Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought Provoking and Intelligent
It's been a long while since I have read Arthur C. Clarke's work and I was pleasantly surprised at how easy his style of writing is to get back into. I think The Sentinel offers a great deal in its short pieces for a wide variety of readers who like the genre. Clarke writes with humour, imagination and intelligence and has a flair for technical detail that adds to the...
Published on 21 Nov 2001

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Nine Short Stories of Clarke
This book contains nine short science fiction stories written by Arthur C. Clarke in the early part of his career. They are a good sample of the themes of his larger body of writing. Two stories here were later expanded into full-length novels. "The Sentinel" became 2001: A Space Odyssey and "Guardian Angel" became Childhood's End. My three favorites are described...
Published on 9 Jun 2011 by John M. Ford


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought Provoking and Intelligent, 21 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Sentinel (Paperback)
It's been a long while since I have read Arthur C. Clarke's work and I was pleasantly surprised at how easy his style of writing is to get back into. I think The Sentinel offers a great deal in its short pieces for a wide variety of readers who like the genre. Clarke writes with humour, imagination and intelligence and has a flair for technical detail that adds to the tale (without requiring the reader to be a scientist to follow it) whilst often making you sit and think 'this could happen' in even the most fantastic pieces. The fact that many of these stories are aged only seems to add to Clarke's ability to do this when comparison is made to events and technology since they were penned. The story introductions are a bonus and allow any interested reader an insight into how they came about as well as offering a brief snippet of the man behind them. In my humble opinion this modest book offers a good opportunity for anyone coming back to this genre / writer (like myself) or those new readers of Clarke, to settle in for a journey of imagination. The stories themselves are excellent and some of the ideas therein are evidently used as a base for other, much more widely known work making it as good a place to begin your travels as any.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, Memorable, Seminal., 2 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Sentinel (Hardcover)
It is a selection of short stories with fascinating introduction by Clarke before each story and at the start. That makes it a collector's item; a real gem. Here you stand right next to the spring that widened to the fountain of hope in Childhood's End (Guardian Angel), the mystery and quest in 2001, a Space Odyssey (The Sentinel) and the leap of faith in the Songs of Distant earth; written in 1957, a full six months before Sputnik I.
Then there is Breaking Starain', a 1948 classic about two astronauts in a spaceship hit by a meteorite that leaves just enough air for ONLY ONE to reach safety. 'Rescue Party'(March 1945), Clarke's first story sold for publication about aliens attempting to rescue earthmen after the Sun turns Supernova and 'a meeting with Medusa', Clarke's last short story written in 1971 about the first manned(?) exploration of Jupiter.
Read it. Treasure it. You will enjoy it mpre with every re-reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Nine Short Stories of Clarke, 9 Jun 2011
By 
John M. Ford "johnDC" (near DC, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Sentinel (Paperback)
This book contains nine short science fiction stories written by Arthur C. Clarke in the early part of his career. They are a good sample of the themes of his larger body of writing. Two stories here were later expanded into full-length novels. "The Sentinel" became 2001: A Space Odyssey and "Guardian Angel" became Childhood's End. My three favorites are described below.

"Guardian Angel" follows the careful communications between Earth's representative and the leader of an alien delegation that has come to help us. As always, the devil's in details.

"Breaking Strain" is an interesting contrast to Tom Godwin's "The Cold Equations" published in 1954. It was written in 1948. Two spacefarers traveling to Venus survive a meteor strike to find their reserve oxygen gone--leaving not enough for both of them to reach their destination.

"The Sentinel" tells of an unexplained alien artifact uncovered on the Moon. As all Earth wonders who made this object, it creates quite an outcry.

The stories in this book are recommended as well-written and entertaining. I agree with another reviewer's recommendation to read them in The Collected Stories of Arthur C. Clarke along with more stories by this science fiction Master.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 13 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sentinel (Paperback)
If you're a classic sci-fi fan you'll like this collection of short stories. Some of them manifest themselves into other Arthur C Clarke books and the others work well on their own. As usual the author gives his characters enough of a background for the reader to get to know them. I've passed round to my family and all have enjoyed this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Sentinel a selection of stories by Arthur C. Clarke., 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sentinel (Paperback)
I have been a lifelong fan of Arthur C Clarke's books. The Sentinel is a selection of his stories from the 1950's 60's and 70's. It was a revelation to read his early stories again (two of them I had not read before which was a special treat) to realise how good the writing was even then. His stories of space travel are absolutely captivating, every new book published was never a disappointment, they were all fascinating and held me spellbound. Who can replace him?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great books!, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sentinel (Paperback)
This book has a bunch of incredible stories! Definitely worth a read if you like science fiction! I stayed up all night because I couldn't put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sentinel (Paperback)
utterly seminal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sentinel
The Sentinel by Arthur C. Clarke (Mass Market Paperback - 15 Mar 2004)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews