Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No. 4 in the Honor Harrington series - Court Martials and Duels
"Field of Dishonour" is the fourth book in a wonderful space opera series set some three thousand years in the future and featuring David Weber's best fictional heroine, "Honor Harrington." In this book the action moves from space battles to a court martial and then to a series of duels.

These books are best read in sequence and I strongly recommend that you...
Published on 22 July 2007 by Marshall Lord

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but not up to the standard of the others in the series
Following straight on from the previous book in the series (A Short Victorious War), the story follows Lord Pavel Young's trial for cowardice and its consequences. When the Court Martial reaches a political verdict that spares him from execution while dishonourably discharging him from the service, he determines to get revenge on the woman who (in his view) was...
Published on 1 Jun. 2001

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 12 Aug. 1997
By A Customer
But the plot(s) and character(s) are simply trite and boring. Honor is just way too good to be true, and all the problems she face are external, which makes the story very straightforward. Turn your brain off when you read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely great, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This series of Honor Harrington books by David Weber are absolutely great. They stand head and shoulders above most other books in this genre although Webers' own Safehold series comes close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Uncharacteristically dull, 19 Mar. 2015
By 
Kristian Nilssen "flobadob" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
So dull. No space battles. A court case and a little politics. Gave up after one third. The previous books were good but skip this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Honor Harrington returns to the deck where she belongs, 18 July 1998
By A Customer
Honor returns to her rightful place on the bridge of a starship. She again prevails when all is ranged against her. Excellent detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Political Intrigue par excellence!, 1 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great tale of betrayal and cumuppance!! Can't wait for the next volume! Looks like there's going to be more turmoil!
Harast
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another action packed novel involving Honor Harrington, bring on the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The only true "Science Fiction" author I read consistently., 17 Jun. 1997
By A Customer
I usually prefer Fantasy novels; but David Weber's strong female heroine lured me into this series and his writing has kept me comming back for more. I have to admidt that this particular book is the only one in my adult life to have me in tears from early in the book until the end. As much as I hated the character's death that made me cry - it was not a gratuitous death. This person's death not only defined the course of this novel, but also had a profound effect on the heroine's life and career. This effect has continued on into later books. This is the only time I have seen the death of a lover depicted as a life-altering event. Honor does not morn and then continue her life as before. This death effects her actions in this book, changes the path of her career and contiues to echo into later books about her. I hate seeing such an important character die, but David Weber made his death a major pivital part of the book and Honor's life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Field of Dishonor, 2 Feb. 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Field of Dishonor (Honorverse) (Mass Market Paperback)
Another enjoyable book from David Weber.
Honor's lover, Paul Tankersley, is murdered. As you can imagine, Honor sets out to revenge his death. She is not a person I would like to have as an enemy. With the help of friends, Honor discovers the identity of the person who hired Denver Summervale (a professional duelist). Mr. Summervale and his employer are both brought to the field. Not surprisingly, Honor turns out to be a crack shot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what more can one say - a honor book, 9 Jun. 2000
By A Customer
in keep with the style of the honor series another update that will keep you glued
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Addicted to Honor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Field of Dishonor (Honorverse)
Field of Dishonor (Honorverse) by David Weber (Mass Market Paperback - 1 Sept. 2002)
£6.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Hell's Foundations Quiver (Safehold)
Hell's Foundations Quiver (Safehold) by David Weber (Hardcover - 13 Oct. 2015)
Buy new£18.44
Available for pre-order

Short Victorious War (Honorverse)
Short Victorious War (Honorverse) by DAVID WEBER (Mass Market Paperback - 1 Aug. 2002)
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (18)   
Buy new£6.50
In stock

The Sword of the South (Baen)
The Sword of the South (Baen) by David Weber (Hardcover - 4 Aug. 2015)
Buy new£17.83
Available for pre-order