Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply brilliant in-depth analysis of the Eisner era!
This is without doubt one of the best business books I have read in years. It is a gripping account of how Eisner solely controlled The Walt Disney Company without any regard for shareholders nor the competent executives serving under him. This is a must-read for anybody who is employed in any sense of the word. Eisner was a serial killer of corporate careers and this...
Published on 19 May 2006 by M. A. Verdickt

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The good, the bad, and the ugly - and it's all Eisner
This is the story of a self-annointed entertainment industry mogul, in which Michael Eisner establishes himself as the absolute ruler of Disney (yes, like Louis XIV, to whom Stewart compares him). In the beginning, there was a balanced team of Eisner, the visionary; Frank Wells, the diplomat who smoothed Eisner's rough edges (you could go to him for "redress" and...
Published on 13 May 2011 by rob crawford


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars apologies but ...., 3 Mar. 2012
By 
Chris Miller (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Disneywar: The Battle for the Magic Kingdom (Paperback)
... I must didn't quite get this book. I thought the subject would be so gripping, and it is probably my fault, but I just couldn't get into it. I found the structure darted around too much and I never quite understood how the major players developed or got to their positions of power. Whenever i put the book down I had to struggle to pick it back up and start reading again as I didn't feel any great excitement about what might happen next. everyone else seemed to enjoy the book hugely so I must have just missed something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The next installment................., 4 July 2005
This review is from: Disneywar (Hardcover)
Disneywar provides the latest installment on the power stuggle currently controlling Disney! As the CEO Eisner looks to retire, this book documents the stories behind the top personnel who have attempted to provide a likely line of succession and failed. A fascinating insight into how Eisner controls all aspects of Disney and the acrimony following the loss of the last original Disney family member from the Board. Especially interesting to anyone who has followed Eisner's career and read his version of events!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it.., 10 Nov. 2011
By 
A. G. Williams "Gavin" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Disney War (Hardcover)
I won't repeat the other reviweres.. but all the more fascinating becuase the huge level of subpoena-ed documentation means that we get to see what really happened inside the meetings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a real page turner......................., 26 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a facinating and in-depth look into big busness. and they dont come any bigger. a spotlight into what it takes to be the best and how easy it is to fall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ALL DISNEY FANS MUST READ! Aexcellent read, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent! Amazing book I finally got around to reading. Learnt so much about The Magic Kingdom. Absolutely worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 4 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disneywar: The Battle for the Magic Kingdom (Paperback)
Awesome book couldn't put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disneywar: The Battle for the Magic Kingdom (Paperback)
Great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars poor summary of condition, 2 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disneywar: The Battle for the Magic Kingdom (Paperback)
Item dispatched promptly however condition stated as good condition and no damage to spine. When book came the spine was badly damaged in the bottom quarter and pages on inside were loose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Disneywar: The Battle for the Magic Kingdom
Disneywar: The Battle for the Magic Kingdom by James B. Stewart (Paperback - 6 Mar. 2006)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews