Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Second in the excellent Honor Harrington series: introducing the Graysons
"The Honor of the Queen" is the second book in a wonderful space opera series set some three thousand years in the future and featuring David Weber's best fictional heroine, "Honor Harrington." The books work most effectively when read in sequence and I strongly recommend that you start with "On Basilisk Station (Honor Harrington Series)" which is the first one...
Published on 21 July 2007 by Marshall Lord

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Swashbuckling!
Webers view of space combat obviously stems from a romanticised view of ship-to-ship actions from the late 19th and earlier 20th century a fact reinforced by the names and disposition of the forces involved. I mean, it is her Majesty's the ROYAL Manticore Navy after all!
Dont let that put you off though as that is the authors blatant intention. If you like Naval...
Published on 16 Nov. 2000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Resisted starting to read this timeline of books after discovering David Weber and his Safehold series, now hooked...
And free to boot, now to read the next in the series.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 8 April 2013
By 
P. Rodgers "PR" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Part of a series. Great story and I got involved with the characters too. Lots of "naval" and military scenes. Surprising turns of events. Well entertaining! I almost feel I could take part in a space battle and become a member of the Manticorean Navy now too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Story well told, 26 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An element in the Honor Harrington series, this is essential reading for all fans of the series. Well written and well thought out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 8 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Anyone who likes science fiction should like this. A good story-line and well written. I would recommend reading the first in the series before reading this, but it's not essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the early HH novels, 8 Mar. 2013
By 
Demos (Chester England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is brilliant for many reasons, my own favourites are the introduction of Grayson and its contrasts to Masada.
If you haven't read any of the other Honor Harrington novels this is an excellent place to start but don't ignore his excellent first book in the series "on basilisk station".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars grreeeaaatt read, 28 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
any sci-fi reader would love this star opera a great read and addictive ready to read the rest of this saga
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great character driven Mil-SF, 10 Oct. 2011
By 
Mark Chitty (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Honor of the Queen (Honorverse) (Mass Market Paperback)
The Honor of the Queen is the second book by David Weber featuring Honor Harrington, Captain in Her Majesty's Royal Navy of Manticore. The first book, On Basilisk Station, was one I very much enjoyed when I read it a few months ago and with the series running to over a dozen books to date, plus side novels, I was very interested to see where the story would go from the end on that first novel. I've made the mistake in the past of letting more time than optimal pass between series instalments, especially those that are already in the shops, and it was not a mistake I planned to do with the Honorverse. Thankfully so too, On Basilisk Station was fresh enough in my mind for me to thoroughly get drawn in with the characters once again!

With her new cruiser, Fearless, Honor Harrington is assigned to a diplomatic mission to Grayson, a planet of strategic importance to both Manticore and the People's Republic of Haven due to its location relative to each of their borders. Grayson and its neighbouring system Masada have a long and tumultuous past, both religious although the latter was so extreme that they were cast out from Grayson, and the wars have been fought ever since with Masada intent on reclaiming what they believe to be their right: the planet Grayson. But the inhabitants of Grayson are no less fierce in their beliefs, mainly that a woman's place is not in public, and especially not in the military. With Honor the leading military officer on this mission the political figures from Manticore have a lot of prejudice to overcome...

After I read On Basilisk Station I thought David Weber had created an excellent setting for a story, it was rich, varied and held a lot of potential. The Honor of the Queen took that initial seed planted in the first book and expanded it greatly, showing just how vast it is and how much more there was to the Kingdom of Manticore and the People's Republic of Haven. Without a doubt the setting is the strongest aspect of The Honor of the Queen simply because of how well Weber has detailed everything within. It's quite outstanding and shows just what can be done with some good world building.

But world building isn't the be-all-and-end-all of a novel, there has to be substance to the characters and story. Fortunately Weber hits the mark again on both those counts. The story is intricate, detailed and full of surprises, the characters unique, likeable and interesting. So, an all around thumbs up!

One of the main focuses in The Honor of the Queen is the distinct religious views held by both Grayson and Masada. While Honor is only in the Grayson system we do see the fanatical views of the Masadan's through various points of view throughout the story. As for Grayson, it's interesting to see just how varied the response is to Honor, from the leader of Grayson who was educated off-planet and is nowhere near as bad as the rest of the population, to the regular members of the Grayson military and the way they treat all female members of the Manticoran Navy. This leads to some interesting situations, but Weber manages to handle it rather well. When everything finally hits the fan some of the mentalities on show do change, but it's interesting to see how they do so and the effect it has on the planet as a whole. There is also the other side of the coin, the Masadan's. These are people that are so fanatical that nothing stops them doing what they believe to be right, and this results in some emotional and hard-hitting scenes. This whole issue could have been dealt with with a heavy hand, but Weber manages to convey everything well, he makes it relatable from most sides and the advancement of the story is handled well.

As for the characters, we've once again got an excellent lead with Honor Harrington, but also her colleagues and subordinates start to shine through. The people of Grayson are interesting, the Masadan's equally so as the bad guys, but even the officers from the People's Republic of Haven that we meet are not as totally despicable as I was expecting. There's a good range here and all work well together, enough that I found myself being carried along with the story yet again.

It's fair to say that after The Honor of the Queen I'll be picking up the next Honor Harrington book pretty soon. In fact, I plan on getting up to date with the series by the release of A Rising Thunder in March of next year. As you read this I've already finished the third book in the series, so that leaves me with 13 more to read to get up to speed. Very, very doable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tremendous Space Action!!, 22 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The mix of diplomatic arguments, coupled with the two-timing activities of fanatics, gives this well written saga a wealth of emotional depth. Difficult to see where the storyline can go from here but bring it on!
Harast
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars glad to this on the kindle at last, 30 Sept. 2014
By 
P. barton (LONDON) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
glad to this on the kindle at last , great sci fi space opera, once i was hooked from book 1 there was no going back , huge on detail and characters that you can really get into david weber has created a cult classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best space opera series I've ever come across and this ..., 29 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the best space opera series I've ever come across and this particular chapter is one of the best within the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Honor of the Queen (Honorverse)
Honor of the Queen (Honorverse) by David Weber (Mass Market Paperback - 1 Aug. 2002)
£5.56
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews