Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another excellent addition to the honorverse
The latest installment in the Honor Harrington Series brings Honor back in to action in the Manticore fleet. With the peace still not settled between Haven and Manticore the political situation is as murky as ever. But now the andies are getting involved and the Manticoran government is really annoying their allies so it is all set for another explosion.
The...
Published on 1 Oct 2002 by Miss Eileesh Buckley

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Times!
With the Manticoran Alliance's overwhelming fleet at the throat of the People's Republic of Haven, things should have been rosy for the Alliance. But there's a new government in Manticore and they don't see any reason to call an end to hostilities. With Haven also putting a new government in place, they aren't in any particular rush either, at least initially, but...
Published on 15 Nov 2005 by JA Fairhurst


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another excellent addition to the honorverse, 1 Oct 2002
This review is from: War of Honor (Honorverse) (Hardcover)
The latest installment in the Honor Harrington Series brings Honor back in to action in the Manticore fleet. With the peace still not settled between Haven and Manticore the political situation is as murky as ever. But now the andies are getting involved and the Manticoran government is really annoying their allies so it is all set for another explosion.
The treecats complicate matters again, and the conservatives use their chance to getback at their enemies, but not without it's own price!! This book sets to stage for a whole new set of problems to be faced.
This first hardback edition also comes with a CD containing electronic versions of all of David Webers novels to date, along with e-copies of books by other baen authors (friend of Honor). Even if the book weren't so good, it would be worth the investment for the CD alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Times!, 15 Nov 2005
By 
JA Fairhurst "johnfair" (Edgeley, Stockport) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War of Honor (Honorverse) (Hardcover)
With the Manticoran Alliance's overwhelming fleet at the throat of the People's Republic of Haven, things should have been rosy for the Alliance. But there's a new government in Manticore and they don't see any reason to call an end to hostilities. With Haven also putting a new government in place, they aren't in any particular rush either, at least initially, but eventually they wanted a proper peace treaty. However, the High Ridge government on Manticore has no intention of signing anything as it would mean ceding power to the opposition. Honor Harrington and Lord White Haven are the chief spokesmen for the opposition as cuts are introduced that would destroy Manticore's naval strength. The Manticoran government also treats its allies with contempt - not wise with the interstellar situation in an increasingly desperate situation! Now, this is a huge book by the standards of the genre and the fact that large portions of the book are made up of people talking about things rather than doing them makes things difficult for those of us who prefer our space opera to be purely about battles in space. Personally, I don't generally find this too much of a problem, though it does go rather stronger on the exposition than I would really have preferred. I had more of a problem with the utter stupidity of most of the High Ridge government - although (mostly) of aristocratic stock, therefore not having to worry about such things as being elected, they were all fairly prominent in their own parties, which means they have to have somewhat of a clue. I fear I can accept venal and corrupt, but not the depths of their utter stupidity. I have the same objections to the interactions between President Pritchard and her Secretary of State on Haven. Despite this, the attempted character assassination of Honor and White Haven felt all true! I'm not quite sure if David meant it to be, but the interaction between the scientific staff and their government appointed minders at the RMAIA gave the book a welcome leavening of levity.

Overall, the balance of politics and action may be considered too far on the side of the politics but it's a decent book for all that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They think it's all over - it isn't now !, 13 Jun 2003
By 
Marshall Lord (Whitehaven, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This book is rather different to most of the other volumes in Dave Weber's Honor Harrington series. I enjoyed it but some of those readers who like the other books in the series will not.

Weber has tried to develop the characters in previous books, for example now that Honor herself is a very senior admiral she cannot and does not act like a junior captain. Honor has learned different skills such as diplomacy, so there is no hitting Manticoran ambassadors or challenging people to duels in this book.

Where the previous books in the "Honorverse" were set against the backdrop of a looming or actual war between Honor's home nations (Manticore and Grayson) and successive dictatorial governments of the People's Republic of Haven, this book starts with the galaxy at peace and everyone wanting and expecting it to stay that way.

The book chronicles how Manticore's relationships with both the new democratic government in Haven and the Anderman Star Empire gradually deteriorate, and until close to the end of the book it is not clear whether Manticore will manage to avert war or have to fight the Anderman Empire, Haven, or both.

Consequently there is a much higher proportion of political manouvering than in the previous books: one cannot say whether there are any major battles without giving the ending away but one can say that there is not as much warfare as in previous books and this may disappoint some readers.

Honor Harrington has been compared by some reviewers to Horatio Hornblower and it can be quite fun spotting the references to the French Revolutionary period with which Dave Weber sprinkles the series. For example it was pretty obvious that the People's Republic of Haven originally represented Revolutionary France, given that Haven was then run by a Committee of Public Safety headed by people with names like Rob S Pierre and St Just. The Star Kingdom of Manticore is Britain, Silesia is Poland, the Anderman Empire is Prussia.

Interestingly, the unholy alliance of the hard right and politically-correct left, which is running Manticore at the start of War of Honor, does have a close parallel in British history at about the right time.

I see from other reviews that some people find the picture of Manticoran politics in "War of Honor" implausible but in fact this is not just a product of Weber's imagination. While it is rare for a coalition representing such a wide range of views to hold together for long, stranger things have happened and something similar actually did. Anyone who wants to learn more about this should do an internet search on the government of "all the talents."

However, Weber wisely does not try to make the parallels with Revolutionary war history so exact that they get in the way of the story. No sign of Napoleon yet: no general or admiral has succeeded in taking absolute power in Haven the way Napoleon did in France, and the one admiral who could have made himself dictator chose instead to hold elections and establish the democratic government which is in place at the start of "War of Honor".

Bottom line - if you like the idea of developing the characters and situations in the previous books of the Honorverse you will almost certainly like this. However, if you want non-stop battles or a clone of "A Short Victorious War" you might not find this book as much to your taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable, but not the best, 9 Feb 2003
By 
NickG (Milton Keynes UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: War of Honor (Honorverse) (Hardcover)
When I were a lad (s they say in these parts), I became a great fan of Hornblower, and so I was delighted to discover his spiritual descendant in Honor Harrington. I'm also a fan of David Weber's other work. On that basis, I read and rather enjoyed this latest HH volume.
I do have to say, however, that the proportions of exposition to action are increasing, and I'd prefer abit more shoot-em-up and a bit less political theory. If you're coming to the series for the first time, I'd suggest one of the others ("On Basilisk Staion" or "The Honor of the Queen") as openers. If you're already a fan, you'll probably get reasonable value, although you might feel happier waiting for the paperback.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Chronicle in the Honorverse, 30 Sep 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: War of Honor (Honorverse) (Hardcover)
The Latest book to come from David Weber on his number one character - Honor Harrington.
Honor is back in the Star Kingdom and sent to look after the situation in Silesia. This volume expands the cast of players in the Manticore v Haven saga. The Andies are involved again, the Wormhole Junction is taking on new significance... Honor and Hamish have new obstacles to face and Smanatha throws a spanner in the works - again! The political situation is murkier than ever, and characters introducted in the anthologies make their appearance in the main story.
The first run of the hardback comes with a CD that includes e-copies of all the honor books to-date along with books from other Baen authors. It also includes high quality digital images of star maps and book covers. Included in the 'extra' books is the first 10 chapters of david webers' upcoming co-author work March to The Stars!! The CD alone makes the book worth the price, but the story is enough anyway! The next step in the story of the Star Kingdom of Manticore has been taken.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars War of Honor, 10 Feb 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This time the conflict is between the Andermani empire and Manticore and the Peeps and Manticore. The Peep government has been overthrown by the Navy. This time the leaders of the Peeps try to close a peace treaty, but the government in Manticore are dragging their feet. The government that took over from the assasinated leaders of state, are anti-war, anti-growth and anti-Harrington. In addition certain elements in the Peep government are adding and deleting small phrases of treaty suggestions from the Peep side, making it even more difficult to further the peace process.
In order to discredit Ms. Harrington and Hamish Alexander, who both fight for more funds to the military effort, the government portray them as lovers. Earl Alexander is married to the Kingdoms most popular person, and they have therefore become big bad wolves. But when Emily, his wife, shows herself to be a friend of Honor the effort blows up in the government's face.
The Andermanis want more space, and the Manticorans are having nothing of it. The government sends Ms. Harrington (mostly to die or fail in the attempt) to resolve the situation without too much bloodshed. She disappoints her enemies in due course, but not without things getting a bit hairy.
In her usual fashion, Honor Harrington saves the day in a truly heroic fashion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a brilliant read, 25 April 2010
By 
T. Piggott "tompiggott" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
hello,
war of honor is a very good book, there is a truce between the republic of haven and the manticorian alliance, and the new governemnt of manticore (after cromatory was murdered) is destablising the navy by allowing an idiot like reginald houseman to be second space lord and an even bigger idiot like sir edward janacek be first space lord; and bewteen them and the new governemnt crazy adoption of lets not negotiate with haven but lets get rid of all of our navy. this means haven are sniffing around; and with harrington away in silesia she won't be there to help when it all goes belly up.
harrington must deal with a steady storm of problems both political and naval to stop the andermini (or the germans) from advancing into silisea all by herself. a great book definatly well worth it if your a dedicated harrington fan, if your reading this but haven't read david weber's series before start with "On Basilisk Station" otherwise you won't be able to undertsnad what the hell im talking about

On Basilisk Station (Honorverse)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great story - Superb CD, 24 Oct 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War of Honor (Honorverse) (Hardcover)
At last after what seemed like ages, we get the next instalment of Honor Harrington. I thought this would close many questions and it does, I was also pleased to see the Liberals get their comeuppance and the story gets back to basics - Honor, War Honor, War and yet more War. The descriptions of deep space battles are brilliant and the CD included with this book is worth a separate purchase! Good characters with superb action sequences and a subtle display of realpolitik. Well done Mr Weber!
Bring me more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor politics, too much romance not enough battles!, 11 July 2006
By 
Picking up about five years after "Ashes of Victory", Duchess Harrington is one of the most prominent opponents of the new government of Manticore - an unholy Alliance between the Liberals, Progressives and Conservatives - who have been stringing out the peace Treaty with the new Havenite regime of President Eloise Pritchard. Meanwhile in Silesia, things are going from bad to worse as the usual pirates are being supplemented by an influx of renegade Peep vessels gone independent. And the Andermanian Empire is getting increasingly uppity at the presence of the Manticorean base at Sidemore station (established by Honor in "Honor Among Enemies"). And now that Haven seems less of a threat, the Emperor seems more prepared to threaten war with Manticore to get what he wants.

The trouble is, this book is way too long. What David Weber does best is space battles, and yet Honor doesn't even get into space for nearly three hundred pages. Instead we get a long and (for the most part) unbelievable discussion of the politics of Manticore - there is no way three parties with such a diametrically opposed agendas could stay together for as long as the High Ridge government supposedly had, short of continuing the war, which is the one thing they're all opposed to - coupled with the complications of Honor's love life (and if I wanted to read about people agonising over the tragedy of their love lives - I'd read Anne Rice). The new government are all too unprincipled, without any indication of what their aims actually are (unlike, say, the fanatics in "Flag in Exile" who, although abhorrent, were all too believable). The Havenite politics was more interesting, in that I could actually believe they would be rather more dynamic (given the new regime is in its infancy) but I couldn't believe Foreign Secretary Giancola seriously believed he could control the situation between Haven and Manticore sufficiently to take them to the brink of war but no further when he doesn't control either government (it would have made more sense IMO if he wanted to resume the war because he thought Haven could win it ), but I guess hubris is the bane of politicians everywhere. And as for the idea that the Andermanians wouldn't mind the presence of a Havenite fleet in Silesia (sent to destroy, or at least tie down Honor at Sidemore station) - militarily it might make sense but politically the Havenites might as well have asked the Andermanians to ally with Manticore against them (just imagine an analogous situation where the Chinese send a task force to overthrow Hugo Chavez in Venezuela - I doubt the Chinese would seriously consider the USA would shrug its shoulders and say "No problem - we didn't like the guy anyway!"). Even the potential of the new junction to the Manticore Terminus was wasted (when it's first mentioned I'd assumed it was going to exit in either Silesia, leading to conflict with the Andermanians or somewhere near Haven, destabilising the Peace talks) as it turns out to be in a system near (but not in) the Solarian League.

By the end of it, the only battles that Honor is actually in is a brief one at the end and all the engagements are tactical triumphs for one side or the other (brief and decisive) - and this is from an author who made a three ships battle last several chapters in "Honor of the Queen". I just hope the next book ("At All Costs", which I've yet to read) concentrates more on the military and less on the political or the personal conflicts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The unnecessary and full explanation of the rules of baseball This ..., 7 Sep 2014
i gave this 3 stars because i found the opening 15% disappointing. it was slow and flat. this was due to the pointless use of recapping of previous events[it is after all book10!]. the authors simplistic political analysis which has appeared several times before. The unnecessary and full explanation of the rules of baseball This i found surreal. Eventually the book gets going and becomes readable This book demonstrates the authors strengths [action sci -fi] and his weaknesses .He allows his passions take precedence over his storytelling. He needs a strong editor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

War of Honor (Honorverse)
War of Honor (Honorverse) by DAVID WEBER (Hardcover - 30 Sep 2002)
£18.33
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews