writer's exercise than because the novel really necessitated it.

In summary, I found this a striking, beautiful and original book. The distractions that were present for me were not enough to detract from this overall impression.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Quite as Good as I was Lead to Believe, 24 Oct. 2007
By 
Mark Baker - Carstairs Considers (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Kite Runner (Paperback)
Amir is a boy growing up in 1970's Afghanistan. His mother died in childbirth, and he is being raised by his father. His constant companion during his childhood is his father's servant's son. Also motherless, Hassan and Amir are mostly inseparable, although Amir will push Hassan to the background when other friends are around. Hassan, on the other hand, is loyal to a fault, willing to do anything that Amir cooks up.

Then, during the winter of 1975, personal tragedy strikes the boys when Amir witnesses an unspeakable act being done to Hassan. Racked with guilt, Amir pushes Hassan away.

Years later, Amir has managed to forget about his past. Now living in America, he thinks it is all behind him. But when his past comes calling, what will he do?

Having enjoyed author Khaled Hosseini's second book, I decided to backtrack and read this one. It wasn't nearly as good. Part of what made that second book special was the glimpsed of life in a foreign country. Here, half the book takes place in San Francisco, hardly foreign. And the plot was fairly predictable, often leaving me bored while I waited for something unexpected to happen. The characters were well drawn, however. I especially felt for Amir and identified with him a little too much.

A word of warning. This book does involve sexual abuse. It is not graphic, but it is rather disturbing. That's one reason why I put off reading it for so long. So if that bothers you, know what you are getting into before you pick it up.

This is a decent debut novel. But it had some kinks to be worked out. It's good, but not as great as the buzz would lead you to believe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An educating novel, 22 Mar. 2007
By 
This review is from: The Kite Runner (Paperback)
I new nothing about Afganistan and its people before I read this book and clearly it educated me about the sad recent history of this country. The lesson is never jump to conclusions based on the generalisms lazy journalists are so oft to promote. Whilst the book does a reasonable job of emphasising certain of the nations character, the truth (as conveyed by Hosseini) is that Afganistan, like every other country, has the same cross section of people as anywhere else; bullies and cowards, generous to the mean. All of the "good" characters have terrible flaws which clearly drive the central theme of the novel. This book made we want to visit the country, meet more Afgans and understand more clearly the anguish they feel for their beautiful country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Fabulous Read, 23 Sept. 2006
By 
TNoel Dillon (Dublin, Ireland.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Kite Runner (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It brought a real Afghanistan to life for me, a place of heros and villians, ordinary and extraordinary people with great strengths and great weaknesses, in short a truly vibrant and wondrous culture. This contrasts with the evil, sterile and subhuman excesses of the Taliban and the ugliness of decades of war and civil strife, the things we associate with Afghanistan. He has done his nation a great service by bringing something of its reality to the outside world.

I was hooked from page one, and found it a complete page turner. It was a truly remarkable debut novel. The wonderful characters I met, the amazing street scenes I witnessed. The real and harsh issues of culture and caste, all so well-described. The harshness of emigration and the destruction it can wreak on individuals was described with great power. The resourcefulness of human beings and the depravity that can infest the human spirit all gave a great sense of truth to the novel

There were some farcical elements of plot as we approached the end. This was a huge disappointment and it was was quite difficult to understand why the book dipped so badly at this point. Luckily, it did resurrect again.

Taken in its entirety, The Kite Runner was a quite exceptional read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


82 of 92 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Boyhood betrayal, sacrifice and ultimate redemption, 29 Jun. 2007
This review is from: The Kite Runner (Paperback)
'The Kite Runner tells the story of boyhood betrayal, sacrifice and ultimate redemption set mainly in Afghanistan and the US. The main character, Amir grows up in a somewhat affluent area of Kabul with his father (Baba) and their servants Ali and Hassan. Amir and Hassan are boyhood companions who could have been friends but for their ethnic differences and, more importantly, Baba's seeming preference for Hassan. The early parts of the book mainly consider the relationships between these four characters amid the changing face of Afghanistan as revolutionary war tears the country apart.

Following the betrayal, Amir engineers the departure of Ali and Hassan and sometime later he and his father flee to the US in search of a better life. Amir grows up, enters a loving but childless marriage and following the death of his father, becomes a successful author before receiving the call to return to Afghanistan, right his wrongs and learn the truth about...(well that would spoil the story).

This is a beautifully written novel that captures the essence of pre-revolutionary Afghanistan, its descent into chaos and terror, the coming (and going) of the Russians and the rise of the Taliban. In fact this message is so powerful it is not always clear if Amir's story is used as a vehicle to highlight the plight of Afghanistan or the other way round. Does this matter? Maybe not, by the end of the book you feel a stronger affinity for Afghanistan than Amir.

Despite the quality of the writing, the plot itself reveals a number of weaknesses where events seem a little too contrived - a little too neat, and the section set in the US could have benefited from severe editing. Overall though, we liked this book mainly because of the vibrant style and the manner in which Afghanistan over the last quarter century is so convincingly presented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rare brilliance, 14 July 2007
By 
Lauren262 (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Kite Runner (Paperback)
This book was absolutely amazing. I was recommended this book and read it not expecting much as it is not my typical read. It is one of the best books I have ever read and recommended it since to many. I was torn between pity and disgust for Hassan. From the moment I picked this book up I couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2164 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Kite Runner
The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini (Audio CD - 3 Jan. 2006)
£13.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews