Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 September 2006
I would like to start by saying that I love Warcraft. I've played the games and read all the other books. As a result I was very eager to read this one. After finishing it, I came to the conclusion that this is a good book but nothing special. Some people complain about the lack of character devellopment in this book, but If you've played the games and/or read the other books, you'll already know a lot about the background of some of the main characters. Therefore, you'll enjoy this book a lot more If you're a Warcraft fan. Another complaint I have is that the book is rather short, only about 240 pages. In the end I liked the book and so will other Warcraft fans, but if you've never read or played a Warcraft product, this is not the book for you to start.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2014
Stopped reading halfway through.
Literally, without exaggeration, every other paragraph is a woman musing about how difficult it is to be a woman because of oppressive men, or a man questioning the ability and competence of women.
The book is nothing more than a platform for the social agenda of the author.

Avoid.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2015
To start off with, I've read many WoW books and played from vanilla to mists and have enjoyed the work by Christie Golden most and Richard Knaak is decent, if a little inconsistent. This book, however, was the worst by far I've read.

Why? An interesting time in wow lore that gives some freedom for creative license and the author gets it dead wrong. The writing style is borderline patronising and suitable for a very young audience. Whether intended or not, many parts were cringe worthy.

As others have said, the author takes every chance to push an agenda of gender equality. Pushes it to the point of vomit. WoW has many strong characters, man or woman and keeps labouring the point of how stupid men are, and how unfortunate women are due to sex.

I could go on but typing this from my phone is annoying. If you want a good read, decent wow lore, this is not it. I hope this author doesn't write again, or do their research on the characters and make wholesale changes. There are much, much better wow books available. 1 star is about all this is worth.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2016
Recommended, very well written book and indeed the entire series is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2010
This was really good value and looked good. Packed well and arrived quickly. A great gift for any WoW fan.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
Daughter loves it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2014
Xmas present
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2013
This was a great short novel about warcraft lore. Wich takes place just before the start of world of warcraft.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2009
I am rating this especially for the lore as I bought the book for the lore. This book is quite easy to read in just a few hours. It offers little to the lore not to mention it confuses things a bit (Thrall seem to not like/appreciate women even he had been helped by one...). However I strongly did not like the tone and the lightness in the language/expressions that sounds poor even in b-movies.

I especially disliked the approach to a mythical character such as Aegwynnm, really below expectation when you meet a character like this in the lore. Maybe blizzard had already reviewed this particular aspect and agreed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse