Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buy it!
What a great book it looks at everything from every class of stars and planets to the route of the Enterprise NX-01 and the USS Voyager. Even though it may not be for everyone it is defiantly for people who like star trek and even people who like space and it looks at Planets and Stars.
The only bad point, not really a bad point, more a idea is that like they did...
Published on 29 Oct 2002 by sci-fi85

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but can be better
Overall this book is great as it finally allows us to know the actual locations of the planets seen in the Star Trek series (except for the later seasons of Enterprise), plotted among the "real" stars of the galaxy. The explanation on the quadrants and sectors are top class.

But as a Star Trek fan I feel let down by a few aspects. The choice of large and...
Published on 21 Mar 2007 by Whiger


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buy it!, 29 Oct 2002
This review is from: Star Trek Star Charts (Paperback)
What a great book it looks at everything from every class of stars and planets to the route of the Enterprise NX-01 and the USS Voyager. Even though it may not be for everyone it is defiantly for people who like star trek and even people who like space and it looks at Planets and Stars.
The only bad point, not really a bad point, more a idea is that like they did with Nx-01 and Voyager they should have done for at least Enterprise-D and Enterprise-E, with routs of the ship.
(Everything is in colour in this book)
Thanx
Jay:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plot a course...., 1 Jun 2003
This review is from: Star Trek Star Charts (Paperback)
This book has got to be in the same league as Star Trek Encyclopedia. It is not the sort of book where you could read it for hours, it more a reference book you use when you are curious about a planet heard in the Star Trek Series's. Its remarkably ilustrated with a diagram showing the route of the Bajoran wormhole, the extent of Borg Space, and the area of space held not only by the major Alpha Quadrant Powers but also those encoutered by Voyager in the Delta Quadrant. Only thing that got me was that a lot of the areas of space mentioned in the Star Trek books was not included. I think that this could have been done, particularly like those area covered by New Frontier in Thallonian Space, and mayby a few areas of planets beyond the Great Barrier as covered by Star Trek Valiant.
Overally it is a great book. Wonderfull illustrated, showing ship courses and also details on major planets and species.
Suddenly the rest of the galaxy dosent seem so distant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just plain great., 4 Sep 2005
This review is from: Star Trek Star Charts (Paperback)
This book is another must have for any really serious trekky.
I absoulutely loved this book. It describes all of the planetary classes, shows a number of major star systems in detail, explains the star trek mapping system, and most importantly, it had large page spreads with detailed star charts. They show all of the star systems, named, and their positions in space. It goes on (at least in the edition I have) to include a historical spacial layout and icludes Enterprises first year's course.
Although I found that the details were not exactly consistant with my other trek books, or details from the show, and it also lacks details in non federation space, I still found it really interesting and informative. It is a absolute must have and at only 10, it is well worth having as part of your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 1 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Trek Star Charts (Paperback)
A great book. Beuatifily illistated, updated up to all the infomation up to the first season of enterprise. I recomend this to star trek fans and the like, but others many not be so intersed. The planetry clasification is exelecently done out. The infomation on the worlds themselves is interesting and the maps give you an idea of just how small the other empires are compared to the Fedoration. It also shows just how much of the galaxy in the star trek is still unexplored. A very intersting book. But dont buy it if your looking for a long reed, its more of a flick-through type of book that you can look at and be intersted in but its more pictures than text
(Disclaimer for spelling errors, pobody's nerfect!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must have..., 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Star Charts (Paperback)
for any "real" Trekkie! Incredible detail, amazing diagrams, this has it all and more!
Provides a very good background for most any Star Trek story...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read for trek fans !!!, 14 Nov 2011
This review is from: Star Trek Star Charts (Paperback)
What a great book every page is great to look at . Star trek fans would well happy with this book one of the best I've seen .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A star trek fans bible, 8 May 2009
By 
C. Woodhead "The impossible could not have ha... (Stafforshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Trek Star Charts (Paperback)
I am not a trekkie, I enjoy star trek but some of the locations, names and journeys (especially in Star trek voyager) sometimes confuses me. However this book remedies this, for all us non trekers (and trekkers alike) it gives a essential guide to fully understanding the stories and places that are visited. It also actually has some real physics in this (so in a way you are learning physics while you enjoy a facinating book).

So if the location of vulcan the ferengi allience, Romulan neutral zone, klingon empire, Caretakers array,deep space nine, bajoran wormhole etc are puzzling you, or you just want to look at a superbly detailed and entertaining book buy it, I definitely found it worth it

I recommend this book especially for people who have not watched much star trek as it allows you to understand the Trek universe so much better.

P.S: Be warned the locations of all of season 3 & 4 of Enterprise were aired after this book was made so if you are looking for the expanse or the xindi homeworld this book will not have it in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek Star Charts, 16 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Star Trek Star Charts (Paperback)
This is a fantastic book of the Star Trek Universe. It has all I need to Know about the planet profiles of the Star Trek Universe. Color through out with very good artwork inside. I very,very Good buy. I highly recomend this book if you are a Star Trek Fan. It will give you planned discriptions of the four quadrants with the main powers like the Klingon Home world, The Borg Collective, Romulan, Vulcan & Dominion powers...Etc.Etc. A True Star Trek Atlas out of this world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but can be better, 21 Mar 2007
By 
Whiger (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Star Trek Star Charts (Paperback)
Overall this book is great as it finally allows us to know the actual locations of the planets seen in the Star Trek series (except for the later seasons of Enterprise), plotted among the "real" stars of the galaxy. The explanation on the quadrants and sectors are top class.

But as a Star Trek fan I feel let down by a few aspects. The choice of large and inconsistent fonts makes this book a little too childish instead of having the more serious look of an atlas or real-life star charts. The facts presented on individual planets and star systems seem sparse and one can read all of them in a day. A whole lot more facts can be included to make this a better reference material.

As for the star charts themselves, they are well researched and neatly presented. The author, of course, has free reign on where to place the planets in the galaxy. While I am very happy that the author had incorporated the fan-invented Vulcan planet names of T'Khut and T'Khasi and the locations of Vulcan at 40 Eridani A, the same cannot be said for another fan favourite, Andor, which is placed at Procyon instead of Epsilon Indi. The Federation charts also concentrate at the area around Earth, and do not cover the faraway Federation worlds at Deneb and Antares.

The sizes of the various empires are also a bit inconsistent. Romulan space is too small while the other smaller races have sizable swaths. I know this is down to the author's personal taste, but the apparent strength of the races seen on televison should be considered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 17 Dec 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Star Charts (Paperback)
This is by far the most interesting Sci-fi book I own. Star trek is so full of contradictions, my hat goes off to this brave man who has pulled many of the aspects together!
My only complaint is that this book was very absorbing, and I was left annoyed that it didn't come in PADD form
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Trek Star Charts
Star Trek Star Charts by Geoffrey Mandel (Paperback - 4 Nov 2002)
Used & New from: 20.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews