Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A real discovery!
I've only just discovered Jennifer Weiner but she is heads and shoulders above most of the writers in this area – mainly because the characters are so well done and for once you genuinely care about them!
Kate is a mother of 3 but a city girl at heart who has just moved to the suburbs and is struggling to cope. If you 'get' Lynette from Desperate...
Published on 28 Feb 2006 by risgardner

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Goodnight - no good!
I'm sorry but I just couldn't get on with this at all. It's supposed to be like Desperate Housewives but has none of that series' glamour, ironic humour or edge. The flashback scenes are just so much schmalz and there are too many subordinate plot lines or events which only serve to obscure what plot there is. The author's poor prose style does not compensate for these...
Published on 5 Oct 2006 by Catherine Claire Hayes


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A real discovery!, 28 Feb 2006
This review is from: Goodnight Nobody (Paperback)
I've only just discovered Jennifer Weiner but she is heads and shoulders above most of the writers in this area – mainly because the characters are so well done and for once you genuinely care about them!
Kate is a mother of 3 but a city girl at heart who has just moved to the suburbs and is struggling to cope. If you 'get' Lynette from Desperate Housewives you will love her. When one of the snooty neighbourhood yummy mummies is found dead Kate finds herself investigating the secrets behind their outwardly perfect lives. She enlists the help of her best friend Janie and some of the funniest moments come from the flashbacks to their time as single girls, running around town. When Kate's Ex shows up you know things are going to get complicated!
I found that the mystery plot needed a bit of picking through but the main female characters, the humour and witty observations more than make up for it.
Recommended, a real discovery!'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars its a mystery!!!, 30 Aug 2006
By 
C. L. Evans "carlyevans1983" (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Goodnight Nobody (Paperback)
This is desperate housewives minus the glamour with kids added. An excellent read from start to finish. This was the first Jennifer Weiner book i read and i am now working my way through the others. Definately chick lit but with murder, infidelity and baby sick a must read for any mother who just wants more.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 5 Aug 2008
By 
This review is from: Goodnight Nobody (Paperback)
Read this book after reading the recommendations on amazon. It is brilliant! Well written, funny, and realistic. Once I got going I couldn't put it down, and couldn't guess what was going to happen right up until the very end.
There were a few parts where I didn't understand references to american culture, and there were a few lines that were grammatically incorrect as well, but this doesn't detract from the plot. Overall - a big thumbs up! Will be reading more of jennifer weiners books in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Goodnight - no good!, 5 Oct 2006
This review is from: Goodnight Nobody (Paperback)
I'm sorry but I just couldn't get on with this at all. It's supposed to be like Desperate Housewives but has none of that series' glamour, ironic humour or edge. The flashback scenes are just so much schmalz and there are too many subordinate plot lines or events which only serve to obscure what plot there is. The author's poor prose style does not compensate for these weaknesses and the mystery itself is not even properly resolved, leaving you feeling that you have completley wasted your time! I know that Jennifer Weiner's books are categorised as 'chicklit', but judging from this she seems incapable of doing more - i.e. crafting a clever, well constucted mystery novel in which the various elements 'add up' in an intelligent, satisfying and surprising way. If you are looking for a well-written, witty and clever US 'chick' mystery then you'd be better off sticking to Janet Evanovich and/or Sparkle Hayter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes fun- sometimes witty- but otherwise bland., 31 July 2007
By 
maya j (Quail Crossing) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Goodnight Nobody (Paperback)
'Goodnight Nobody' is a surface level, warmed over chick lit book that fell a little flat for me. Jennifer Weiner definitely has comedic capabilities and appeal; however, I felt her latest attempts at creating a sort of "murder mystery" were weak and a little shallow. The book starts out with Kate Klein frumpy and annoying and ends with Kate Klein frumpy and annoying. And then there's the murder mystery...I mean, really, how many people find their neighbor hacked to death and then leave the house, casually call the police, and carry on with their lives? I think most of us would be catatonic or at the very least, would have run screaming into the street, having nightmares for months on end. It's this kind of superficiality and shallowness that just doesn't work, and I'm not sure if the casual triteness of the story was to make it funny or just because she couldn't think of how to really delve into a "murder mystery". It's not a horrible book, and it was entertaining for awhile, but then you're going "Yeah right" and "That's ridiculous!" in parts that don't add up. Near the end, there is a scene in which it seems we are supposed to finally realize the reasons for the unrequited love of this gorgeous man from Kate Klein's past. He's the one who seemed interested but wasn't-but really was- and then- nothing- nope we don't get any answers. It almost makes you think she's working on a sequel to this book. Then there's the matter of the title...this title makes no sense for this book other than the fact that she reads Goodnight Moon to her kids. And another thing, why is there a picture of a sexy-legged woman on the cover? We're talking about a frumpy woman trying to solve a murder in the suburbs here, not Sex and the City.

Bottom line is, I think this book was trying to be too many things to too many readers, and it ended up being just an average book that doesn't live up to the previous examples of fine fiction from Jennifer Weiner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unremarkable, 23 Oct 2007
By 
This review is from: Goodnight Nobody (Paperback)
I have only awarded this lukewarm effort by Jennifer Weiner 2 stars by virtue of the fact that I finished it. Having said that, I am rather disappointed that I wasted my time. It had a few entertaining moments, the relationship with the hunky Evan being about the most alluring, but this was unexplored and unresolved. The plot was outlandish and the conclusion, well, just a complete disappointment that ruined any credibility that this bland little book had managed to create. Don't waste your time on this one. Try 'In Her Shoes' or 'Little Earthquakes' for much better form from Weiner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great chicklit with a 'who done it' twist, 26 May 2008
By 
TeePee "Hooked on Books" (Southampton, Hants, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Goodnight Nobody (Paperback)
This was the first book by this author that I have read. After reading Emily Barr's Backpack many years ago I have tried to find other chicklit books but have a darker twist to them and this certainly hit the right buttons. Well recommended!!! Loved it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Goodnight Nobody
Goodnight Nobody by Jennifer Weiner (Paperback - 6 Mar 2006)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews