Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE LAST HELL'S ANGEL RIDES AGAIN -AGAINST THE TERRORS OF A POST APOCALYPTIC WORLD...
I read this when I was 11. It was on my dad's bookshelf. A great two-fisted, fast moving, pulp read with lots of manly attitude featuring a tough as nails protagonist called Hell Tanner- the last of the Hell's Angels. If you can't love that as an 11 year old boy then there's no hope for the human race. I had to buy this again because I leant out my dad's copy and never...
Published on 23 Feb. 2013 by Steve Dilks

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars nostalgia
read this as a callow youth some 24 years ago, and revisited it recently. It's still silly but entertaining. I suppose my tastes should have changed over the years; but still listen to Hawkwind now and then too...
Published on 18 Dec. 2012 by Christian Halpin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE LAST HELL'S ANGEL RIDES AGAIN -AGAINST THE TERRORS OF A POST APOCALYPTIC WORLD..., 23 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this when I was 11. It was on my dad's bookshelf. A great two-fisted, fast moving, pulp read with lots of manly attitude featuring a tough as nails protagonist called Hell Tanner- the last of the Hell's Angels. If you can't love that as an 11 year old boy then there's no hope for the human race. I had to buy this again because I leant out my dad's copy and never got it back. I wanted the same Sphere edition and so when it arrived in the post I read it again for about the fourth time (I'm 41 now).
As with some fine wines this hasn't dated a bit but just keeps getting better with age. Incidentally this must have been a big influence on John Carpenter's ESCAPE FROM NEW YORK. The plot and characters are virtually the same. I love that film too. If you're into man fiction- buy this book and prepare to be entertained. If you're seeking understanding and spiritual guidance in an unforgiving world- you've come to the wrong place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last!, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Damnation Alley (Kindle Edition)
I've been waiting for Roger Zelazny books to be available for the Kindle ever since I got one, and I'm glad this was the first. Forget the film and the Judge Dredd Cursed Earth graphic version, this has depth and characterisation as well as the action and the anti-hero.

Let's hope The Dream Master, Lord of Light, and of course the Chronicles of Amber are not far behind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hard to put down sci fi, 14 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Damnation Alley (Paperback)
A decent read. Found the characters and dialogue a little cliched at the start, (Hell Tanner with his tough-guy one liners), though this quickly passed and Tanner's character becomes more interesting. Zelazny has a vision of the post apocalyptic North America which he translates extremely well onto the page. A very "visual" novel, fast paced and hard to put down. Much better than the film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good and influential short story,, 22 Sept. 2009
being as it is only 152 pages. There are also no chapters and it is written as one long narrative with only the occasional page break.

I first became aware of it as it was credited as the inspiration for the 2000ad 1978 Cursed Earth epic and on reading it it certainly wasn't altered much by the associated writers. It also has resonance in Mad Max and Escape from New York that I can see and despite its length was likely a source of inspiration for many books, films and television writers.

Written in 1969 it hasn't suffered the passing of time to the extent that other 60's sci fi classics have, being as it is post apocalyptic and there is no mention of powerful computers being programmed with punch cards.

The storyline is of a convicted gang biker given the task of leading a convoy of plague vaccine from California to Boston across the nuclear wasteland of America in vehicles reminiscent of Steve Jackson's Car Wars.

Freak weather, mutated insects and animals, volcanoes and biker gangs eventually whittle the convoy down to only Hell Tanner (yes, his real name) and a squeeze he `rescues' from a biker gang he massacres. This relationship is the most painful to read about as the woman is portrayed as a subservient drone.

Overall, short, good but not great and sometimes gratingly 60s. It also may be too over familiar a story and concept for a reader of today, but that is the whole point, despite its clunkiness this was the original and therefore at the right price more than worth an undemanding read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars nostalgia, 18 Dec. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Damnation Alley (Paperback)
read this as a callow youth some 24 years ago, and revisited it recently. It's still silly but entertaining. I suppose my tastes should have changed over the years; but still listen to Hawkwind now and then too...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it then and its just as good on my, 22 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Damnation Alley (Kindle Edition)
read it in paperback years ago, loved it then and its just as good on my kindle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars damnation alley, 27 July 2006
By 
J. Riley "jon n murph" (leafy midlands uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Could nt agree more with the other reviews- the film was abysmal. However this is a classic post-apocalyptic adventure that conjures up all manner of nightmare images. - i still have a fear of giant butterflies!. Check out 2000ad's Cursed Earth graphic novel for a different angle on the story- it brought me to the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars blimey what an awful book, 25 Jan. 2007
By 
This review is from: Damnation Alley (Paperback)
I assumed that the book would be better than the film but i was wrong! I thought Zelazny was pretty highly thought of as his 'Lord of Light' is often mentioned in SF top ten lists. He must of written 'Damnation Alley' when he was about ten and going through the usual "i'm the last man on earth and i have a jailhouse tattoo and dont mind how many fags I smoke a day as long as i can kill a few mutants, drive my customised truck and shag a few 'chicks'" period. If nothing else it will make you laugh at the corny 60's pastiche language, appalling psuedo hard-man dialogue, and hackneyed rebel made good storyline. Try "the Road" by Cormac McCarthy for a less cringe inducing post-apocalyptic journey. Now wheres my fags, harley, customised truck, beer, shotgun and suitably loose girlfriend? i need to travel from Tulse Hill to Victoria station - a journey far more risky than 'Damnation Alley'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So you've seen the film, 19 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Damnation Alley (Paperback)
You might have seen the film but as usual that won't prepare you for the book. The film lacks the depth of characterization Zelazny applied to the central characters, and is poorer for it. Don't be put off, read the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars S--- film, great book!, 30 Nov. 2001
This review is from: Damnation Alley (Paperback)
Great book......One of the worst films ever.
Great action, dark and moody!
Boys on bikes in leather, a plague, oh and giant mutant spiders .... who could ask for more?
Read it, Now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Damnation Alley
Damnation Alley by Roger Zelazny (Mass Market Paperback - 17 May 2004)
Used & New from: £9.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews