Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of his best!, 4 Feb 2003
This review is from: Sudden Prey (Hardcover)
This is one of my favourites in the Prey series. Two people are shot in a bank robery, and the husband of one of them escapes from prison. Now he wants to get his revenge, but not by taking it out directly on the police officers. He wants them to suffer as he is, and wanting nothing by revenge, he's going after their families...
Sandford is a master of writing about different motives for the killings in all his thrillers. Previously I've read about someone killing because (s)he feels (s)he have to do it, another time I read about a much more dangerous motivation, the profit. In this book, Sudden Prey, the main character, Lucas Davenport, is facing the most simple and purest motivation, which is revenge. But can his killer-instinct, fast thinking and intelligence help him to solve this case?
Sandford has the ability of making you so curious about what will happen, that you simply can't put the book away. You have to finish it right away. And if you enjoy the Prey series, this book is a must. Certainly one his best. A great book also recommended to anyone who loves to read, and those who like thillers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sudden Happen to a Man Like Davenport, 19 Nov 2010
By 
This review is from: Sudden Prey (Paperback)
John Sandford is an excellent writer. Need proof? Try reading `Sudden Prey', or nearly any other books in the Prey series, as they are of a great standard. Sandford works in the crime genre and it is one riddled with clichés and bland books. The fact is that as an author he does not shy away from the classic crime moments, but just writes them with a sense of energy, speed and excitement that few others can match. `Sudden Prey' is another novel starring maverick cop Lucas Davenport, but unlike in most of the series his team are the hunted, rather than the hunter. Davenport and co. have killed two women attempting to rob a bank and now the dead women's' relatives are out for revenge.

`Sudden Prey' is a rollercoaster of a ride and the book sets of quickly and never lets up. The levels of violence are high and the sense of injustice makes the book even more gripping. `An eye for an eye' is paramount in this novel and it means that no one (or their family) is safe. The tension builds up quickly and is very enthralling. For those who have never read a Prey book before `Sudden' will be a nice standalone crime thriller. For those who have gotten to know and like Davenport and his team the book will be the most suspenseful yet.

Sammy Recommendation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sudden Thrill, 22 Oct 2004
This review is from: Sudden Prey (Paperback)
John Sandford is an excellent writer. This is the 8th book in what's come to be known as the 'PREY' series. Sudden Prey begins at breakneck speed and never lets up. As in all previous prey stories Lucas Davenport is the main lead. He's a Minneapolis cop and this time round the action hits close to home. Dick LaChaise and his cohorts plan revenge for an incident earlier in the story. All the prey books contain strong language and scenes of graphic violence, so if your not up for that stay away. Great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quality second hand item, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sudden Prey (Paperback)
Highly recommended read. Quality second hand item that I'd be happy to recommend this seller to others. Why buy brand new when second hand item is perfectly fine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars New To Me, 10 Oct 2013
By 
S. Brown "StooB" (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sudden Prey (Paperback)
As a crime fan of many years I was looking for a new writer that would make me want to check out his / her back list. I wasn't disappointed with this writer's work. I'll certainly be sending for other books by him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Davenport, as brilliant as usual., 5 Aug 2001
By 
DiBosco "RJW" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sudden Prey (Paperback)
If you're familiar with the prey novels, this is a good as any of the others. Davenport's character is further developed; the other familiar characters crop up, making you laugh out as they quip one-liners that are funny because of who said them, not so much as what they said. "It's a trashy crime novel you're reading, you're not supposed to be laughing" I was told by a friend as I read. A crime novel it is, trashy - no.
The book certainly isn't a comedy; it's nasty, shocking, involving and draws you further into the ever unfolding world of Sandford's Minneapolis world of crime "solving". As ever with Davenport, there aren't always the solutions the play-it-by-the-rules-cops would possibly come up with.
If you like the Prey Novels, get it; if you haven't tried them yet, start at the beginning with the excellent "Rules of Prey".
Not for the faint hearted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars john sandford prey books, 3 Sep 2009
This review is from: Sudden Prey (Paperback)
an excellent book as are all his prey books cant wait for the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sudden Prey
Sudden Prey by John Sandford (Paperback - 21 Feb 2004)
£5.46
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews