Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In the beginning of Buffy, there were the scripts..., 12 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" Script Book: Season 1, v. 1 (Paperback)
The good news is that original shooting scripts of "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" are available, as in this volume offering up the first six episodes of Season One. But the bad news, relatively speaking, is that we just get the scripts without any extras. The pages are your traditional Courier style font (including the title page), and while the pages are not in blue, pink, green, yellow, goldenrod and salmon to reflect the various revisions, if you follow the revision dates on the top of the pages you can figure that part out. Therefore, while I appreciate having the original scripts in front of my while watching the episodes so I can see what has been deleted/added/changed (these are not transcripts; big difference), I would have really liked to have a bit more such as introductions by the writers talking about the genesis of the script ideas or problems they had to overcoming in putting the script into production, beyond the production notes and stage directions. Certainly some of what I am looking for can be found in "The Watcher's Guide," which covers the show's first two seasons, but given how first-rate the BtVS companion volumes have been I am rather surprised this is a comparatively bare bones effort.
Included in this volume for those of you who do not have the first 100 episodes totally memorized are "Welcome to the Hellmouth" and "The Harvest," both written by series creator Joss Whedon, "Witch" by Dana Reston, "Teacher's Pet" by David Greenwalt, "Never Kill a Boy on the First Date" by Rob Des Hotel and Dean Batali, and "The Pack" by Matt Kiene and Joe Reinkemeyer. After the two-part pilot these other episodes reflect a time when the Buffy mythos was just starting to get organized. After all, Buffy has yet to find out about Angel's true nature and the emphasis is on how high school is a living hell if you are a teenager, but even more so when you are perched on the Hellmouth. Besides, once you get the first half of Season One you have to pick up the second half as well. Then there is Season Two...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True formatted script book on the series Buffy, 15 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" Script Book: Season 1, v. 1 (Paperback)
I was dubious about this book. Initially because... books of this variety tend to be presented in a misleading fashion.
I was pleasently surprised though, when I took the gamble and ordered this book, that the contents was professional. Professional in the sense that what you have just bought, is what the producer, director, and actors/tress would see before production starts.
I'm interested in screenwriting, and have slowly come around to the series. The strenght of the writing has always been formost, and with these scriptbooks, anyone who is interested slightly in writing for TV, let alone Buffy, wouldn't be wrong in purchasing this book.
It contains 6 episodes, all in correct format. And well worth the money...
Okay, thats all
Daniel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ithink this is a brillent book as I like buffy ., 14 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" Script Book: Season 1, v. 1 (Paperback)
i think the buffy script book is relly good and for people that like buffy it is really good just to sit down and read the scripts whhen you've had a really hard day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Impressed!, 30 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" Script Book: Season 1, v. 1 (Paperback)
I am very very pleased with this product. Me and my friend are absolutely obsessed with Buffy The Vampire Slayer, and she had ordered one of these off eBay, and I went straight online once she had showed me. Overall, I am very very impressed, the description fit the product exactly! The description read "New" "All Pages Intact" and was exactly correct! I strongly recommend this product, whereas usually I am a very tough critic and a complicated person to please. Furthermore, I would definitely suggest it for any Buffy fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The excellent first season of Buffy on paper..., 11 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" Script Book: Season 1, v. 1 (Paperback)
The first season of Buffy was great. Even though the hairstyles were pretty tragic, and the clothes look really dated now (it was like four or five years ago!) there's still that distinct Buffy style that's been there all along. Xander is really funny in these episodes, and the fact that the lines are written down on paper doesn't make them any less funny. The Master and Darla are two of the best villains that the show has had, and this is definitely a great Christmas present for any fan of the show!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This book is for all you Buffy fans out there, 10 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" Script Book: Season 1, v. 1 (Paperback)
Wow. Want to have the best read of your life. This book is great isn't it! If you ever wanted to remember what went on in the first season, becuse you never taped it or forgot to buy the box set, this book is for you. It is recommended for any buffy the Vampire Slayer fan out there. It is the must for any fan of the show and what a bargin at just £8! the best you can get. Even for people who do not like the show, you will find it fascinating with Xanders witty remarks, Cordelia's style and Willow's clever comments. Don't forget all of Buffy's slaying! Go on what are you waiting for, but it now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIQUE!, 4 Sept. 2010
This review is from: "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" Script Book: Season 1, v. 1 (Paperback)
OH EMMMMM GEEEE!!!!! i love buffy! i bought this script and volume 2 of season one aswell and i love themmmmmmmmm! they are really good! - much thicker than i thought it would be, there's like 300 whole pages!!! i have ordered the next TWO BOOKS! because i am obsessive hehehehehehehehhe i love bufffffffffffffy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great for Buffy fans..., 1 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" Script Book: Season 1, v. 1 (Paperback)
Very good writing, if a bit dated by todays standards, it accurately depicts tension, suspense and humour. All classic elements of the TV series are captured on the page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for any fan, 12 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" Script Book: Season 1, v. 1 (Paperback)
This is a brilliant book, it includes scripts from Season One of Buffy. It has dialogue never heard before and all the behing the scenes action. Definately worth reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fab book, 8 Jan. 2014
By 
Miss Tina L. Lowry (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" Script Book: Season 1, v. 1 (Paperback)
great book lots of info about the programme fab for buffy lovers ! my son loved it looking out for more now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

"Buffy the Vampire Slayer" Script Book: Season 1, v. 1
"Buffy the Vampire Slayer" Script Book: Season 1, v. 1 by The Vampire Slayer Buffy (Paperback - 2 Jan. 2001)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews