Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nothing original but still a well written page turner
Lone survivor of Secret Service team hunts down the kidnappers who have got away with the US President while he himself is framed and hunted....
Quite like a Ludlum book this, and I did keep thinking that there were many elements of the story that I have read elsewhere, but having said that..
This is a very well told action thriller and while it is not overly...
Published on 20 July 2004 by Nick Brett

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good,but can get better.
Nice book from Brad Thor.Especially considering it's his first Scott Harvath book.It has an interesting plot although probably too long for a novel of this type.The story goes a bit slowly from the begining until about 80% of the book and then it just gets off brutally fast towards the end.In my opinion,being this his first novel he probably was still getting the hang of...
Published on 2 Feb 2011 by FireBladed


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nothing original but still a well written page turner, 20 July 2004
By 
Nick Brett (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath 1) (Mass Market Paperback)
Lone survivor of Secret Service team hunts down the kidnappers who have got away with the US President while he himself is framed and hunted....
Quite like a Ludlum book this, and I did keep thinking that there were many elements of the story that I have read elsewhere, but having said that..
This is a very well told action thriller and while it is not overly original in concept, it is delivered very well, has a good pace to it and it is action packed.
Brad Thor will be a name to watch out for I suspect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suffocating Tension Brilliant Read, 25 Aug 2006
By 
D. Newstead (Middlesex UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath 1) (Mass Market Paperback)
Ok whilst Matthew Reilly has the edge on excitement this guy hits you square on with the tension from chapter one. This is Thor's greatest novel and his first novel. The hero is cross between James Bond, Indianna Jones and John McLane. With an early chapter starting with the kidnapping of the presidents daughter with amazing ski-sets and shoot outs that wipe out near enough every special force commando but one this book really makes you chilly, the scenes running upto the end are so breathtaking that you feel that any minute you are going to fall off a mountain yourself. This is just amazing writing and anyone who loved the movie of the Eiger Sanction on the edge of the mountain should snap this up. Jack Ryan EAT YOUR HEART OUT.

If you liked this then get Takedown too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new hero is born !, 15 April 2012
By 
Mr. G. Harrison (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you like Vince Flnn or Lee Child I think you will like this series too.
Yes Scot Harvarth is too good to be true but thats why it is fiction. I have read them all now and thoroughly recommend them.
It is action all the way and I dont want to put the books down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book - must read, 26 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of brad thors first book! Its very well read, well paced and full of action. When the president gets kidnapped its upto ex seal team six turned secret service agent scott to save the day and find the president no matter the cost. I would defiantly recommend buying this book (i brought it twice!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Looking forward to the next one!, 3 Mar 2011
Yes, ok, the plot may be a bit far fetched but this is fiction - the bottom line is that I was thoroughly entertained and didn't want to put my Kindle down to go to bed.
The 'scene setting' is done very well and I got a good sense of the snowy cold environment - I could imagine being on the mountain or in the Swiss villages. I also really enjoyed the European context which I found to be a good counter balance to the strong American-ness another reviewer correctly mentioned.
I think that there is a lot of room to develop Scot Harvath's character as this book focused mainly on his near super-human features with some lapses in self-control thown in, but this seems to be fairly common in authors' first books.
I'm looking forward to reading the next in the series...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping from beginning to end, 14 Oct 2006
By 
Wendy Jones "wjones7423" (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath 1) (Mass Market Paperback)
Brad Thor is a name to be reckoned with in the genre of political thrillers and this book lives up to expectations. Secret Service Agent Scott Harvarth finds himself in more than enough trouble when the President of the United States is kidnapped, and from there the plot moves along thick and fast. I found myself reading long after I should have put the book down and finished it in record time. I would recommend anyone to buy this, or any other Brad Thor book as you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good,but can get better., 2 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath 1) (Mass Market Paperback)
Nice book from Brad Thor.Especially considering it's his first Scott Harvath book.It has an interesting plot although probably too long for a novel of this type.The story goes a bit slowly from the begining until about 80% of the book and then it just gets off brutally fast towards the end.In my opinion,being this his first novel he probably was still getting the hang of it.The book is,however,very well written and makes you wanting to read more from the author.The plot centers around the kidnapping of the U.S. president and the desperate journey of a Secret Service operative,called Scott Harvath,to save him.Alongside,the reader finds out that the kidnappers are not who they seem to be and he has to solve the problem by his own hands,since he has been framed by his own superiors.
Some people (like I did) might find out that this book is a bit "American Oriented".Unlike other authors from the U.S.A. who like to dwelve into issues from all around the world, this one pratically screams "american patriotism rules".Most of the events in the book make it clear that the U.S. makes wondrous things with its army and agencies and of course everyone would give their life to save the president as if he was his son.
It IS NOT a flaw,is is just an atribute.I personally like Daniel Silva's approach a lot better,a lot...and he is also American.
Scott Harvath is a nice character but he still is not quite a very interesting one such as Daniel Silva's Gabriel Allon,Agatha Christie's Poirot or even Dan Brown's Robert Langdon.I hope he gets better because he has potential.
Nevertheless Brad Thor showed he has talent as a novelist and although I haven't read his other books yet,he enjoys success even around here in Western Europe,so I guess he gets even better.
It is a nice first novel and a writer who one would like to invest his/her time (and money).
For me,this book would make an easy 12/20.
If you are an American this can go 15/20.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast, fun and escapist!, 5 Jun 2014
I enjoyed the 'boys own adventure' feel of the story. Rather escapist but with a great level of engagement. I bought the next book as a result of enjoying this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book,I took a while to finish it but it was worth the time,good story well put together and a good ending which makes you want to read more by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 4 Mar 2014
Thrilling and complicated plot;real page turner' this is the second book I have read from Brad Thor and can't wait to start the next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath 1)
The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath 1) by Brad Thor (Mass Market Paperback - 22 April 2003)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews