Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book!!, 3 Aug 2006
This review is from: Cheating Death, Stealing Life (WWE) (Hardcover)
If there is one Wrestling book that every fan must own this is it!

I recently decided I wanted some of the best Wrestling books on the market, So I purchased Eddie Guerrero (Cheating Death Stealing Life from Amazon.co.uk), Mick Foley (Have a Nice Day also from Amazon.co.uk) and Ric Flair (To be the man from ROHWrestling.com). I realised that by purchasing and reading this book it would be a bitter sweet experience (As Eddie's death Hit me like a brick to the head, after a tremendous day of Wrestling on the Saturday before), but after following Eddie's career for the last 9 years (From WCW - WWE) I thought I owe it to myself to buy this book.

The one thing that is missing in a lot of Wrestling books, is honesty. Well do not worry as in this book that is not a factor at all. This is a truly honest (brutally at times) account of Eddie Guerrero's life. There are items that are addressed that Wrestling fans might be aware of the Fight with Michael Hegstrand (aka Road Warrior Hawk) in Japan, you get to hear Eddie's extremely honest account of the incident. Up and including the backstage incident in WWE with Charlie Hass, Eddie gives another honest account of this too.

There are things which we as Wrestling fans are were not aware of, why after a successful tour of Japan Eddie could not get booked in Mexico, the incredibly brutal recall of WCW backstage politics, the almost fatal car crash in December 1998, Eddie's trials and tribulations with drug and alcohol addiction to redemption in Winning WWE Title at WWE No Way Out `04. Those are just a few things covered in this book, but anything and everything is covered in great detail with an honesty that can't be matched in any other book.

The most honest (sometimes brutal) account of a person's life I have ever read, any question about Eddie you ever wanted answered is so in this book. This book makes you believe that you knew the `Real' Eddie Guerrero, even though I will never unfortunately get to meet the man. This book also makes you understand why the following days after Eddie's death why there were over 150,000 e-mails and messages of Condolences sent to his family. If you are an Eddie fan or a Wrestling fan you owe it to yourself to purchase this book, personally this is the best 12 I have ever spent.

Eddie Guerrero `Cheating Death Stealing Life' gets a 10/10 it is that Good! Buy this book now, you will not regret it!! THANK YOU EDDIE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LATINO HEAT! (1967-2005), 7 Sep 2006
This review is from: Cheating Death, Stealing Life (WWE) (Hardcover)
I bought this book as a life long Eddie Guerrero Fan, I was not disapointed. It tells the story of the great Eddie Guerrero, how he decided to follow the family buisness, how he got into the ring. It also tells how Eddie coped with his marriage to Vickie a week after his dad died, how his marrige had its ups and many downs.

There are great storys from the road, Eddie in Mexico and Japan and evetualy moving to the US to ECW, how WCW really messed things up. This book will make you cry when Eddie writes how lucky he feels to be still alive, in my opinion, this book is the best wrestling autobiography ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book I couldn't put down, 4 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Cheating Death, Stealing Life (WWE) (Hardcover)
This book is really only for those who love WWE and, more importantly, Latino Heat himself. I read this book in one night as I just couldn't put it down.
There are so many poignant points in the book - none other when he talks of Dean Malenko saying that he didn't want to find Eddie dead in some hotel room. The book is uplifting from the point of view that Eddie had found peace in this life with Christ and his family.
A fantastic read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 11 April 2006
By 
Mo.K. (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cheating Death, Stealing Life (WWE) (Hardcover)
This book is just amazing for all the wwe and Eddie Guerrero fans out there, Eddie tells out how he begun wrestling in hes childhood and then how he progressed to Japan, ECW, WCW and then finally WWE.
It's a very funny and also an emotional story, how he went from losing everything he had to rebuilding his life again.
Rest in peace Eddie Guerrero, you will be missed, Viva La Raza!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheating Death, Stealing Life, The Eddie Guerrero Story, 10 Jan 2006
This review is from: Cheating Death, Stealing Life (WWE) (Hardcover)
This was a fantastic read, from the moment I picked up the book I couldn't put it down. The story of Eddie's life through all his pain and on to his highs. This book takes hold of you from the first word to the very last. Any Fan of the WWE and of Eddie's will enjoy this book, I urge you to read it. ( R.I.P. Eddie Guerrero 1967 - 2005 ).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheating Death, Stealing Life: A Fantastic Read, 2 Jan 2006
This review is from: Cheating Death, Stealing Life (WWE) (Hardcover)
As far as wrestling books go, this is one of the best written out of all released. 300+ pages of Eddie Guerrero speaking from the heart. Includes candid thoughts on some of the business' stars such as Kevin Nash, Chris Benoit etc... Truly inspiring for people who may have had the same problems he had, a fantastic book, well worth reading for any wrestling fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 12 Feb 2006
This review is from: Cheating Death, Stealing Life (WWE) (Hardcover)
a briiliant read. this book has humour and lets us behind the scenes of meican wrestling,japenese wrestling,ECW,WCW and the WWE. a perfect book an Eddie G fan or a WWE fan.
R.I.P Eddie G
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Book, 9 Feb 2006
By 
Mr. A. R. Pert "The Pert" (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cheating Death, Stealing Life (WWE) (Hardcover)
I have read a lot of wrestling autobiographies and this is definately one of, if not the best. It is a great read and takes you through every step of Eddie's life and career. However some parts of the book are hard to read following the tragic event in October. This is a must for any wrestling fan. It shows that with heart and dedication you can accomplish your dreams and to always live life to the full. Viva la raza (R.I.P Eddie Guerrero, you will always be missed)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars eddie guerrero book, 22 Jan 2013
This review is from: Cheating Death, Stealing Life (WWE) (Hardcover)
it is a good book to read as i am currently reading it and it is for WWE fans to enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best wwe autobiography going that i have read hey, 25 Mar 2008
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Cheating Death, Stealing Life (WWE) (Hardcover)
Eddie guerrero may well have passed on two years ago but his legacy is still around,his influence is still evident today and his reputation enhanced daily within the WWE and further afield than that.
He was a hard worker that co-existed with demons that drove him to places where he didnt want to be,at the publishing of this book eddie was alive obviously and had beaten his demons,at least thats what we are to believe but a few months later he died of heart failure brought on by years of drug use and alcohol addiction.
Certain wrestlers dont really have a story to tell but tell it anyway,eddie had a hell of a story and holds back nothing,he is brutally honest and lets us into his world of darkness,from carrying the expectations of coming from a wrestling family,to his suicide mindset,to hell and back again and with the help of the bible he started to find somewhere to escape too,the book isnt that preachy but eddie doesnt disguise the fact that the lord saved him.
The book is sad in that eddie speaks of how happy he is to be alive and how sad he is that many of his wrestling friends have died and this is sad as eddie was dead as i read this so his words are all the more poignant,this is riveting stuff,insightful,bleak,uplifting,rewarding and the best of a good bunch of wwe stories by some distance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cheating Death, Stealing Life (WWE)
Cheating Death, Stealing Life (WWE) by Michael Krugman (Hardcover - 3 Jan 2006)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews