Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive guide to starships. Period.
Everything you ever wanted to know about starships from accross the Star Trek galaxy, from the D'Deridex-class Romulan Warbird to the Sovereign-class Federation starship, this book has vital statistics such as weapons loadouts, shield strengths and types, the speed ratings, a short history, in some cases manufacturing notes and even the model of computer core it has...
Published on 26 Jun. 2003 by Enigma

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed - much better resources available online
Given the generally positive reviews for this book I have to say I've been very disappointed with it and wouldn't recommend it at all, there's far better resources online.

So first off, what do you actually get? The book contains a good variety of ships which have four pages each - this is broken down into one page of 'waffle' with a description of the ship...
Published on 12 April 2008 by Johnmcl7


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed - much better resources available online, 12 April 2008
By 
Johnmcl7 "John" (Inverness, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starship Spotter (Star Trek) (Paperback)
Given the generally positive reviews for this book I have to say I've been very disappointed with it and wouldn't recommend it at all, there's far better resources online.

So first off, what do you actually get? The book contains a good variety of ships which have four pages each - this is broken down into one page of 'waffle' with a description of the ship and its purpose, a half page showing a wireframe model of the CG ship (not a more useful cutaway), the stats for the ship (which are not always correct) and then a large two page picture of the ship itself.

The 'waffle' as I've called it is just that as there's no meaningful insight into the ship at all, a simple example is the aeroshuttle from Voyager. This is a small Captain's Yacht which you can see the outline for on the underside of Voyager similar to the one seen for the Enterprise-E in Insurrection. In the series it's never seen nor mentioned with the most common fan speculation for this being that Voyager was pushed out the door in a hurry and this part was not added. This book references the aero shuttle but doesn't actually mention why we never see this. Similarly for the other ships I didn't find any of this information of any interest whatsoever.

The CG wireframe model is too small and rather badly aliased making it difficult to make out any of the detail, I don't really see the point in it as it doesn't show any of the fictional ship's inner structure as it should.

The stats for the 'known' ships have various errors in that they are different to what was claimed in the actual TV series and onscreen evidence of the ships themselves and for some of the alien vessels where we have no idea of this information, it's all left blank as either unknown or classified making this aspect not much use either.

Finally there's the two page view of the starship which to be honest was the main reason I bought this book I was hoping to see some new views of the ships. It certainly shows some different pictures but they're generally very dark and not always taken from a great angle. The picture of the Akira is a rarer shot from the rear of one of the nacelles but the saucer section is fairly dark which means you can't see any of the potentially interesting detail in the rear shuttle bays or similar. Just one picture is rather frustrating as well, I would have much rather had a series of pictures which highlighted the various aspects of the ship.

Now you might be reading through this and thinking I'm nitpicking somewhat however I think this book is obviously for the more 'geeky' of the Star Trek viewers. Fan sites such as ex-astris Scientifica provide far more detailed and accurate information.

So why did I buy this book then? Well I have to admit I do like having some items printed on paper for a change rather than all on screen and I've really enjoyed some of the Star Trek material such as the enclyopedia which has a wealth of useful information readily available.

I don't like rating items low as I'd like to think I've given something sufficient research before hand that I'll enjoy it but I honestly feel let down by this book especially for the price and hope I've justified that rating reasonably well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive guide to starships. Period., 26 Jun. 2003
By 
Enigma "Enigma-85" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Starship Spotter (Star Trek) (Paperback)
Everything you ever wanted to know about starships from accross the Star Trek galaxy, from the D'Deridex-class Romulan Warbird to the Sovereign-class Federation starship, this book has vital statistics such as weapons loadouts, shield strengths and types, the speed ratings, a short history, in some cases manufacturing notes and even the model of computer core it has.
THere is a simple rule in my head nowadays - if you want to know anything about a particular starship, or just want to state at a VERY detailed, crystal clear, high-res photo of a starship, this is the book for you. No Trek fan should go without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive guide to starships. Period., 19 May 2003
By 
Enigma "Enigma-85" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Starship Spotter (Star Trek) (Paperback)
Those of us who watch Star Trek and feel more drawn to the ships and their technology than the characters who crew them may crave a book dedicated to those ships, with information, images and backgrounds to each of the famous starship classes.
I found one, it's called Starship Spotter. Inside are four pages for every major class of starship ever seen - from the Akira class right through to the D'Deridex warbird and even Species 8472 bioships - which include two-page high-detail, colour images, and two pages of raw info (and a small wireframe diagram). Within these pages you will find information on their weapons systems, their defensive shields, their computer systems, warp speed ratings, crew compliments, mass, dimensions and every other piece of information you could ever want to know. You'll also find background information (such as the design process and ship's mission), and what appearences the ship has made onscreen.
This book might be small, but it contains everything you ever wanted to know about starships, and even has pretty pictures for us to drool over. 5 out of 5, and a must-have for Trek fans everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Must have trek book., 4 Sept. 2005
This review is from: Starship Spotter (Star Trek) (Paperback)
This book is just great.
It has 4 pages on each ship featured. It includes a historical and design background, a spaceframe image, technical specifications followed by a high resolution image of each and every ship. All of the written details are really interesting for any hardcore trekkie, as are the technical specifications. The images are fantastic in their detail. All of the major starfleet vessels are included, and many alien vessels as well.
The down sides however are that there are few technical specs for the non-federation ships (apparently due to the "federation" origin of the book and the classified secrets of the vessels) but this is easy to overcome. Another downside is that a number of the high res pictures are unfortunately at perculiar angles, showing a few of the ships from pretty useless viewpoints. Also, it is a slightly dated book that does not include the new nemisis warbirds, nor anything from the Enterprise series.
Even after these downsides, I must still say that this book is brilliant and well worth having as part of any tekkies collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Starship Spotters - Where's the building instructions?, 14 Dec. 2002
This review is from: Starship Spotter (Star Trek) (Paperback)
This book is a wonder to behold. The Star Trek books, episodes etc are great but this book has a special quality to it. Fantastic illustrations and details about the starships make them so real and tangible, i almost wanted to build them.
From Borg Diamonds to Romulan Warbirds. This book has got the lot.
I cant wait for the next edition to come out, so it will include the new style of Romulan Warbirds coming out in the new Star Trek Nemesis film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Some nice images, but layout could be better, 25 Aug. 2013
By 
Mike Renshaw (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starship Spotter (Star Trek) (Paperback)
This is a comprehensive book that lists most Starfleet vessels, as well as some from other races.

The format is a full page of data, with wireframe image and then a two page full colour spread of the ship in question. The problem for me is that the book spreads the colour pictures over the pages and this spoils the effect - I would have prefered these to be on single pages but that might just be me.

Not sure how accurate some of the information in here is (I spotted a couple of basic errors), but it's certainly detailed enough and covers at least to the end of the Voyager TV show, including Species 8742, and the Borg as well as stock races such as the Klingons and Romulans. As mentioned, the Federation is well represented as you may expect and even has worker bees and experimental craft listed.

It's okay, but most of the stuff you could get on the web - where it excels is in the (computer generated?) pictures that are unique and do look really good.

It's really one for fans, as it's expensive for what it is, but I liked it. However after a first read though I'm not sure how much I'll go back to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Star Ship Spotter, 24 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Starship Spotter (Star Trek) (Paperback)
Good fun, but as a honorary trekker (area of interest the social impact of Star Trek on Popular Culture) it misses some of the major designs featured in nearly all the series and movies - which are main cannon - most noticeably the Excelsior Class I & II (never said I wasn't a geek) which is a shame. I'd be interested to know the source material it's used. Much of the details of Warp/Transwarp speeds are based on Voyager. A show that contradicted its own rule book. In one episode Warp 10 was ultimate velocity that mutated human DNA, but in another - featuring Dinosaurs from Earth's ancient history - the Warp barrier wasn't only tacked but surpassed. With more intense speed f/x to underscore this. And none of those taken aboard who travelled with them showed any noticeable physiological arbitration. Just saying, and I can't recommend it as a writers guide or reference material as such.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not as big as I thought it would be...., 24 Feb. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starship Spotter (Star Trek) (Paperback)
This book is an interesting guide to some of the more well-known Star Trek ships from the original series up to Voyager. The book is informative with a brief history and guide to each ship in question, alongwith a wire-frame diagram and double-page CG rendering. However, the book wasn't as big as I thought it would be, it would be even better if it was A4 size and had covered more of a variety of ships - but then you can't have everything!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A new copy!, 1 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starship Spotter (Star Trek) (Paperback)
Due to an accident with a mug of tea this excellent little book was ruined. I decided to purchase a replacement copy.
Although published some time ago I would like to see an up-dated version which would include the Excelsior and Ambassador Class Starships which were omitted for some reason. In addition, Captain Archer's Enterprise could be included as well.
Over to you "MOJO"!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spotted in Spacedock, 4 July 2012
By 
Philip Wilson "Kenn-Belfast" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starship Spotter (Star Trek) (Paperback)
An absolutely excellent book.
An amazing collection of oddball information about a wonderful assortment of vessels,
most of which are usually only glimpsed in the background at Spacedock or DS.9

For a evening of relaxation,
or one filled with daydreams - 'I Wish I could get one of those ships to fit into the office car park.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Starship Spotter (Star Trek)
Starship Spotter (Star Trek) by Robert Bonchune (Paperback - 19 Nov. 2001)
Used & New from: £4.25
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews