Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stone Cold Brilliance
I've been a professional wrestling fan for the past ten years, many of which were spent following the career of the Texas Rattlesnake Stone Cold Steve Austin. If you yourself are in the same position, or even if you're new to the world of wrestling, I strongly recommend this book. I bought a copy earlier this week (regards to Amazon for the fast deilvary) and was so...
Published on 29 Nov 2003 by Mr. L. T. Cherry

versus
32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what it could have been
I am a huge WWE fan, and have devoured most of the autobiographies that have been published over the course of the last four or five years. If you know anything about the wrestling business, you'd know that the memoirs of Steve Austin promise great things. The neck injury suffered at the hands of the usually dependable Owen Hart in 1997, an insight into the cutthroat...
Published on 11 Nov 2003 by Mr. J. J. Noble


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book because it doesn't just tell you about stone colds wrestling days it also talks about his days as a kid. I would age this book at 10+ it is five stars from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing. eye opening, 31 Oct 2013
By 
got this book a few years ago. amazing read. a must have for any stone cold fans. really opened my eyes to the business and quite a few things about steve austin that i never knew before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gray!, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stone Cold Truth (WWE) (Hardcover)
My son is a huge wrestling fan and loves this book. Good pictures and info. Very happy with it and the service. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but not as in depth as i would like., 1 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read other wrestler's biographies like Bret Hart and Mick Foley and I'm sorry to say that Steve Austin's book is only average. My main gripe is that throughout a good portion of the book it feels like he's keeping you at arms length and not letting you get to know the real 'Stone Cold'. I did enjoy it but I wasn't gripped like I was with Mick Foleys book where you felt he was honest and open all the way through.

You can understand why he has been such a success as he has a determination and work ethic that can only be admired. Also His compassion and loyalty to his close friends and family is an example to be followed and the injuries that he's overcome show his strong mentality and the willingness to fight back against insurmountable odds.

I would recommend this book to only hardcore wrestling fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars the stone cold truth, 18 Mar 2011
By 
enjoyed the book but, you have to be a fan of his, or at least wrestling. liked references to figures involved with wrestling, background etc, would have liked more roadtrip stories. on the downside steves writing is mono and uses repetative phrases too often which spoilt the overall read, but i`m a fan i like this `mans soap opera` sport entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best biography of the year!, 4 April 2005
By 
Wow! Not only is Stone Cold Steve Austin a hit but his book is! It's the best book of the year! His background is fascinating and the book really is heart moving...His career is on a totally different level - unbelievable! This s hould be on everyone's shelf no matter what you're into. I can guarentee you that you will enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A STUNNING BOOK, 19 Nov 2003
This review is from: The Stone Cold Truth (WWE) (Hardcover)
this is a much read for any stone cold fan or wwwe fan. it tells you how he really feel about vince mcmahon tell you about his wifes, his school days and how he started wrestling.when he came To the wwe and about his GM role for the wwe. i couldnt but it down its a MUST READ!!!!!!!!!!!!WHAT????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why I Loved WWF, 2 Jan 2011
For most of my childhood, and in my teens in the 90's, WWF (as it was then) was one of my favourite things to watch. Being as such, Stone Cold Steve Austin and the likes of The Rock, HHH, Bret Hart and many more, all kept me entertained and are now legends in the sport.
For me, Stone Cold was the pinnacle of the sport, he was the face, the icon and the entertainer that captured the fans more than any. This book was an instant buy once I saw it, knowing how much I looked up to the man, I gathered it would be nice to know just how he got there.
From the beginning of the book, explaining his childhood and growing up, you can really feel his desire to impress his family, and surprisingly not follow the wrestling route. As the book progresses he finds his calling and starts to break through the wrestling arena's, creating the persona he once had up until he stumbles upon the Stone Cold character, which is a really good insight into why it came about (I won't spoil it!). the best part of the book is the moments i remember, the wrestlemania apprarances and the feuds. Its nice to know that the man i looked up to became so successful by being a go-getter, and it really brought back memories of my childhood.
Throughout the book, Austin's family and most commonly "J.R." add there own spin on a particular subject which Austin brings up, which really helps the story he is trying to tell, and the book ends in such a way where there may still be more from Stone Cold Steve Austin.
Fantastic read if your a life long WWF fan, new WWE fans should also like this, and see how wrestling became how big it did, through the likes of Austin himself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Stone Cold Truth (WWE)
The Stone Cold Truth (WWE) by Dennis Bryant (Hardcover - 3 Nov 2003)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews