Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'Tis a good read
It is always a pleasure when a book turns out to be better than you expected and this autobiography from the lovely Maureen O' Hara is a case in point.She tells the story of her life in an interesting and revealing way and I found this to be one of the most honest autobiographies I have read.She doesn't pull any punches and deals with her triumphs,tragedies and turmoils...
Published on 8 Nov 2008 by Mr. A. Whiteside

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars '' Tis, Mary Kate.
This is a very good interesting book, though i feel its more about Mary Kate Danagher than Maureen O Hara. There is nothing wrong with being a proud Irish woman but she does tend to bang on about it rather a lot. She tells how she got her big break with Charles Laughton, with whom she made in my opinion two of her finest films " Jamaica Inn " and " The Hunchback Of Notre...
Published on 25 May 2010 by A. Tomlinson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'Tis a good read, 8 Nov 2008
By 
Mr. A. Whiteside "tonyjackie3" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 'Tis Herself (Hardcover)
It is always a pleasure when a book turns out to be better than you expected and this autobiography from the lovely Maureen O' Hara is a case in point.She tells the story of her life in an interesting and revealing way and I found this to be one of the most honest autobiographies I have read.She doesn't pull any punches and deals with her triumphs,tragedies and turmoils in equal measure.It is a fine book,well written and holds your interest to the very end.
It is the stories of Hollywood legends such as John Wayne and director John Ford that are perhaps the most illuminating and you are shocked to discover just what a swine John Ford could be,she even describes a time when he hit her across the face.
What stops me from giving it five stars is that she can overdo the tough Irish broad bit and there are a few moments in this book when she is anything but tough and you wonder why she put up with certain events if she was indeed as hard boiled as she makes out.In fairness though,Ms O' Hara did have a hell of a lot to put up with at times and she shows herself to be a survivor,especially after the loss of her husband in tragic circumstances.This is a very good read and a credit to a fine lady.Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars '' Tis, Mary Kate., 25 May 2010
By 
A. Tomlinson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tis Herself: An Autobiography (Paperback)
This is a very good interesting book, though i feel its more about Mary Kate Danagher than Maureen O Hara. There is nothing wrong with being a proud Irish woman but she does tend to bang on about it rather a lot. She tells how she got her big break with Charles Laughton, with whom she made in my opinion two of her finest films " Jamaica Inn " and " The Hunchback Of Notre Dame ". She also spends much time on her relationship with John Ford, a great film maker and director no doubt, but if Miss O Hara is to be believed, also a very nasty spiteful little man. She also tells of her ( and in my view ) best movie the classic, " The Quite Man " a masterpiece of cinema, its very interesting stuff,and very absorbing. Her relationship with John Wayne according to her was purely platonic, i find that difficult to believe as the two seemed most compatable to me, however we must accept her word. ' Tis Herself is a good read. The only problem i have with it is we are of course only hearing one side of these various episodes of her interesting and priveliged life, and i am not so sure all of her versions of events are totally true. But as i have said its well worth a read.Tis Herself: An Autobiography
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a read!, 16 April 2008
This review is from: Tis Herself: An Autobiography (Paperback)
I loved this book. Maureen O'Hara has always been a favourite of mine, especially staring alongside John Wayne in The Quiet Man! She lived a very full and sometimes turbulent life. A lovely but sometimes tragic story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "I believed I would set the world on fire.", 9 Nov 2007
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 'Tis Herself (Hardcover)
I always enjoyed Maureen O'Hara in movies such as "McLintock!" and "The Parent Trap." Not only was she stunningly beautiful, she had a very likeable, intelligent, and spirited image. Her autobiography gives detailed accounts of her family, movies, and the ups and downs of her love life, and is definitely a fun ride.

Born to a prominent Irish family, Maureen knew from the age of five that she would be someday be a great actress. Charles Laughton discovered her on the stage and brought her to Hollywood to co-star in "The Hunchback of Notre Dame" when she was still in her teens, and she continued to make films for sixty years. She speaks reverently of the film, "The Quiet Man" and of her friendship with John Wayne, but severely criticizes many others such as John Ford, Walt Disney, James Stewart, and Errol Flynn. If you're looking for juicy gossip, it's all here, as well as heartbreaking personal revelations. O'Hara does come off a bit egostistical at times, but her loyal will enjoy this book, which contains many personal and professional photos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tis Herself-certainly is!, 22 May 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tis Herself: An Autobiography (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book-the truth at last. A truly spunky lady!What she had to put up with from John Ford wouldn't be allowed today, however good he was as a producer/director.I thought her last moments with John Wayne was very touching.I only wished that she had found out about what really happened when her husband,Charlie(the love of her life),died.I love the mystery surrounding what she said to the Duke at the end of 'The Quiet Man'makes a nice change for Hollywood!

For future readers the only thing missing is a list of movie/theater/television credits at the end(maybe an addition for the next edition).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank You Herself, 3 April 2011
By 
J. Duffy (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tis Herself: An Autobiography (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this. I like reading auto/biographies generally and love old movies so this book was right up my street. It struck the right balance between Maureen's own personal life with the goings on in Hollywood and how it affected her. It was quite an eyeopener about what goes on behind the scenes in the movie industry - the egos, the vendettas, the affairs, etc. Her long battle of wits, minds and personalities with legendary director John Ford were particularly interesting. Some of things Ford said and did to Maureen were outrageous! She also gives you the inside story on her failed marriages before she finally found real happiness only for it to be snatched away in an accident which Maureen says she still doesn't know the full truth about to this day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tis Herself: An Autobiography (Paperback)
Really enjoyed it as she has always been a favourite of mine and found it very interesting well written also
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'Tis Herself (Hardcover)
This book arrived on time and was a really good read. I have always liked Maureen O'Hara and she comes across as being a thoroughly nice lady, not affect by her stardom at all, which is what I like. A really lovely lady in every sense of the word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars tis herself, 4 Nov 2011
By 
H. B. OWEN - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'Tis Herself (Hardcover)
an interesting life lived to the full some parts were rather strange but on the whole a really good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'TIS HERSELF, 2 Sep 2011
This review is from: Tis Herself: An Autobiography (Paperback)
AN EXCELLENT INSIGHT INTO THE LIFE OF MAUREEN O'HARA
AND A VERY ENJOYABLE READ, BRINGING BACK MEMORIES OF
SOME OF THE OLD FILMS SHE STARRED IN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tis Herself: An Autobiography
Tis Herself: An Autobiography by Maureen O'Hara (Paperback - 3 May 2005)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews