Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I am one, but we are many
As a series of short stories, I found each enjoyable and they tie in well with what the series has already established. As the editor said in the introduction to the book, the different writing styles really made each "life" feel seperate, whilst it is cohesive enough for the reader to feel that the hosts were meshing quite well.
Published on 13 May 2000

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, especially liked the Jadzia Dax segment.
Not bad, especially liked the Jadzia Dax tale. It read exactly like a Deepspace Nine episode.
The rest of the stories although adequate I found strangely unfulfilling, apart from the Ezri Dax Prologue and Epilogue which were 'spot on' in terms of chracterisation. Ezri's talk with Vic Fontaine was magic.
All in all , 'The Lives Of Dax'; a marvelous premise and...
Published on 27 Dec 1999 by Mr. T. Walters


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, especially liked the Jadzia Dax segment., 27 Dec 1999
By 
Mr. T. Walters "Gemni02" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lives of Dax (Paperback)
Not bad, especially liked the Jadzia Dax tale. It read exactly like a Deepspace Nine episode.
The rest of the stories although adequate I found strangely unfulfilling, apart from the Ezri Dax Prologue and Epilogue which were 'spot on' in terms of chracterisation. Ezri's talk with Vic Fontaine was magic.
All in all , 'The Lives Of Dax'; a marvelous premise and some nice Dax anecdotes but the stories could have been better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I am one, but we are many, 13 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Lives of Dax (Paperback)
As a series of short stories, I found each enjoyable and they tie in well with what the series has already established. As the editor said in the introduction to the book, the different writing styles really made each "life" feel seperate, whilst it is cohesive enough for the reader to feel that the hosts were meshing quite well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lives of Dax, 6 May 2011
This review is from: Lives of Dax (Paperback)
A nice anthology feel for the book, all the stories were entertaining.
Helped me learn more of the lore and increase my curiosity for more of DS9 return stories.

This renewed interest in Star Trek lore warrants my 5 star rating!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointing..., 16 Jan 2000
By 
Claire Hennessy (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lives of Dax (Paperback)
I thought this book was a bit disappointing but it is still worth buying. The best stories were the Ezri story, the Emony story (although it didn't really tell us much about Emony) and the Jadzia story. The Audrid story was quite good as well, as was the Lela one. The book features a lot of familiar characters including a previous host of Odan, Admiral Janeway, a young Leonard McCoy, Captain Pike, and much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not good enough, 20 Mar 2000
By 
Mr. Sascha Mueller (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lives of Dax (Paperback)
I did enjoy the book of Dax but tought, that it could be longer. It would have been really good, if it would have been turned into a mini-serie of books. Nine incredible lives in one book? It's unfortunatly not possible. Still, i would advise anybody to read it. Dax, in all Her/his lives is still a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loving the slug inside you, 3 Feb 2004
By 
David Roy (Vancouver, BC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lives of Dax (Paperback)
One of the more interesting characters in Star Trek: Deep Space Nine is a Trill named Dax. Trills are humanoids who are hosts to slug-like being called a symbiont. In a process called "the joining," Trills have the symbiont implanted and they become not just the person they were, but also a sum of memories that can go back hundreds of years. There were two "Dax" characters in Deep Space Nine, with Jadzia Dax being killed in season 6 and Ezri serving as an emergency host. It's a great honour to be a host, but not everybody is anxious to be one.
I've always been fascinated by the Dax character, even when the actresses weren't quite up to the part. The show would occasionally have references to previous hosts through the centuries, and I often wondered what some of their stories might be, especially during the time of the original series and movies. Marco Palmieri shared this feeling, and he decided to create a short story anthology addressing this issue. He gathered some of the big names in Trek fiction and created The Lives of Dax. Each of the previous Dax hosts gets one story, showcasing their personality and a little bit of their history. The stories are pretty good, though none of them are particularly earth-shattering. It's a nice, cozy tome that will bring a bit of nostalgia to any DS9 fan.
Some of the more interesting stories take place early in Dax's life, before Trill became acquainted with the outside universe. The first one (not counting the beginning of the framing story) is about Lela Dax, a new member of the Trill council and one of the advocates for opening Trill up for trade with other galactic races. A ship has approached Trill and sent a message that the Trill are having trouble translating. It appears that the ship is in trouble, and they are ignoring all warnings from Trill that they must leave orbit. Lela decides that she has to help, despite what the council says. She discovers, and demonstrates to the rest of the council, that knowledge is not only power, but that the lack of it can be deadly as well. "First Steps" is by Kristine Kathryn Rusch, and starts the anthology off with a bang.
Once this story is off the ground, though, the book suffers from one of my main criticisms of the Trek books (though I think many fans disagree with me, which is why it will never change). Each story brings in some known element of Trek lore (usually a character or a race), ostensibly to give some sort of identification to the reader (like we don't know already that it's a Trek book?). These elements are usually contrived and really drag the book down in my estimation, unless they're used well. Unfortunately, that's not usually the case here. Tobin Dax's story ("Dead Man's Hand" by Jeffrey Lang) brings in the Romulans. Emony Dax's story ("Old Souls" by Michael Jan Friedman) has Dr. McCoy from the original series (though it is actually established in the television series that Dax had an encounter with him, so at least it's not coming out of left field), Audrid's story ("Sins of the Mother" by S.D. Perry) has Captain Christopher Pike, of the old Enterprise. Finally, Torias's story ("Infinity" by Susan Wright) has Captain Styles and Cadet Saavik, from Star Trek III.
While I applaud the fact that these aren't just name references but actual characters used, they still feel shoehorned into the stories for name recognition. There's no reason for Saavik to be in "Infinity", as she's never shown any inclination for experimental warp drives. The only one of the above stories where it actually makes sense to include the character is Friedman's, and that suffers from its own blandness.
That's not to say the anthology isn't worth reading. With the above caveat, it actually is quite an entertaining read. The stories are interesting (especially the Curzon story, "The Music Between the Notes," by Steven Barnes) and the framing sequence is really good. Ezri spent the entire final season of the television show very unsure of herself and her role as a joined Trill (she never wanted to be joined, and had no preparation) and her heart-to-hologram talk with Vic Fontaine (the holographic lounge singer) is very well-done. His holographic sentience gives him a unique perspective on her problems, and it's a very good lead-in to the story of Dax through the years. There was even an intriguing use of Verad, the Trill who stole the Dax symbiont from Jadzia for a few hours.
There really isn't a bad story in the bunch, though a couple of the stories suffer from being relatively uninteresting. It's a shame that Friedman's story is one of those, as it had the most potential. Seeing Dax's meeting with McCoy should have been wonderful, but instead it was "ok." The writing was a bit stiff and it didn't really fit into the conceit of Ezri telling a story to Vic. Instead, it was a lesson for McCoy about dealing with interstellar species (this is in his Academy days). Also, it is told from McCoy's point of view, going directly against the concept of the anthology.
I greatly enjoyed The Lives of Dax, and I think it would be a wonderful addition to a Trek book collector's shelf. If you've ever wondered about Dax and her past lives, you owe it to yourself to pick this one up. If you're thinking of starting some of the Trek books, it's a good place to get a sampling of some of the big names in Trek today and to see if they're writing is your cup of tea.
My previous host's memories tell me that you'll like it.
David Roy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mixed Bag, 29 Aug 2011
By 
SJ Simpson "sci-fi nerd/writer" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lives of Dax (Paperback)
This book is a must for Dax fans and provides many enjoyable stories linking the Dax symbiont to the Star Trek universe. That said not all the stories are of equal quality.
I personally enjoyed the storied about Curzon, Lela and Tobin. Each of them is well thought out and touching. I found the stories of Audrid and Torias nice but predicable. However the weak link in the chain is without a doubt Emony's tale of meeting a young Leonard McCoy. Tired, overused romance tropes are flung at the reader leaving little room for any real characterisation.
The Lives of Dax is a good read but don't get your hopes up too high.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lives of Dax (Star Trek: All Series)
The Lives of Dax (Star Trek: All Series) by Marco Palmieri (Mass Market Paperback - 3 Feb 2003)
£6.37
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews