Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 30 May 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rise of the Horde: Rise of the Horde No. 4 (World of Warcraft) (Mass Market Paperback)
This was a great read and leaves you with a wealth of background knowledge on the horde and Draenei!
You learn loads about: Durotan, Ogrim Doomhammer, Velen, Kil'jaeden, The Naaru, Ner'zhul, Guldan, Archimonde, Sargeras, Blackhand, Drek'Thar, Grom Hellscream, Blood Lust, Draenor -Hellfire Peninsula/Terrokar/Nagrand.

The book tells you everything you need to know about the corruption of the Eredar and the escape of Velen and the Draenei, it also tells of the Orcs heritage and tradition and their unification and corruption leading to them waging war on the Draenia and the opening of the Dark Portal.
I found the background to the Draenei's tale particulaty interesting!
An excellent read!

Make sure you follow it up with 'Lord of The Clans' also by Christie Golden, as the tale continues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Root for the Horde in this tale from the World of Warcraft, 13 Dec 2007
This review is from: Rise of the Horde: Rise of the Horde No. 4 (World of Warcraft) (Mass Market Paperback)
I've always been a big fan of the World of Warcraft game where I play a level 60 Alliance Mage fighting the Horde. So, I was pleasantly surprised with this story that describes their rise - and fall - in a well crafted story that sets the scene for many familiar locations and characters within the game.

Those of you who have purchased The Burning Crusade expansion will also find a wealth of information on the origin of the Draenei race and the building of the Dark Portal, all tightly woven into a well written storyline. Those of you who play the Horde in the game will also find a great deal of information on many, key Horde characters including Durotan and Doomhammer.

Overall, a well told story that is in keeping with the warcraft theme that will keep you entertained and add to the colour of your online gameplay.

For the Horde! (oops I meant the Alliance!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A refreshing Warcraft read, 30 May 2007
This review is from: Rise of the Horde: Rise of the Horde No. 4 (World of Warcraft) (Mass Market Paperback)
Ever since the release of 'Warcraft III: Reign of Chaos', I've been a fan of the series of games. They have a great plot and a well thought-out world. I've read all the Warcraft novels that have been released up until now and I have to say this is one of the better. The story is interesting and ties in to the one in the games almost perfectly. Finally we know the story of the orcs on their homeworld Draenor. One problem I had with the novel was with the character Ner'zhul. He was always represented as a person with evil ambitions who converted the orcs to his cause. In this novel however he seems rather reluctant with what's happening. In conclusion, it's a good read, but only if you're a Warcraft fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 31 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Rise of the Horde: Rise of the Horde No. 4 (World of Warcraft) (Mass Market Paperback)
Great book for all the warcraft lovers out there. Would definatly reccomend it to those who have an interest in lore and just reading on a general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW Rise of the Hord, 2 Jan 2010
By 
Friends fan (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rise of the Horde: Rise of the Horde No. 4 (World of Warcraft) (Mass Market Paperback)
Bought to read when on holiday (when game play is impossible).
Looks a decent reading book. There are 6pages in centre which is comic strip, but it is a thick enough reading book to accomodate this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FOR THE HORDE!, 10 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rise of the Horde: Rise of the Horde No. 4 (World of Warcraft) (Mass Market Paperback)
Amazing book, the very beginning of the horde and the war between draeni and orcs. This book follows Durotan father of Thrall as he grows up on draenor amongst the frostwolf clan. Being next in line to become Cheiftan of the clan he has a lot to learn. Thrall tells the story of his father and his best friend Orgrim Doomhammer as they grew up and the darkness that followed from Kil'Jadens arrival on draenor to extinguish the draeni once and for all using the orcs as his pawns.

10/10 I would reccomend this to any warcraft or world of warcraft fan or lore nerd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 23 Sep 2009
By 
S. Brain (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rise of the Horde: Rise of the Horde No. 4 (World of Warcraft) (Mass Market Paperback)
This book teaches new people to WoW how the orcs and dranei came about and dwells a little further in the past to warcraft. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad book, I like how Christie writes about the ..., 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rise of the Horde: Rise of the Horde No. 4 (World of Warcraft) (Mass Market Paperback)
I went into this book knowing what would happen, I didn't find it as enjoyable as War crimes, but its still well worth a read if you're not familiar with the lore on the following: Durotar, Draenor, The draenai, Pre horde orcs, Kil'jaeden/the burning legion. Not a bad book, I like how Christie writes about the horde races but she does great work in this with the Draenai too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book clearly puts in top lace parts of the story what are not translated in the game (wow) , and is a brilliant read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I absolutely loved this book. Perfect starter if you're wanting to get into some WoW lore especially with the new expansion War Lords of Draenor coming soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rise of the Horde: Rise of the Horde No. 4 (World of Warcraft)
Rise of the Horde: Rise of the Horde No. 4 (World of Warcraft) by Christie Golden (Mass Market Paperback - 30 Dec 2006)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews