Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly sensational read!!
I must admit that I am only half way through this book and it has turned me into a believer! I have always been cautious to read any books written by American scientists whose intention is to investigate the survival of consiousness, but Gary E Scwartz is a whole different ball game!

This book is very clearly written and easy to understand, his scientific...
Published on 18 Dec 2007 by Mr. D. Child

versus
40 of 52 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing reading
Having read hundreds of books on the subject of mediumship and attended numerous seances over the years I was attracted to buy Gary Schwartz's book because of the impressive words "Scientific Evidence" in the title.
The first few chapters gave good ground work hopefully leading to the promised evidence further on in the book. The scientific protocols used were...
Published on 20 Oct 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly sensational read!!, 18 Dec 2007
By 
Mr. D. Child "Dion" (England, Huddersfield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Afterlife Experiments: Breakthrough Scientific Evidence of Life After Death (Paperback)
I must admit that I am only half way through this book and it has turned me into a believer! I have always been cautious to read any books written by American scientists whose intention is to investigate the survival of consiousness, but Gary E Scwartz is a whole different ball game!

This book is very clearly written and easy to understand, his scientific investigations with the mediums are extremely professional and it is good that he constantly questions whether what he is seeing and hearing with his own senses is real. Never for a moment does he suggest that what he is investigating is real - he always remains firmly open minded, but largely more skeptical. He never forgets that he is a scientist whilst writing this book and it's great to know that someone so intelligent and cynical as himself, is looking into the notion of survival of consiousness with an open and scientific mind!

The book has many revelations and it is extremely thought-provoking. It's good that science is pondering the existence of consciousness after death and this book only confirms that this may in fact be a possibility! He has made a believer out of me! And I was once an ardent skeptic!
Dion, Leeds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scientific after-life experiments, 6 Sep 2007
By 
Roy J. Candy (Northampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Afterlife Experiments: Breakthrough Scientific Evidence of Life After Death (Paperback)
This is one of the most important series of experiments undertaken in the last 50 years and consequently one opf the most important books. It is encouraging how Gary Schwartz and his associates adapted their methodology in the light of experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 69 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This book is a must and very thought-provoking record, 1 Jun 2002
By A Customer
this book is a must for anybody who has questioned the existance of life after death. It has a very scientific sounding title but don't be put off by that, it is a very easy book to read offers thought provoking rational insight into the other side. I am not an academic but I found this book, even with it's somewhat profound complicated appendices very easy to read and understand. Even Skeptics should read this book as it also explains some of the reasoning behind skeptism. This book connects science with religion and spirituality and leaves the reader feeling that they are never alone, but in the most warm and loving of contexts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A serious challenge for the ultra-sceptics, 6 Mar 2006
By 
R. Nathan "rotatingflak" (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Afterlife Experiments: Breakthrough Scientific Evidence of Life After Death (Paperback)
This book is a highly readable and convincing account of a series of fairly exceptional and important scientific experiments.

Any scientific investigation of the hypothesis of after-death survival of consciousness has to rule out (beyond reasonable doubt), fraud, hallucination, cold-reading, chance or super-psi as opposing hypotheses for the results. With the occasional reservation,these experiments go a long way towards doing just that.

The experimental conditions, controls and data are well documented and the results present a serious challenge to the ultra-sceptics and reductionist-materialists.

Those in search of evidence for the after-life should definitely add this book to their collection. Also highly recommended is David Fontana's comprehensive overview `Is There An Afterlife?'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - worth every penny, 2 Dec 2011
Exciting and I could not put it down when. Well written but it did take a couple of pages to get into it but definitely worth the effort. A real eye opener and it certainly makes you think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow!!, 24 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Afterlife Experiments: Breakthrough Scientific Evidence of Life After Death (Paperback)
Just received this two days ago and cannot put it down, it's mind blowing and heart wrenching at times as well, i've always believed there is something else there when we die and this just confirms to me that the soul does not die after death, haven't finished it yet but felt compelled to review already, great read even for a sceptic, this may make you a believer!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Convincing and thought provoking, 1 May 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Afterlife Experiments: Breakthrough Scientific Evidence of Life After Death (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book. Although the stats bogged me down sometimes I found it very pursuasive and thorough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 52 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing reading, 20 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Afterlife Experiments: Breakthrough Scientific Evidence of Life After Death (Paperback)
Having read hundreds of books on the subject of mediumship and attended numerous seances over the years I was attracted to buy Gary Schwartz's book because of the impressive words "Scientific Evidence" in the title.
The first few chapters gave good ground work hopefully leading to the promised evidence further on in the book. The scientific protocols used were reassuring and eliminated any doubt about fraud.
However, the readings which are the core of the research were, to my mind, no better than some of the better UK reading that you can experience up and down the country. The "blind" and "silent" experiments were interesting and may be a technique that mediums should improve on to eradicate suspicions about cold reading. Apart from this there was no real "Scientific Evidence" presented. Just some good class mediumship results represented by graphs, charts and tables.
A simple technical flaw in the research is the fact that Gary's co researcher and love, Linda Russek, already had strong feeling on the subject due to the death of her father. I don't doubt her sincerity but it's not a plus point when trying to convince the sceptics.
Overall, a disappointing book for me and certainly no contest for James Randi!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For all those grieving the loss of a loved one., 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great news on this taboo subject for all of those who have lost loved ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Interesting, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Afterlife Experiments: Breakthrough Scientific Evidence of Life After Death (Paperback)
I read this book really out of more morbid curiosity than anything else - it is extremely interesting, and leaves you with a lot more questions. I genuinely hope it is the start of some more real research in this area that is open minded! Let's hope that if scientists really do apply science to this subject we reach a point where we can have some practical debate and progress in relation to this matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Afterlife Experiments: Breakthrough Scientific Evidence of Life After Death
8.11
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews