Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Immortal Hulk Hogan goes Hollywood
The life journey of the most recognised sports entertainer ever.
Hogan is as honest as he can be in this book which addresses topical situations such as the Mcmahon / Zhorian steriod scandal of the early 90's and the pressure of carrying the company in the 80's, to the closing? of a journey in 2002. For over 25 years the Hulkster has seen and done it all. Showing...
Published on 28 Nov 2002 by Adrian J. Monnery

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The most important man in WWE history tells 1/2 the story!
Having been a wrestling fan for over ten years I have been eagerly anticipating this book for a long time. When it was announced not to long ago that the "Immortal" Hulkster would be penning his life story I could not wait to get my hands on what would undoubtalbly be the biggest and most Informative wrestling biography ever. However when I did get my hands on a copy...
Published on 24 Nov 2002 by Conkeyface


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hogan's Bio, 7 Mar 2003
This review is from: Hollywood Hulk Hogan (World wrestling entertainment) (Hardcover)
I've been a huge Hogan fan for years, own all the videos etc etc so the prospect of an offical biography left me, well eager with anticipation.
Unfortunately the book is at least to me (who know's Hogans genuine history) DISSAPOINTING. The biggest star in wrestling ever, in the two biggest promotions over (WWF and WCW) should have at least had a biography 1000 words long. This bio is less that 350 words(including pictures, and is in relatively large print) and is at least a revisionist's idea on Hogan's life. The facts listed here are very inaccurate. a few of the many flaws are:
Hogans physique : In numerous interviews (both live and on paper) Hogan has claimed that he was very athletically built (like a track runner) whilt preparing to get into wrestling (whilst he was in the band). In the book Hogan claims he was a 'fat' kid, whose big physique combined with Dock work made him massive, before he started wrestling.
The book also claims that he quit steriods (a subject in the book incredibly glossed over) before WM 8 and shrunk immediately wheres as it was actually on his return a year later at WM9 where he was was 30 lbs lighter.
The book covers Hogan's early life and in detail up until about 1985 and then 17 years are rushed through, only sparingly covering anything of interest. It's nice to know Hogan's background sure, but details (doesn't even have to be year by year) on The Ultimate Warrior,Macho Man,Earthquake, The Undertaker and leaving so quietly (after loss to Yokozuna in WWF 93). Plus the real decision to join the nWo (despite what he says Hogans red and yellow run in WCW wasn't the groundbreaker he makes out, and his popularity was waning before he turned heel), and why he refused to put anyone over then (again despite what he says Hogan held lots back) would be nice.
Key issues eg: Feud with Vince McMahon,feuds with Randy Savage and Ultimate Warrior on a personal level and the death of Hulkamania (before he accepted it) and the steriod scandal etc are either covered up,not mentioned or glossed over, making for frustrating reading. His WCW run is also glossed over as is his BIG feud with Sting. For a tenure which lasted 6 years we only get little pieces and unintersting pieces at that.
All In all reading this book was very frustrating and quite un imformative. For anyone who knows the history of Hogan this read will provide a few laughs, but for all the wrong reasons (namely its in accuracy). My advice would be borrow it from a friend or library, but don't purchase unless your a die hard (accept anything) Hogan fan. I know Hogan is riding a wave of popularity at the moment and probably didn't want to spoil it by bringing out a bio which could lay scorn on him. But the Truth is better than fiction and we'd all have been more grateful for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The most important man in WWE history tells 1/2 the story!, 24 Nov 2002
This review is from: Hollywood Hulk Hogan (World wrestling entertainment) (Hardcover)
Having been a wrestling fan for over ten years I have been eagerly anticipating this book for a long time. When it was announced not to long ago that the "Immortal" Hulkster would be penning his life story I could not wait to get my hands on what would undoubtalbly be the biggest and most Informative wrestling biography ever. However when I did get my hands on a copy the first thing that struck me was the size of it. 343pages did not really fill me with the impression that Hulk had squeezed in every last detail and interesting fact or story when recalling his epic career. Having just finished the book my fears have been proven to be justified. Don't get me wrong its not that bad a book, however do not expect lots of dirt to be dished, and the kind of detail or wit that you would find in other biographophies such as Have a Nice day or Pure Dynamite. Their are some very interesting moments such as Hulk's views on fellow superstars such as Booker T, The Ultimate Warrior and Mr T, however he never really gives us more than a basic opinion on why they are not as good as "The Hulkster" and as a result of this, old Terry Bollea comes across as being just a tad arrogant (something that most wrestling fans have been reading for years). Having said this however I did enjoy this book far more than 90% of all the other wrestling Autobiographies I have read (The best being Have a nice day and Pure Dynamite). The bottom line is that this book should be twice the size, with less information about how many celebrity friends he has and more information about the industry in which he has wheeled and dealed for over twenty years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Immortal Hulk Hogan goes Hollywood, 28 Nov 2002
By 
This review is from: Hollywood Hulk Hogan (World wrestling entertainment) (Hardcover)
The life journey of the most recognised sports entertainer ever.
Hogan is as honest as he can be in this book which addresses topical situations such as the Mcmahon / Zhorian steriod scandal of the early 90's and the pressure of carrying the company in the 80's, to the closing? of a journey in 2002. For over 25 years the Hulkster has seen and done it all. Showing some of the inner workings of the wrestling fraternity as well as his own private life and feelings. For any Hulkamaniac this is a must have book. The only critacism I have is that for a career spanning 25+ years the book seems awfully short and lightweight (probably some Mcmahon damage limitation.). Hopefully the story is not over yet. Whatever happens this book is only part of the comeback story of Hollywood Hulk Hogan in 2002. Hogan is the true babe ruth of wrestling which prooves HULK STILL RULES!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Get Hulked Up Before You Read, 15 Feb 2006
A great author ? No. A great storyteller ? Oh Yes !
I am a massive Hogan fan, for years I have followed Hulkamania, from the t-shirts to the sunglasses and back home via the feather boa. But this book has done nothing for my respect of the dude.
Brother, let me tell you something. You're talking out of your a$$ when you say that this book is near to real life. Granted Hogan talks in a free and honest way about his life before wrestling, but then it starts to get hazy when you really get into it.
This book will suit people who see Hogan in such a positive light that nothing will deter them, but for the wrestling fan who wants a little insight into the wacky and zany world of Pro-Wrestling, stay ... well ... clear !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Letting Hogan Tell His Own Story, 24 April 2004
By 
Ed Falkner (Appleton, Wisconsin) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hollywood Hulk Hogan (World wrestling entertainment) (Hardcover)
How one approaches this book will depend on what one's religious view ofthis wrestler is. Religious? Let me explain.
Most wrestling smarks (the people who think they know something aboutprofessional wrestling) love to make snarky comments about Hogan, howarrogant, self-aggrandizing, bad wrestler, low-work-rate, yadayadaya, heis. Surprisingly, Hogan never takes these people on. It's almostreligious in fervor how these people view Hogan.
And if you like the wrestler, you'll like his book. If you don't, youwon't. Period.
But what he does here is tell his own story, and in his own story hedoesn't always come off well. He admits wrongdoing (walking out on VerneGagne, steroids, the OUI photoshoot), and puts other people "over" (IronSheik, for not breaking his leg when asked to by Verne Gagne; Andre theGiant, who he helped even though Andre would pelt him with beer cans; anda host of celebrities who he admits actually did a halfway decent job inthe ring).
And, he admits to being a Christian and witnessing tochildren. Can't hate that.
All in all, this may have some errors in it (I understand some dates areoff), but considering that Terry Bolea comments negatively toward himselfin spots, makes good comments about others, and genuninely talks as if heloves the sport he's in, all in all this story seems quite authentic, andhumanizes the man whose done more to make wrestling popular than any ofthe self-appointed experts of wrestling ever might do.
Hogan has slept in a van on a beach in his early days to make for himselfthe foundation of an astounding career. What have the internet snarksmarks ever done for the sport besides bloviate?
My money's on, and my respect is for, Terry Bolea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Story Of Hulkamania if finnally here!, 10 Dec 2003
I have been a Hulkamaniac since, well, when I became a wrestling fan. Then I heard he was writing a autobiography with a writer and I knew I had to buy this book.
The book starts with his child hood on how he was a fat kid who watched wrestling whenever he could.
Then moves on with being in a band, training to be a wrestler, when he fractured his ankle on the first training session. Then we here on how he found out wrestling was fake and that it was kept a secret for a long time that it was real.
We here about the struggles of Andre the Giant, Rocky III, Mr.T with Wrestlemania, AWA promotion, WCW, Vince Russo and his failed acting career after leaving the WWF in 1993.
The first autobiography I manged to read all the way though, a must for all Hulkamaniacs, Hulkamania is Runnin Wild, still.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hulk Still Rules!, 1 Dec 2002
This review is from: Hollywood Hulk Hogan (World wrestling entertainment) (Hardcover)
I was lucky enough to get an advance copy of this book last week. I read it in 2 days, i could not put it down. It is by far in my opinion one of the best WWE Superstar autobiography released to date. I own both of Mick Foley's autobiographies, Rock's autobiography, China's autobiography and Kurt Angle's autobiography. It is very insightful and is presented in exactly the same way as all of the other WWE releases, with some really good, glossy photo's and black and white photo's. I promised myself i wouldn't give anything away about the book, as i hate reading things that you have already heard about. In this book Hulk Hogan gives us what feels like a very heartfelt insight into his career, including his steroid addiction in the 1990's.
I really enjoyed this book, and i'm eagerly awaiting Jerry 'The King' Lawler's autobiography. Was Hulk Hogan's (Terry Bollea) autobiography worth the time speant reading it? Hell yeah. Is it worth the money? Hell yeah, it's worth double!
Buy it, you won't be dissapointed, i promise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hulk Hogan, the Huckster, 28 Sep 2004
This review is from: Hollywood Hulk Hogan (World wrestling entertainment) (Hardcover)
"Well, I stand up next to a mountain...and chop it down with the edge of my hand."
No doubt about it, Hulk Hogan, or Hollywood, is the biggest name in wrestling. But he is also known as one of the biggest shills for himself and sometimes an outright liar. This book, unfortunatley, demonstrates that. As a longtime wrestling fan, I was thrilled that Mick Foley wrote such an entertaining and informative--if long--book. But I was disappointed with others, Hogan's included. From his claim that Andre the Giant was 700 lb to his misrepresntation of his WCW run where he was the victim--remember, this was a man who had a multimillion dollar contract, pushed all his friends and helped WCW head Eric Bischoff to play out the NWO to a nauseating degree, starting the beginning of the end of that company. This book is a collection of half truths and hyperbole and not even a good one at that. While you may learn a little more about the legend that is Hogan, you would be learning more about the legend he is in his own mind. Strong recommendation to avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its a pretty good book..., 11 Jan 2003
This review is from: Hollywood Hulk Hogan (World wrestling entertainment) (Hardcover)
This book has been written by possibly the biggest star of all time in the profesional wrestling business. Hollywood Hulk Hogan. The book covers the period from his childhood all the way up until the date that the book was written, and provides a fantastic insight into the way that "sports entertainment" was, and still is run.
This is a fantastic read for fans of the WWE or of Hogan himself, but does not show the same appeal to the neutral.
The book itself is a quick and easy read, illustrated well, and catches the readers interest. A very good book for fans, but for the impartial reader the book will be over far to quickly and doesn't really challenge you at any point.
All in all, pretty good, but nothing special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars As bad as most of his matches, 11 Nov 2003
By 
Mr. J. J. Noble "JimJNoble" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hollywood Hulk Hogan (World wrestling entertainment) (Hardcover)
Hulk Hogan is perhaps the biggest star the wrestling industry has ever known. If this autobiography is anything to go by, he is also the most insane, as his book is filled with what can only be described as blatant fantasy.
Hulk (real name Terry Bollea) takes sole credit for the box office success of Rocky 3, misunderstands what year his 'great friend' Andre the Giant died, doesn't seem to understand why management had a problem with his 'I mustn't lose' attitude (witness his shocking explanation of his WCW exit, and you'll understand what I'm talking about). Bollea has long had a reputation for being egotistical - and his book proves it. Amusingly, the 'Hulkster' seems blissfully unaware of just how self-serving he appears.
Added to this, the fact that many of the chapters are often two pages long, and the way Bollea and his ghost writer skirt over literally decades, and the book seems an empty experience. Today, wrestling fans know an awful lot of what's going on backstage, but the backstage area of Hogan's prime is still a mystery to us, and would be the basis for a potentially wonderful book - anyone interested should check out the excellent 'Sex, Lies and Headlocks' - but Hogan has missed the boat, and sacrificed what would have been the one redeeming feature of a book full of blatant mendacity.
Good for a laugh, but that's about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hollywood Hulk Hogan (World wrestling entertainment)
Hollywood Hulk Hogan (World wrestling entertainment) by Hulk Hogan (Hardcover - 4 Nov 2002)
14.63
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews