Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The series just keeps getting better!
Here I am on to the third book in the Honor Harrington Series, The Short Victorious War. The first two books, On Basilisk Station and The Honor of the Queen, were instant favourites of mine and made the series (one that runs to over 20 volumes including the anthologies and spin-offs) a must-read for me. David Weber had created a vivid and thoroughly realised setting and I...
Published on 10 Oct 2011 by Mark Chitty

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A thought provoking read
A Short Victorious War is the third of the Honour Harrington series, and is definitely well worth the read. The only problem I had with this book was that there was far too much focus on the internal politics of the People's Republic of Haven. That said, however, I realise that it was necessary, not only to the plot of the story, but the on-going events that form the back...
Published on 24 Nov 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A thought provoking read, 24 Nov 2000
By A Customer
A Short Victorious War is the third of the Honour Harrington series, and is definitely well worth the read. The only problem I had with this book was that there was far too much focus on the internal politics of the People's Republic of Haven. That said, however, I realise that it was necessary, not only to the plot of the story, but the on-going events that form the back story for the series. Honor Harrington, having proved her worth at Basilisk Station (On Basilisk Station) and in Grayson (The Honor Of The Queen), receives recognition of that worth as the Admiralty appoints her to be the CO of a spanking-new battlecruiser, HMS Nike. By tradition in the RMN, command of the Nike is a plum assignment, and given only to officers who are head and shoulders above their fellow officers. Honor is then paid the compliment of being appointed to be the flag captain for Admiral Sarnow, and being tasked to form part of the defensive forces at Hancock Station. The state of polite hostility between Manticore and the Peeps is heating up, and once again, Honor and her ship will be on the sharp end. We are also re-introduced to Captain Lord Pavel Young, who seems not terribly interested in redeeming himself. In fact, his conduct during the climactic battle is anything but what one expects of an officer in command of a warship. This is a tight, well-written story. Read it, and if you've not read the other Honor Harrington stories. The only thing I would say is to try and read these books in sequence, since there are so many recurring characters, and references to events in the earlier books abound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The series just keeps getting better!, 10 Oct 2011
By 
Mark Chitty (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Short Victorious War (Honorverse) (Mass Market Paperback)
Here I am on to the third book in the Honor Harrington Series, The Short Victorious War. The first two books, On Basilisk Station and The Honor of the Queen, were instant favourites of mine and made the series (one that runs to over 20 volumes including the anthologies and spin-offs) a must-read for me. David Weber had created a vivid and thoroughly realised setting and I was wondering how events would play out in this third offering, hoping they would live up to my expectations...

After the events of The Honor of the Queen, Honor Harrington has been on sabbatical while her face is reconstructed, a procedure that has taken close to a year to finally complete and heal. Back on her home planet of Sphinx, Honor is passing the time relaxing and enjoying herself, that is until her new orders come in giving her command of a new ship. This is not just any new ship, but the Nike, the one ship that everyone wants, and her position as its captain shows just how much faith those in command have in her.

Under the direct command of Admiral Sarnow and acting as his flagship, the Nike, her captain and crew take delivery of the new-build and make their way to Hancock Station to join the task force there. But there is a problem with one of her reactors that requires a complete re-fit when they reach there, leaving the crew dockside while the repairs take place. And then the People's Republic of Haven start their strange visits into Manticoran space, visits that build and build until it is clear they are trying to goad the Manticoran Navy into battle...

The Short Victorious War starts with all the right ingredients - Honor Harrington is back to full health, given command of the brand new Nike with a new exec that she knows all too well, her best friend from Saganami Island, Mike Henke, and assigned to a new fleet as Admiral Sarnow's flagship. Once at Hancock Station Honor once again meets Paul Tankersley, Pavel Young's old exec and one of Henke's relatives. Things fall into place and what starts as a friendship becomes something more. But then there is the problem of Nike's reactor that needs to be completely replaced and forces the ship to stay in dock until work is complete. Honor herself has not been invited to any of the meetings by Admiral Parks, the one in overall charge of all divisions at Hancock Station, a snub that Nike's crew and her Admiral are all too aware of. With all of this going on it becomes clear that PRH are planning attacks and Admiral Parks splits all forces to take up places in other systems to help defence, but leaves Hancock Station woefully under prepared for an attack.

The Short Victorious War yet again expands the setting David Weber has created, showing us a little more of the wider galaxy and, more specifically, a much closer look at the People's Republic of Haven. It's nice to finally see more about them and what exactly they're up to, and even better that it's a solid part of the story. While the Royal Manticoran Navy are the main focus (at least Honor's fleet, anyway) having the sections looking at the PRH really does raise the novel and gives a good look at the bigger picture, not just what Honor Harrington sees.

The characters once again shine through, and with honour meeting and becoming involved with Paul Tankersley, it's a nice change from the strictly duty-bound Honor we've known from the previous books. Speaking of Paul, I wasn't quite sure how to take him at first, but he grew nicely on me and by the end of the novel he was cemented as a firm favourite of mine. Mike Henke is also another new character I very much enjoyed, she's a great addition to the cast and the scenes with her and Honor work incredibly well. Mac, Honor's steward, is back again and, while still in the background, the little things he does gives him a personality I like, and one that cares very much for Honor. I even enjoyed the scenes with the incredibly arrogant and totally slimy Pavel Young, but seeing his constant anger, rage and disgust at Honor did start to grow a little tiresome, but it worked within his character.

The Short Victorious War did everything it needed to do - it moves the story onward while adding more depth and information to the setting. While there are a couple of ends tied up it feels very much like the first part of an epic war story. It'll be very interesting to see where it goes from here, and I can't wait for the ride!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Balloon finally goes up!, 11 April 2001
At last, the shadow war that had been going on between the Kingdom of Manticore and the Republic of Haven in the last two books (on Basilisk Station & Honour of the Queen) finally breaks into open war. After a series of small scale provocations (violations of air space, blowing up a few orbital facilities and destroying the odd scout ship), the Manties realise that an invasion is imminent and begin to recall all available officers, including the convalescing Honor - and a few of her enemies too. Despite a few misgivings in the admiralty, Honor is handed a plum command, the HMS Nike, flagship of the Royal Manticore Navy.
However, the Manties are heavily outnumbered by the militaristic Havenites, and overconfidence in their technological superiority lead to them making a serious tactical blunder. As a result, Honor finds herself with a small flotilla of ships facing a full scale invasion fleet. But she's not without a few tricks of her own...
This is an exciting, fast paced read, and even manages to find the time for a romance for Honor, (which tankfully, doesn't intrude on the action). But what I like best though about this (and the other Honor books) is that it is set in a realisitic political environment, albeit that the Kingdom of Manticore is rather reminiscent of the British Empire mid 19th Century and the Havenites rather similar to the Roman Republic (with panem et circenses updated to the Dole and mass propaganda), but they do say that history repeats itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The short victorious war, 10 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Short Victorious War (Honorverse) (Mass Market Paperback)
What can I say about David Weber's Honor Harrington series but wonderful.
This is not the ideal book for a new reader of the series though, it is much better to read them in order. This is book three.
It also it starts with the political situation in Peoaple's Republic of Haven. You may start thinking they are the good guys. But they are shortly going to esculate the war with Mantiicore and so bring Captain Honor Harrington back into conflict again with her old enemy.
I recomend this series of books to anyone who likes militart space fiction series. I own every one and csn't wait for Amazon to put a new one the top of my front page as soon as it is to be published. You also may like David Weber's Apocalypse Troll and The path of the fury as well.
Competing with David as my favoutite author is Lois McMaster Bujold with her Barrayar Series.
I love them too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good story, makes you want for more, 21 Mar 2001
By A Customer
Even though this book is clearly a part of a series, it stands pretty well on it's own. The story is intriguing, and you want to keep reading to know what happens next. Will the despicable Havenites succeed in their invasion? Not while our heroine is here!
Having read the other books in the series, this book feels like a filling between the more momentous events. Yet the story holds its own, and gives so many ideas for the next book that you cannot really stop reading after this one. The characters demand that the rest of the story be told. This feeling stays with me for the whole series, and I keep asking 'what happens next?' There is never a _complete_ ending, only partial resolutions.
My only gripe is Weber's attachment to facts and figures. I understand the need to create atmoshpere, but I do not want to read again and again about accelerations and vectors and such. It's okay to explain technology, but not excessively. Although I admit that the problem may be reading too many books in the same series; I've read each explanation at least nine times ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good space opera: Now compared, 12 Feb 2009
By 
C Richards "Graaf" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The genre is well represented with some good writters. I prefer Bujold (Vorkosigan series) and Moon (Vatta and Serano), which both have more depth and character, but his is a good page turner, but not to invest in: The others I'd collect hard back if it wasn't such a drag to collate so many volumes and omnibuses! A fault this series makes too, though none of Honor's are as slim as the Lost Fleet series.

This is the 3rd (after 'On basilisk station' and teh 'Honor of teh Queen') and its all the life long after acheiving senior rank.. so misses the depth of characterisation in the competitor authors' works. Plot dynamics are kept fresh and personalities a bit too primary for real greatness, but enjoy... it's good rainy day stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars short victorious war, 18 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Short Victorious War (Honorverse) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is book 3 in the Honor Harrington series. The book picks up nicely after book 2 and continues the story well. In my opinion its a good read. I've not given 5 stars as I felt the author rushed the story a little bit too much and there was a lot of opportunity missed with the battles. It felt like the whole war had just got started and then after the one battle with Honor the rest of the war was quickly summarised and ended. An opportunity missed and which has made me hesitant to buy book 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hooked on Harrington, 1 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoying the series very much, well worth the time and effort, as an ex Jack all the characters are very believable, as I can put real names to some of them from my memories, the only one I have a problem with is Young as he seems very much a caricature of the snide baddie as his actions would have forced (spoiler alert) the comms team to inform his EO of the direct command from Flag and to relieve him of his duty immediately, failure to do so would make him complicit and suffer the same fate. It would not be the first time a Captain has fallen off his rocker and finished up doing a course of basket weaving, but overall another great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just Honor Harrington., 6 May 2014
By 
M. Haase - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just another book in the series. If you got as far, there is no other choice, just carry on like I do :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Politics and spaceships, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The early story of Honor Harrington continues in this volume. I am enjoying this series very much despite being a mainstream sci-fi fan. In Honor Harrington there is depicted a rounded person who grows in maturity with each successive volumeNot a superwoman, but a thinking, capable and inventive naval officer, who never sees her crews or her ships as mere units, expendable in a game of war, but as individuals who must be fully committed to do the right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Short Victorious War (Honorverse)
Short Victorious War (Honorverse) by DAVID WEBER (Mass Market Paperback - 1 Aug 2002)
£5.66
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews