Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars35
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 May 2008
This was a great read and leaves you with a wealth of background knowledge on the horde and Draenei!
You learn loads about: Durotan, Ogrim Doomhammer, Velen, Kil'jaeden, The Naaru, Ner'zhul, Guldan, Archimonde, Sargeras, Blackhand, Drek'Thar, Grom Hellscream, Blood Lust, Draenor -Hellfire Peninsula/Terrokar/Nagrand.

The book tells you everything you need to know about the corruption of the Eredar and the escape of Velen and the Draenei, it also tells of the Orcs heritage and tradition and their unification and corruption leading to them waging war on the Draenia and the opening of the Dark Portal.
I found the background to the Draenei's tale particulaty interesting!
An excellent read!

Make sure you follow it up with 'Lord of The Clans' also by Christie Golden, as the tale continues.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2007
I've always been a big fan of the World of Warcraft game where I play a level 60 Alliance Mage fighting the Horde. So, I was pleasantly surprised with this story that describes their rise - and fall - in a well crafted story that sets the scene for many familiar locations and characters within the game.

Those of you who have purchased The Burning Crusade expansion will also find a wealth of information on the origin of the Draenei race and the building of the Dark Portal, all tightly woven into a well written storyline. Those of you who play the Horde in the game will also find a great deal of information on many, key Horde characters including Durotan and Doomhammer.

Overall, a well told story that is in keeping with the warcraft theme that will keep you entertained and add to the colour of your online gameplay.

For the Horde! (oops I meant the Alliance!)
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2007
Ever since the release of 'Warcraft III: Reign of Chaos', I've been a fan of the series of games. They have a great plot and a well thought-out world. I've read all the Warcraft novels that have been released up until now and I have to say this is one of the better. The story is interesting and ties in to the one in the games almost perfectly. Finally we know the story of the orcs on their homeworld Draenor. One problem I had with the novel was with the character Ner'zhul. He was always represented as a person with evil ambitions who converted the orcs to his cause. In this novel however he seems rather reluctant with what's happening. In conclusion, it's a good read, but only if you're a Warcraft fan.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2009
Great book for all the warcraft lovers out there. Would definatly reccomend it to those who have an interest in lore and just reading on a general.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 January 2010
Bought to read when on holiday (when game play is impossible).
Looks a decent reading book. There are 6pages in centre which is comic strip, but it is a thick enough reading book to accomodate this.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2014
Amazing book, the very beginning of the horde and the war between draeni and orcs. This book follows Durotan father of Thrall as he grows up on draenor amongst the frostwolf clan. Being next in line to become Cheiftan of the clan he has a lot to learn. Thrall tells the story of his father and his best friend Orgrim Doomhammer as they grew up and the darkness that followed from Kil'Jadens arrival on draenor to extinguish the draeni once and for all using the orcs as his pawns.

10/10 I would reccomend this to any warcraft or world of warcraft fan or lore nerd.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2015
Incredible book, especially one to start with if you are new to the wow franchise. The story and writing quality of the book was top notch, however some of the editing was confusing and inconsistent which threw me out of my immersion in some places. Paragraphs in certain places are not clear, so when there is a change of scene or time, it is not indicated and spellings for characters also seems inconsistent, is it Orgrim, or Or-grim?

Anyways, apart from that its perfect!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2013
With the announcement of the upcoming expansion to World of Warcraft, Warlords of Draenor, I was really interested in learning the history of this new (old:) world and the Orc race.
Christie Golden has done an excellent job with this book. I felt and imagined being there so vividly and the characters and races felt very true to the game.
It is a sad story but I'd highly recommend it to anyone interested in the history of WoW and the upcoming expansion.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2009
This book teaches new people to WoW how the orcs and dranei came about and dwells a little further in the past to warcraft. :)
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2014
I went into this book knowing what would happen, I didn't find it as enjoyable as War crimes, but its still well worth a read if you're not familiar with the lore on the following: Durotar, Draenor, The draenai, Pre horde orcs, Kil'jaeden/the burning legion. Not a bad book, I like how Christie writes about the horde races but she does great work in this with the Draenai too.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.