Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An alternative present
The meteor that wiped out the dinosaurs did not strike, and they continued to evolve to the point where they have technology and a complex society. Humans have also evolved, but are still at the hunter-gatherer stage. An ice age is approaching, both species need to find new homes, there is conflict, it's all very exciting and I'm not going to tell you too much or else...
Published on 19 Mar 2003 by Sonia Smith

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good novel - shame about the proof-reading
I read this years ago and remember I enjoyed it but I gave up on this Kindle version about a third of the way in.
It is riddled with stupid spelling errors. Did a ten-year-old proof-read this? A quick spell-check would sort it out!

Some of the errors I came across:
possesions, unpleasent, completly, satisifed, similiar, betweeen, possesed,...
Published on 17 Jun 2012 by Panny


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good novel - shame about the proof-reading, 17 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: West of Eden (Kindle Edition)
I read this years ago and remember I enjoyed it but I gave up on this Kindle version about a third of the way in.
It is riddled with stupid spelling errors. Did a ten-year-old proof-read this? A quick spell-check would sort it out!

Some of the errors I came across:
possesions, unpleasent, completly, satisifed, similiar, betweeen, possesed, posssibly,
arivals, questiongly, om, acomplished, carniverous, foward, loooked, barrrier, themelves,
inititive, philosopy, absoluteley, reasearchers.

Also, too many duplicated words:
"Kerrick bit the knot off with his his teeth."

It should be sent back to the publishers for correction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An alternative present, 19 Mar 2003
This review is from: West of Eden (Paperback)
The meteor that wiped out the dinosaurs did not strike, and they continued to evolve to the point where they have technology and a complex society. Humans have also evolved, but are still at the hunter-gatherer stage. An ice age is approaching, both species need to find new homes, there is conflict, it's all very exciting and I'm not going to tell you too much or else it'll spoil the story.
The plot is good in that it's got enough to it to keep you reading, but it's not too wildly complicated to require you to take notes. I would say that the fact that each species gives places different names gets rather confusing, it's hard to work out where they are, but the second and third books have little maps in them which makes it that much easier. The structure of dinosaur society is nice (well, not for the dinosaurs, but it's a nice bit of plot), and the characterisation is really good, you really get to hate the bad guys and love the good ones.
Definately a book I would recommend to my friends, although maybe only the ones who share my love for fantasy, sci-fi etc. Fans of family sagas and trashy love stories keep away, there are far too many silly new words and hunters-sitting-round-a-fire scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What would have happened if man hadn't ruled the earth?, 5 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: West of Eden (Paperback)
This book creeps up on you. You begin reading it and you think 'this is slightly tedious'. There are so many new words and names to get used to because of the imaginary world he creates. But once you get a few chapters in, BELIEVE me, it is all worthwhile! This a most fascinating, captivating tale set in the past, at the dawn of man, exploring the concept of him NOT being the only intelligent species to have evolved. It is absolutely excellent, mind-blowingly well-thought out, unbelieveable attention to detail, and thoroughly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars well worked out reptilian society, 20 May 2012
Other writings of Harrisons can be a little trite and facile, the writing laughable, the plots obvious. But here, that is not the case, so if you dont be put off this series if you have felt badly about some of his other books.

This is something of an alternative-history. Dinosaurs have not been wiped out. but have continued to evolve into intelligent bipeds. But man has also evolved and has reached approximately a stone age technology. Cue a confrontation between the two species.

The reptilian society contrasts nicely with the human - it is female-dominated, eschews maths, has not discovered fire, has taken genetic engineering to such an extent they have avoided the need for technology (eg food is predigested by enzymes instead of being cooked, they have submarines that are genetically modified marine animals). There are interesting and, as far as they go, fairly accurate descriptions of the reptilian anatomy.

This is a good, fun, adventure yarn. Its not particularly subtle - dont expect a satire on modern human society or anything as intellectual as that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Science Fiction Trilogy, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: West of Eden (Kindle Edition)
I first read book 1 and 2 in the early eighties when they were released, but I never managed to find a copy of book 3 at the time. So it's great to find them all here, easily accessible in kindle format and I can finally finish off Kerrick' s story. The concept of Dinosaurs actually surviving, evolving and ultimately coming into conflict with early man was a great one and these stories were a very enjoyable read. I'm looking forward to reading book 3 very soon once I've reread the other's.
If you like your sci -fi you should enjoy these books. Imagine 'One Million Years B.C' mixed with 'Planet Of The Apes' and you won't be far wrong. All that's missing here is Raquel Welch....unfortunately :-)
Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 30 April 2014
By 
John M. England (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: West of Eden (Kindle Edition)
I first read this book a few years after it came out having borrowed it from a library. I have ever since fought to try and remember the titles author. By chance whilst searching Google I managed to find a reference and here I am, book located. I have been unable to put it back down since.
The story follows a young boy captured by intelligent descendants of the dinosaurs in a world that did not see the mass extinction of these fantastic creatures. Instead human and dinosaur have evolved into intelligent species on separate landmass. But the world is cooling and the intelligent dinosaurs must find new homes across the sea. The stage is set for the first ever large scale conflict in the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Unique!, 30 July 2012
By 
Pradeep A. Jayatunga "PraJay" (Sri Lanka) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I borrowed this book from a library sometime ago. Really liked it. Very good escapist fiction. Couldn't find the next two in the trilogy in libraries or books stores so, ordered all three from Amazon. Looking forward to reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great concept novel, 10 Aug 2011
By 
rob crawford "Rob Crawford" (Balmette Talloires, France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
When I bought this, I didn't have very high hopes that it would be more than fun. Afterall, Harrison wrote the Stainless Steel Rat series, which is simple swashbuckling sci fi jokes.
But when I started it, I was immediately drawn in by the strength of the charaters, writing that was as beautiful as a statue, and unusually well developed concepts. His skill at plot and character development are wonderful.

This is a novel about the conflict between separately evolved intellignent species, which assumes that the dinosaurs never died out in EUrope and have come to colonise the Americas. The dinosaur mind is so alien, so subtle, so cogent, that I found myself completely believing in it, from the way that they communicated in the day through color changes in their skin (disallowing them to overtly lie) to the cyclical nature of their vision of the universe (the "egg of time"). Even their science and technology are different: they grow everything, so feel connected into the web of life in their own way. Of course, the humans are well developed characters as well.

This is a masterpiece of the genre of alternative histories. I am happy that it is back in print. Sci fi can be literature in the hands of a skilful writer. Warmly recomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: West of Eden (Kindle Edition)
One of the most unusual and thought provoking Si Fi fantasies I have read in years. It is a trilogy and although 1 and 3 are in kindle format # 2 isn't. Apart from that amphibians as the dominant race is a unusual story subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing like I imagined..., 8 Aug 2004
By 
M. Bryant - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Harrison's vision of an alternative present day is fascinating and nothing like you could imagine from other dinosaur/man stories. The imagined dinosaur society is a work of art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

West of Eden (Eden Trilogy)
West of Eden (Eden Trilogy) by Harry Harrison (Paperback - Jun 2004)
Used & New from: 0.13
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews