Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Honest History
Very good account of a war that "shaped the middle east", it has given more realistic account of what happened. My problem with it is the fact that it's full of Israeli sources and quotes and little from the Arab side, that is understandable because of the totalitarian Arab regimes that still rules, and many of them don't want the truth to get out.

In the book,...
Published on 7 Sep 2011 by J. Awad

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I was there
I read the book with interest as I participated in the war, serving in a tank batallion (Centurions) in an armoured brigade. I was in the central division that crossed the 'impassable' dunes to Bir Lachfan, and continued to Bir El Hasene and eventually to Bir Tmadeh. I also passed through the Gaza Strip a couple of days after it was captured. The book was fairly accurate...
Published 17 months ago by Laird


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Honest History, 7 Sep 2011
By 
J. Awad (Guildford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Six Days: How the 1967 War Shaped the Middle East (Paperback)
Very good account of a war that "shaped the middle east", it has given more realistic account of what happened. My problem with it is the fact that it's full of Israeli sources and quotes and little from the Arab side, that is understandable because of the totalitarian Arab regimes that still rules, and many of them don't want the truth to get out.

In the book, there are many personal accounts of the war from different soldiers and commanders rather than a more general picture. That makes it easy to read for the easily distractable reader, but makes it loose the historical aspect and gives more of a biography one.

Over all, this is the best it will get in the history of the Six Days war, and it's much less biased than the ones written by Israelis or their sympathizers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I was there, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read the book with interest as I participated in the war, serving in a tank batallion (Centurions) in an armoured brigade. I was in the central division that crossed the 'impassable' dunes to Bir Lachfan, and continued to Bir El Hasene and eventually to Bir Tmadeh. I also passed through the Gaza Strip a couple of days after it was captured. The book was fairly accurate as a historical record, but I cannot accept the accounts of the widespread murder and killing which the author describes. The Israeli army at that time prided itself on morality and ethics. I saw plenty of Egyptian prisoners rounded up who were well treated. I did witness one incident where Egyptians who were scattered in the desert behind the lines and were without water or food, ambushed the vehicle in front of mine. They killed the driver and an officer. At that moment a more senior officer arrived on the scene accompanied by two armoured personnel carriers. They quickly rounded up the group of about a dozen Egyptians who had carried out the ambush and killing, and they were summarily shot at the roadside. I expect other incidents did take place, but generally what I saw was good acceptable treatment of prisoners. I think perhaps the author had been fed 'incident' stories which were unverifiable and he has over stated what actually took place.
Altogether the book is very readable and recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well written, 25 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i did not know that much about the six day war and the events leading up to it but this gives you everything you need to fully understand what went on. a very interesting book written by someone who knows what they are writing about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 26 Jan 2014
By 
S Butterfield "thrasher666" (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought this was a very well written book. Very informative. Could have concentrated more on the actual battles rather than the refugees but I suppose that is a consequence of war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Balanced, neutral and well-researched, 18 May 2010
This review is from: Six Days: How the 1967 War Shaped the Middle East (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and learnt more about the Arab fiasco in this war which Israel was well prepared to engage in and win whilst the Arabs were only hot air and no real action. Indeed the Arabs were dreaming about throwing the Jews in the sea but Nasser and the other Arab leaders hoped that a scenario similar to 1956 with UN or superpower intervention will be repeated giving them political victory although they knew very well that Israel was destined to crush the Arab armies combined.

The war was a propaganda war on the Arab side and a blitz to establish secure borders and a land grab on the Israeli side. I was 9 years old at the time and I do remember listening on the first day (5 June 1967) to Ahmed Said's continuous lies on the radio from Cairo about downing hundreds of Israeli planes. The war was a master strike for the Israeli military and political leadership. It was the culmination of many years of preparation. It was a win of the defiant Sabra determination against the European Jew in a ghetto mentality. It was the anti-climax of the Holocaust.

Israel deserved to win and rightly so as it used the belligerent illegal closure by a pompous Nasser of the Aqaba straits to carry out its pre-emptive surgical strike. The war created a political nightmare in the long term. Had it not been for 1967 there would not have been a 1973. Israel learnt the hard way that a military victory does not bring peace. The same mistakes were repeated in Lebanon. A political solution did the trick with Egypt which has endured for 30 years.

Jeremy was very successful in analysing what he described as the Syrian syndrome. He was very balanced in arguing the case for peace in his concluding chapter. The aftermath of the 1967 war is with us today. Unless an acceptable solution is found, Israel will not enjoy security or peace. The same is even more true for the Arabs.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite a balanced view, 15 Jan 2013
By 
P. Abbs (Waltham Abbey, Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think Mr Bowen has tried and succeeded in giving a quite balanced view on this very complicated subject. The ramifications of which continue to this day and will continue for at least several generations yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Six Days, 7 April 2005
By 
Oli (Andover, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Six Days: How the 1967 War Shaped the Middle East (Paperback)
I have for some time been trying to appreciate the mess (that's how I see it) that Israel and Palestine are currently embroiled in. This book, expertly written and very well researched, goes a long way to explaining current events in the Middle East. Despite the title, the book goes further than just the war of 1967, but explains how the state of Israel has developed from 1948 through to 2003. It also covers events in Syria, Jordan, Egypt and the United States, not just Israel. Thoroughly recommended for those interested in current affairs, and essential for those interested in the Middle East.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accurate and Concise, 7 Feb 2007
This review is from: Six Days: How the 1967 War Shaped the Middle East (Paperback)
This book manages very well to maintain a neutral perspective while describing in some depth the events of the Six Day War. Full of first-hand events and photographs, and recorded simply but creatively by Bowen, this book is useful if you are studying the War or simply if it interests you and you want a complete summary of events.

Contary to some comments disputing the book's neutrality, Bowen in fact manages to portray both sides of the story incredibly fairly. In fact, I began reading the book with a mild prejudice against the Israelis but by the end I realised how much underlying complexity there was to the situation, and how no single person or side can be to blame for what went on.

Bowen does expose the war crimes of the victors: such events can only be expected in war (see Iraq today) and this is not a cheap-shot at the Israelis. Doubtless if the Arabs had won there would have also been some mistreatment of prisoners. Anyway, no need to get into a debate. This book is simple, very accurate and interesting to read - plus Bowen gives us a moving conclusion about the fate of the Middle East, and today's circumstances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A History which must be read, 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A must for any one trying to understand the conflict in the Middle East. The views and actions from all sides and their belief in their actions and the impact on global peace is outstanding.B Fr.ench
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book but..., 21 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Six Days: How the 1967 War Shaped the Middle East (Paperback)
I really enjoyed the book. All the part about the war is very objective and accurate. Also, it's very easy to read, almost like reading a novel. But, I think that you need to know about the Israeli-Palestinian conflict before reading this book. The pre-war, conclusions and consequences chapters could mislead the reader. I don't disagree with them, but I don't think they are shown in a proper context.
If you want to start learning about the problems/wars in the Middle East, don't buy this book. If you already have some knowledge about this subject, then I'm sure you will enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Six Days: How the 1967 War Shaped the Middle East
Six Days: How the 1967 War Shaped the Middle East by Jeremy Bowen (Paperback - 2 Aug 2004)
6.62
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews