Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars8
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£15.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 March 2005
This is a very well written book by a highly successful geisha of the 1960's and 70's Japan. Hated and envied by her older geisha sister, adored by her adoptive geisha family, she went on to be Japan's most succesful geisha and retired early at the tender age of 29 to run a tea shop. Now suing Arthur Golden for breaking his vow of not naming her as his source for his acclaimed novel "Memoirs of a Geisha" as it was unheard of for a geisha to break the vow of silence on their lives. The book may not have the excitement and the attention of Golden's novel but at least it's a true story itself and well written enough to get the reader's interest. Worth buying in my opinion and a warning to everyone: it has a different title by a British publisher, "Geisha of Gion" as I made the mistake of buying it, only to realise it was the same book but under a different heading.
11 comment|51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2006
Geisha, A Life, by Mineko Iwasaki

I bought this book some time ago but only just got round to reading it. Western ideas of the Geisha are based largely on Arthur Golden's novel, Memoirs of a Geisha and, although his depiction has to a great extent been exposed as fanciful (he was successfully sued for defamation when it was released in Japan), there is little available to give a clearer picture of this secret world.

As I started reading Iwasaki, I had some scepticism - ok, as the number one Geisha maybe the elements involving prostitution didn't happen to her personally and so on - but as I read on I realised that Golden's fiction was based on Western fantasies and simply given a feeling of 'authenticity' by adding less important details he had gleaned from interviews. Iwasaki clarifies the background to show how various historical events and mistranslations easily support what westerners wanted to believe, but it is the sincerity, uniqueness and sheer marvel

of her life as a Geisha that evokes conviction and a sense of the marvellous.

On one of my trips to Japan years ago, I once encountered a Geisha in a hotel lobby. I didn't speak to her directly - simply viewed her from some feet away. But the atmosphere was as if royalty, an A-list Hollywood star, or someone like the Dalai Lama had just walked in. The charisma, for want of a better word, was so powerful it felt like a physical force that pushed me back against the wall. Everyone in the vicinity was in respectful awe of her personage as she passed through. The Geisha is a 'study of perfection' to use Iwasaki's words, and that is the impression I got. When I read Golden, I had to jump through mental hoops to make any connection with the people he was describing, even if conditions had changed drastically.

Iwasaki's account was more recognisable. It is an autobiography, not a novel, but the uniqueness of her type of life carries the reader away into a spellbound world. As a Geisha, she epitomised the highest ideals of Japanese art, both in her knowledge and in her practice, but furthermore she herself was dedicated as a living example of the ideal, much the way a monk or a senior military person dedicates themself to a particular way of life. This took an exacting toll on her, especially the levels of politeness expected of her when jealous rivals were rude (or in one case put out a cigarette in her palm - she later learnt how

to charm her enemies), or the physical demands of formal dance

performances which she was expected to do within the honour system.

Some of the book is hilarious, especially her meetings with Prince Charles and the Queen and her views on them. She lived in a world of vast wealth, much of which she gave away, but was unhappy that, although the geishas had great control over their personal lives, the choices they made, and whether they wanted to work as geisha, they had little independence in the sense that their education in non-relevant disciplines was limited and this gave them less preparedness if they wished to leave the profession. Eventually she retired, at the height of her fame, and many geishas followed her.

Geisha, A Life, is a fascinating account of a very unusual life, of strong feminist principles, of insight into the (relatively) closed world of Japanese art, etiquette and diplomacy; and most of all it portrays what it takes to be one of the highly skilled, highly disciplined and increasingly rare devotees of the world we distantly glimpse and call Geisha. Golden is a remarkable (if morally questionable) bestselling author - his book leaves you with a feeling of perverse titillation perhaps. Iwasaka, on the other hand, is a skilful writer that creates a moving tapestry in a remarkable tale of courage and fortitude.

Her book is an inspiration.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2011
I felt that this book was very honest, but at the same time sensitive and in some ways surprisingly relate-able. The author talks about the glamorous side of being a Geisha as well as the downside. You feel that you have a real sense of what it's like to step into her shoes. A large part of the book focuses on exploring the unusual family she was born into which is in itself very interesting. I recommend this book to any one who is interested in the Geisha world.

Jennifer K. Lafferty
Author of Offbeat Love Stories and More
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2016
Completely absorbing and amazing book. I initially read Memoirs of a Geisha then picked up this book as I read about the controversy behind MOAG and wanted to know the real story. Infinitely more interesting than the fabricated Memoirs of a Geisha.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2011
what a brilliant book, the story was well worth reading. I loved it. I both creid and laughed. I dont often re read many books, but I will this one sometime in the future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2014
Very good book. Really tells you the true side to the geisha life. And the seller was great, delivered within the despatch time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2015
A very good read, describes Geisha life very well
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2012
I got the product in a week and it was in quite good condition.I'm glad I bought it!
I've saved about ten punds just on a book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)