Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
156
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 August 2004
-
An excellent witty and intelligent insight into management. Its easy to read and contains gems such as:
On Motivation
If you ever assumed Money is the only motivational factor - think again. Fear is also important. Save money, Use Fear.
On information overload
Help employees who are suffering from information overload by not telling them anything.
On delegating
Learn the difference between delagating and dumping.Others dump. you delegate.
Very smart, clever, funny and not in the least bit cliched. Mr. Beaton has some stunning insights in the BLACK ART of management that are rarely communicated so well. I would thoroughly recommend it.
0Comment| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2001
This book is a "must have" for anyone who has been through the ridiculous double speak of seminars, improvement programs and other management performance-enhancing BS and wants to throw up immediately following. It is a great pick-me-up for the over-babbled manager.
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2002
If you're the kind of Manager this book parodies you'll hate it (assuming you understand it). If you're not, earn some brownie points with your staff by passing it around the office. I unpacked it at my desk and we all spent the rest of the day laughing along with the author who's obviously worked for our company at some time.
The short and sharp (barbed?) comments are ideal for reading while the computer your Management thinks is fast is opening the latest inspirational E Mail.
Some of it has become topical since it was written with some of the recent management failures and corporate scandals. My personal favourite is:
"You cannot gain professional respect if your personal integrity is damaged."
"Prevent damage to your personal integrity by leaving it at home in the mornings."
From its first Mission Statement to its last page, if you only get a laugh a minute from this book you're either already aspiring to Higher Management or you read very slowly.
0Comment| 119 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2013
For my grandaughter we spend hours laughing at the various bosses we have had and now she is Manager ..this should help her avoid being one of those self centered and self centred managers we have all met who talk a load of b.......ks
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2015
It's very small, so not that many words, but if you have worked in an office, factory and similar environment this is hilarious, and quickly
provides smiles and laughter. Take it into work and share, easily worth the few quid it costs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2016
This was ordered as a joke secret santa gift but i actually found myself having a quick read first. It is one of those books that says everything we all know but it just works. It is actually funny in pointing out reality. You will find yourself chuckling and saying that is so true. Nice little and i mean LITTLE book. Its palm size!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2004
Forget the quick-fixing (management-friendly) One Minute Manager crap...Forget the constipated krud of 'Who moved my Cheese' - Mr. Beatons book is all you'll ever need for any entry-level management positions. A small book containing much wisdom as well as wit. If you know anything about management, office politics or shafting all those below you, you'll find this little book terrific. Fot those aspiring to an even higher understanding of management, read In Search Of Competence by Jack Feeney and How to cause Strees by Howard Edwards. All three are short, sweet, insightful, very funny and essential reading for anyone mildly or passionatly interested in management.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2015
This is the best guide I have ever bought. It has bought me respect and control I never thought possible (as well as a little bit of fear!)

Another fun little book that is great to have in the office.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2011
It is a little book, maybe 75mm X 75mm.
Hilarious, with a twist of irony (if you work for a big organisation like I do).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2012
Purchased for a newly promoted manager to remember to not take it all so seriously. Does exactly what it says on the cover and filled with comments that make you smile. Pleased with it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse