Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It went from good to absolutely brilliant as the book progressed. The worlds and characters are vividly desrcibed and the varying storylines of different characters merge together to form an unputdownable climax. I just wish that there was a sequel but I have searched and have found no evidence of one! The illustrations in this edition are...
Published on 4 Oct 2002 by Faye Robinson

versus
2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars other books
michael reaves the author may also be the author of I,Alien published in 1978 as j. michael reaves.This book is in the amazon market place,for your interest.
Published on 30 Aug 2004 by macka


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 4 Oct 2002
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It went from good to absolutely brilliant as the book progressed. The worlds and characters are vividly desrcibed and the varying storylines of different characters merge together to form an unputdownable climax. I just wish that there was a sequel but I have searched and have found no evidence of one! The illustrations in this edition are wonderful and enrich the "Dragonworld" experience. I loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dragons, reluctant heroes, tree people. What's not to like?, 20 Jan 2013
This review is from: Dragonworld (Paperback)
I read this book over twenty years ago when it was published. As a teenager I loved it. The presentation is excellent with very nice pencil drawings throughout, that complement the story well. This is a story of dragons, reluctant heroes, tree people, princes and the quest for truth and justice. Corny? No, just a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For all those dragon lovers out there this is a must read., October 15, 2001, 11 Sep 2012
This review is from: Dragonworld (Kindle Edition)
Very solid fantasy which rapidly draws the reader into the fully realised world that Preiss and Reaves have created for this wonderful novel about dragons, mystical Pearls, political intrigue, and the attempt at justice for the murders of three children. This novel came highly recommended, and I've a story brewing in my head about dragons and humans. The relationship between these two races has always been of chief interest to me in fantasy literature and one of my chief pleasures from this book was the stately and regal relationship the dragons had with the humans and how myth had obscured the memories and must be reinstated. The political world in this book is crucial in this regard.

The comparison to Tolkien is not unjust, although DRAGONWORLD lies much more closer to THE HOBBIT than THE LORD OF THE RINGS. There simply will never be another LR. We do not get a conflict on the cosmic level here that is the central plot of THE LORD OF THE RINGS. If Frodo fails, the entire world is ensnared in the Darkness of Sauron. If the characters in this novel fail, the cold drakes will prevail. Although this is an assumption, it is a very reasonable one: in as highly detailed a world that Preiss and Reaves create, there most be other societies and cultures present in this particular sphere, and it is hinted at by the one of the characters.

DRAGONWORLD deals with two nations plunged in war when their efforts should be concentrated upon their common foe. The authors guide the reader through these predominant terrains: the farmlands and villages of Fandora, the forests and battlefields of Simbala, and the cold land of the Drakes and their lairs. There also is a good scene of the crossing of the Fandoran troops over the Strait of Balomar, a very dangerous episode where one of the characters get to show their metal and grow in character development.

One of Preiss's and Reave's greatest strengths are creating fully developed characters who, without fail, draw you into the book. Another great facet about this book is there are really no true villains in the work. The worst character is Mesor, who cares only about his personal ambition thru Evirae. Evirae, the best candidate for the central villain, comes off as a foolish young woman who comes across not really as wholly evil but as wholly childish. Her ambition for ruling prevents her from being fully human, and generally the reader does not conceptualise her as formidable evil but a spoiled brat who's playing with a very real, hot fire who needs punished. The Darkling, the chief of the coldrakes, is not truly a villain, for in his mind he is acting in his races' best interest. Your sympathies are stretched to what would be a breaking point in writers who were unable to maintain the realism these characters demand, but Preiss and Reave's pull it off beautifully.

Another great element in this book is how each side most come to terms with people on their own side. Throughout the book, Fandorans are at conflict with Fandorans, and Simbalese in conflict with Simbalese. This book deals with a big pet peeve of mine. Because Amsel has a scientific mind and he can do things which are seemingly at odds with the natural world yet in actuality is only taking advantage of the natural laws, the Fandorans call him a sorcerer and a Simbalese spy. This is partially Amsel's fault for isolating himself, and his character is being developed in this fashion throughout the novel. Those who react in ignorance and do not listen can cause much harm, as this novel aptly illustrates.

The political complexities and the ingenuity stands in sharp contrast with the simple way of life of the Fandorans, and both have much to offer to one another. Preiss's and Reave's usage of the political world in this book is crucial as it supplies much of the tension in the book from the Simbalese end. Hawkwind, the Monarch of Simbala, most constantly deal with the fact that he was a miner who defeated the Kuln* and that he is a commoner who has risen to power by Ephirion's hand, the former monarch. Much of the novel is Hawkwind trying to manage the war effort as well as dealing with these attempted overthrows, and with the help of Ceria, his lover and a Rayan (who is also looked down upon by the Royal Family in particular and Simbala in general), he makes a fascinating monarch indeed, and a fully competent one at that. Because of their skills as writers, Preiss and Reaves have you cheering and hoping and then turning those hopes on their ear and bringing you into another character's situation and hoping they will make it through safe.

As for my own favorite scene, there is a beautiful commentary on art where the soldiers of Fandora must use iron sculptures for weapons. The owner does not want to allow the soldiers to take them. I won't spoil the scene for you. It's a wonderful comment on art and the power and beauty it holds.

Another favorite scene of mine is the voting process in which the Royal Family must decide on how they will react to the invasion of the Fandoran Troops. Great scene, so watch out for it.

As for the ending, it is rather good and keeps you turning the page and the book ends setting up the sequel, which, as far as I know, Preiss and Reaves have not delivered. Le Guin has just this year published an anthology of novellas about Earth-sea (TALES FROM EARTH-SEA) and a new novel (THE OTHER WIND) in that particular series, so never rule out the possibility of letting these excellent writers revealing more of this world to us in the future.

*Kuln: Cave demons that are sadly unexploited, as they sound very interesting and could have made for wonderful characters as villains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What is it about ?, 2 July 2009
By 
M. Toole "bookworm" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
hi, i am a potentail buyer of this book, and seeing as there is no product information about what this book is about i would appreciate if some one could post a comment, thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars other books, 30 Aug 2004
This review is from: Dragonworld (Paperback)
michael reaves the author may also be the author of I,Alien published in 1978 as j. michael reaves.This book is in the amazon market place,for your interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac20e6cc)

This product

Dragonworld
Dragonworld by Michael Reaves (Mass Market Paperback - 16 Sep 2002)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews