Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the perfect man, but the perfect man for the job
Bill Wilson wanted to be a rich and famous stock broker, another Thomas Edison, a great leader of men of industry. Instead he failed utterly at that, but somehow ended up becoming one of Time Magazine's greatest people of the 20th century! How this all happened was because he found a way to stop his alcoholic drinking - drinking that had destroyed all past chances of...
Published on 4 April 2005 by A. J. Kirke

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars to much
Reads like a novel, great if you feel like a story, if you want to find out more about Bill this is not the book, I wanted a factual life account, this was not more a dressed up for publishing account I thought.
Published on 9 May 2008 by Johannes Hendrik Coetzee


Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the perfect man, but the perfect man for the job, 4 April 2005
By 
A. J. Kirke "alexis kirke" (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Bill Wilson wanted to be a rich and famous stock broker, another Thomas Edison, a great leader of men of industry. Instead he failed utterly at that, but somehow ended up becoming one of Time Magazine's greatest people of the 20th century! How this all happened was because he found a way to stop his alcoholic drinking - drinking that had destroyed all past chances of conventional fame and fortune. His way of remaining sober was so successful for him and others, and his dedication and fascination with it so intense, that he ended up becoming world famous anyway - but in the last way he expected. However it was no doubt a fame and fortune that was far more satisfying and lasting than any fame stock broking or business leadership could have given him.
This biography of Bill Wilson, by Susan Cheever, is written skillfully and lovingly, carrying the reader through the subject pretty effortlessly. Cheever repeats herself slightly at the beginning of each chapter, creating an almost poetic, rythmic effect. But as well as the pleasure of reading a well written book, the other main element of fascination was how Bill's humanity comes through here. At the end of reading this biography, I was left in no doubt that Bill Wilson had many imperfections and was nowhere near a saint. But I was also left in no doubt that he had achieved absolutely extraodinary things, and had tried throughout his life to become a better man as well. The story is an inspiration to all imperfect people who strive to become better. And perhaps is also a lesson to us: our greateness and genius is not always found in the things that boost the bank and ego.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Solid Biography of an Unusual Visionary, 9 Jan 2010
By 
William Cohen (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Name Is Bill: Bill Wilson-His Life and the Creation of Alcoholics Anonymous (Paperback)
For the British reader this biography can be a bit treacly at times, (there are luxuriant descriptions of events in Bill W.'s life that the author has imagined), but the facts are all there, and the chapters are short, so it becomes unputdownable once you're in to it. Being a 'social architect' is a strange kind of role in society. Bill W certainly suffered for his work, and he was penniless for a large part of his life. At one point Cheever quotes the Confucian scholar Meng Tse: "Grief and trouble bring life, whereas prosperity and pleasure bring death." - and it's hard knowledge to deal with.

Cheever does not make her subject a saint, she describes how he later wanted to get out of AA and do things which were not necessarily compatible with being a modern saviour of lost souls. I was quite amused by the fact that Bill's deathbed wish was three shots of whiskey! Which the nurses wouldn't give him!

A great story, well-told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Escape from the burning, 9 Jan 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Mooncoin, Co. Kilkenny, IE) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Name Is Bill: Bill Wilson-His Life and the Creation of Alcoholics Anonymous (Paperback)
A succinct, truthful and most enlightening telling of the life story of, probably, one of the most unknown and important figures of the 20th century
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bill W.., 28 May 2010
By 
I. R. Stephenson (Dordrecht, ZHZ, NL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Name Is Bill: Bill Wilson-His Life and the Creation of Alcoholics Anonymous (Paperback)
I was blessed when I came across a book he Co-authored..
I still am, one day at a time.. { 6 years now }
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars to much, 9 May 2008
By 
This review is from: My Name Is Bill: Bill Wilson-His Life and the Creation of Alcoholics Anonymous (Paperback)
Reads like a novel, great if you feel like a story, if you want to find out more about Bill this is not the book, I wanted a factual life account, this was not more a dressed up for publishing account I thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sattisfied customer, 12 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. J Barker "dvd review" (blackpool england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Name Is Bill: Bill Wilson-His Life and the Creation of Alcoholics Anonymous (Paperback)
this dvd was as expected from seller i enjoy it and received it with quickness safe jim barker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Name Is Bill: Bill Wilson-His Life and the Creation of Alcoholics Anonymous
8.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews