Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A departure from the war...
Having read the first two instalments of the series, 1634 comes as a departure from the main storyline. The novel is set in Venice, and develops side characters from the first two novels in a setting of intrigue and action. Anyone expecting a detailled war story will be disappointed, however 1634 explores the efforts of the diplomatic mission in parallel with the...
Published on 14 Nov 2006 by C. M. Valentine

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a disappointment!
I was so looking forward to this instalment having enjoyed 1632 and 1633. They weren't perhaps as accomplished as the works of SM Stirling or even new boy John Birmingham but they were enjoyable enough, especially if you're a sucker for time travel fantasies. 1634 is dreadful! Flint and Dennis try to substitute intrigue for action and adventure. They just don't seem to...
Published on 23 Aug 2005 by Jockohomo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A departure from the war..., 14 Nov 2006
By 
C. M. Valentine (Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1634: The Galileo Affair (Ring of Fire Series) (Mass Market Paperback)
Having read the first two instalments of the series, 1634 comes as a departure from the main storyline. The novel is set in Venice, and develops side characters from the first two novels in a setting of intrigue and action. Anyone expecting a detailled war story will be disappointed, however 1634 explores the efforts of the diplomatic mission in parallel with the efforts of a group of teenagers, assisted and hindered in equal measure by a mad family of Venetian revolutionaries to free Galileo, father of modern astronomy.

I found the book a fun and intelligent read. I have read a number of the series, and enjoy the variety of authors and styles - as with any series with a number of contributors, some are more to my taste than others - this contribution by Messrs Flint and Dennis is definitely a thread of the series I will be following.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 26 Aug 2011
This review is from: 1634: The Galileo Affair (Ring of Fire Series) (Mass Market Paperback)
I have enjoyed all of this series except those co authored with Virginia DeMarce and this is another romping good yarn with some interesting twists and turns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a disappointment!, 23 Aug 2005
By 
Jockohomo (Leytonstone, London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 1634: The Galileo Affair (Ring of Fire Series) (Mass Market Paperback)
I was so looking forward to this instalment having enjoyed 1632 and 1633. They weren't perhaps as accomplished as the works of SM Stirling or even new boy John Birmingham but they were enjoyable enough, especially if you're a sucker for time travel fantasies. 1634 is dreadful! Flint and Dennis try to substitute intrigue for action and adventure. They just don't seem to have the skill to do so and the 'simple wimple' writing, dull 2D characters and endless repetition conspire to make this almost laughably bad. Seriously, reading it is torturous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beaten, 15 Jan 2006
This review is from: 1634: The Galileo Affair (Ring of Fire Series) (Mass Market Paperback)
Its not often I get beaten by a book but I found this such as task to read I couldn't finish it. The previous two were action packed but when, in this novel, they started discussing a document to update the Pope on uptime 20th Catholic doctrine, I had to throw in the towel. Maybe it got better, but I for one will never find out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointed, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1634: The Galileo Affair (Ring of Fire Series) (Mass Market Paperback)
I was dissapointed with the lack of continuation with the previous characters and plots,, the storytelling seems to have shifted quite a bit .,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Pot boiler, 5 Jan 2013
This review is from: 1634: The Galileo Affair (Ring of Fire Series) (Mass Market Paperback)
I have read the earlier books in the series. 1632 was a fantastic book. But this was just a third rate historical novel. I just got lost in the plot, trying to work out who was doing what. It has several story strands in it.Was no fun at all to read I wont be buying any more of this series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

1634: The Galileo Affair (Ring of Fire Series)
1634: The Galileo Affair (Ring of Fire Series) by Andrew Dennis (Mass Market Paperback - 1 Aug 2005)
6.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews