Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars178
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 March 2016
Really enjoyed this after watching the hbo series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2001
The TV Serise inspired me to buy the book, but now I just can't stop reading it. The detail of description of the excitment, horror, and trama faced by E-company is amazing. This book is definatly one of the best ever written by Stephen Ambrose and is definatly worth reading.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2015
Brilliant combination of story and documentary
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2011
Never before have I felt so compelled to comment on a book. I am an avid reader of military history, and must say the sense of Hollywood style sensationalism attached to this book is nauseating. There is no doubting the bravery and hardships suffered by all during this war, but to glorify this company to the extent where they surely must have defeated the axis powers single-handedly is borderline insulting, given the subject matter.

I have never seen an episode of the TV series and I know it has excellent reviews. I couldn't finish the book (read as far as Bastogne) as it was far too glorified along with unnecessary negative views of other nations, thus I am in no way tempted to watch the series.

If you enjoy the `Saving Private Ryan' sort of hyperbole, then this book is for you. If you prefer unbiased facts, views and accounts, then navigate to something else!
22 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2012
Three major problems with this version.

1) No pictures in the kindle edition.
2) The book cover doesn't appear on the kindle.
3) Many, many mistakes in the writing.

For example every single use of the term "2nd" is written as "2d". Gets really annoying in a book which features "2nd" a lot.
Another common error (as common as every 3-4 pages) are words like harassment written as "harass-ment".
Also I frequently came across two words where there was no space separating them.

Terrible edition - avoid!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2015
Fantastic book, well researched and written
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2014
A great read about an amazing rifle squad.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2013
What else can be said? I can only use Stephen Ambrose`s comment from Pegasus Bridge when Wagger Thornton told him "Don`t go turning me into a bloody hero". Ambrose replied that " I Don`t make heroes I just write about them"
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2016
Amazing series for a very good price!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2015
Moving story of their war experiences
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)