Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You've seen his great matches... now read his real story!
There have been a glut of wrestling autobiographies in the past 5 or 6 years, starting with Mick Foley and encompassing legends like Hulk Hogan and Jerry Lawler (as well as more dubious choices, such as the Hardyz, Chyna and Lita) but the one amazing story that all fans have been waiting for is that of Ric Flair and the good news is that it certainly doesn't...
Published on 4 Jan 2005 by S. Porter

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent read
This book is alright.

It's a detailed read about Flair's history which is really entertaining. However, I couldn't get past him slandering almost every guy on the WCW/WWE alumni. As much I think flair was a talented guy, he just comes off as a belligerent, bitter old drunk guy. One part I did find amusing was that he claims he developed severe anxiety issues...
Published 9 months ago by Mirror Kisser


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars To Be The Man, 5 May 2014
By 
W. Baker (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To be the Man (WWE) (Hardcover)
Unless you are already into American Wrestling or have a fair idea of who Rick Flair is, this book will be fairly meaningless, even though it provides an interesting insight into the life of a young man starting out in a tough business and rising to the very top of his chosen profession. However, along the way Rick Flair has experienced many ups and downs, with marital upheavals, financial matters and worst of all a plane crash, all of which he has survived but have moulded a very interesting life. Rick Flair is one of wrestling's "characters" and this is what makes this book interesting. If you know who he is and enjoy watching him on TV, buy the book. I you don't know who he is and are not interested in American wrestling, think twice about buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ric Flair, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To be the Man (WWE) (Hardcover)
Honest and detailed. Great read. Read it and watch the clips on youtube. He has lived a wild life and reels it all off with real candor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Insight, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To be the Man (WWE) (Mass Market Paperback)
I'm a massive Ric Flair fan, so for me, this was always going to be an interesting read, as i mostly saw him in WWF/WWE it was enthralling for me to read about his past all the other wrestling organisations and especially about the hardship he suffered at WCW.

I'm a big fan of his 'call it as it is' approach and he generally does not hold back in expressing his admiration or disdain for his fellow wrestlers which is something that a lot of stars gloss over in their book so as not to cause controversy.

I highly recommend this book to anyone with an interest in wrestling and especially anyone who is a fan of the Nature Boy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wooooooooooo!, 26 Sep 2012
By 
D. Robinson (Cambs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: To be the Man (WWE) (Mass Market Paperback)
This book seems fairly detailed for the period covered, and Flair's recall seems good - although I suspect that all wrestlers watch past videos to remember who did what in key matches). One anomaly (kind of)is that the book ends with a big 'happy' finale, yet the last time I saw Flair, he was still appearing as a red-faced, pop-eyed villain (on the 'management' side) after the action of the book had ended. I've never found Flair particularly likeable and - usually - I tend to side with the author in 'sports' books (even with the Dynamite Kid); but I found I stayed fairly neutral throughout this. In reading wrestlers' biogs, it's a bit like looking into the same house (or two - WWE and WCW) through different windows, getting varying angles, etc., so it's worthwhile from this point of view. I'd say five stars for the (ghost) writing and four stars for interest/enjoyment, so 4-and-a-half on average; although, as with most wrestling books, I kept reading swiftly through it at every opportunity - Dave
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars top rope read!, 16 Aug 2012
By 
N. Mitchell (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: To be the Man (WWE) (Mass Market Paperback)
I'm not the biggest ric flair fan as a wrestler but as a wrestling personality he is always entertaining! A fantastic read talking about his personal life with wife and kids and honest up front opinions on his fellow wrestlers. I couldnt put the book down! funny and riverting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Read, 20 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. J. Mcintyre "History Buff" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: To be the Man (WWE) (Mass Market Paperback)
Despite it being short,(I like big books)"To be the man" is an entertaining and interesting read.Covering his early NWA days right up to the date this book was written. He goes into detail about his dealings with Hulk Hogan The Crocketts, Eric Bischoff and others.You also get bits of commentary from other wrestlers involved with Ric at the time. I would give it five stars if it wasn't for the authors slightly ridiculous claims about certain wrestlers (eg. That Bret Hart "didn't draw money outside Canada")

So if your an old or even new school wrestling fan you can do a lot worse (Hulk Hogans book)than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for wrestling fans, 12 Jun 2011
This review is from: To be the Man (WWE) (Mass Market Paperback)
At this stage i'm only 170 pages in but I'm hooked, its a good read and you really get a deeper understanding of the man who made wrestling what it is today. I respect and admire Ric Flair because of his love of the wrestling business. A definate read for fans of the man who gave the best interviews in the wrestling industry, if you don't believe me youtube "Ric Flair interview" and witness the magic. One of the greatest wrestlers of all time. Definately get this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stylin' and Profilin', 2 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a life long follower of the Nature Boy, I was excited about reading this book, though a little sceptical about how much free reign to speak his mind he would get in a WWE published book. The first half of the biography is dedicated to his early years and outlines the hard work that he had to put into making a name for himself in the old regional territories. The second half is split between demonising WCW and idolising WWE. WCW did make some horrendous decisions and did a poor job of building on the legacy of Ric. However, to treat WWE as being the break Ric always needed to get back his confidence and cement his place in history just doesn't feel right. If Bischoff was such a monster, why did Ric rush back to work with him and Hogan again in TNA? This is an interesting book, but it raises as many questions as it answers about Ric and what motivates him. A second volume is needed I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good honest read, 18 Mar 2011
By 
gaz115 (newcstle under lyme) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book about Rick Flair. To me it was like he was sitting there just chatting about his life . Thats what makes a great autobiography for me, totally in thier words. He talks about his life inside and outside the ring. It was good to read about the matches ive seen on tv and what happend them. Talks about other wrestlers and his personal life. It all felt from the heart and truthfull. Very good read and even better if you were a wrestling fan aswell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 24 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To be the Man (WWE) (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is great...brought this for my hubby who is a HUGE WWE fan and wanted tge Ric Flair book foe ages...he wasn't dissapointedamd enjoyed reading it and has re read a couple of times since purchase...Good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

To be the Man (WWE)
To be the Man (WWE) by Ric Flair (Mass Market Paperback - 6 Jun 2005)
£5.87
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews