Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read
Having read Karen Pryor's other books - Don't Shoot the Dog and Clicker Training for Dogs, this book does go over similar ground from time to time. However, in conjuction with the linked website and video clips, it provides some thought provoking insights for anyone interested in why clicker training works and why animals (and people) can learn so well and so quickly and...
Published on 19 Sept. 2009 by Sue

versus
19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An interesting book about animal psychology, but hypocritical in the use of animals
I think Karen Pryor has been a very influential figure in the world of animal behaviour, and I appreciate the interesting information in the book. However, I couldn't help but be extremely bothered by the hypocritical approach given to animals throughout the book. While Pryor talks of animal intelligence, even their sentience at times, she fails to recognise the...
Published on 7 May 2012 by natasha-maria


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 19 Sept. 2009
By 
Sue (Stratford-upon-Avon) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read Karen Pryor's other books - Don't Shoot the Dog and Clicker Training for Dogs, this book does go over similar ground from time to time. However, in conjuction with the linked website and video clips, it provides some thought provoking insights for anyone interested in why clicker training works and why animals (and people) can learn so well and so quickly and have so much fun into the bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 9 week old golden retriever well on his training way, 14 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Reaching the Animal Mind: Clicker Training and What It Teaches Us about All Animals (Paperback)
I read this book before starting to train our new pup and honestly can't urge anyone who is about to start training a pup enough to read it,It really gets into how the whole process works and where it all started. Our dog within the first week sits everytime comes 95% of the time and lays down 80% of the time when told, you can see his brain working he really try's his best to get a click we couldn't believe how quickly he picks each new command up a great book. But if your just looking for a book on how to train your dog without learning the back ground Karen Pyror has another book for this. good luck hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars reaching th animal mind, 18 Dec. 2009
By 
Sue Dawkins (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Absolutely brilliant. Explains how clicker training and shaping works which makes it easier to understand how to do it. Lots of wonderful anecdotes about dogs, dolphins, horses, fish!and people. Lots of video links which give another insight into the workings of the clicker. The one with the fish who goes into a paddy when he wasn't rewarded is surprising. Very easy to read. Any animal lover would enjoy this book. It really opens the mind to look at animal training in a different way. I think everyone should read this book. Clicker shaping and TAGGing could change the world for the better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clickering revisited, 6 Dec. 2009
Having clickered for many years this book hit just the right spot to reaffirm my committment to this excellent training/communication method.

With chapters explaining the use of the method on various different species including humans and with plenty of examples and explainations this book is a must for trainers and teachers of all kinds.

It is easy reading but nevertheless packed with information and ideas.

It has the added advantage of another dimension using extra video information which can be accessed on the web.

All round excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!, 6 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reaching the Animal Mind: Clicker Training and What It Teaches Us about All Animals (Paperback)
Highly recommended read for anyone, especially those who live or work with animals, or children. As a dog trainer, I have amassed quite a collection of books on training & communication, and this is by far the best in my opinion. To date, this is the only book I've read that actually explains 'why' clicker training is so effective, and it has even inspired me to start training my cats!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read from Don't Shoot the Dog! author, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reaching the Animal Mind: Clicker Training and What It Teaches Us about All Animals (Paperback)
Karen Pryor - the 'mother' of modern dog training, Thank heavens for her....

Get your hands on this and understand why clicker training is the most wonderfully powerful yet kind way you can teach your dog. She delves into a bit of neurobiology but if you are seriously interested in how an animal learns, this is for you. Some nice video links too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As the title suggests., 31 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reaching the Animal Mind: Clicker Training and What It Teaches Us about All Animals (Paperback)
If You want to go deeper into the subject this is a very good place to start.
There are lots of animal specific books on clicker training this is not one of them!
This is a book about how the mind works with "clicker " training and how effective it can be.
It has only a few pages about specific pets mainly cat and dog. and the odd ferret referance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 20 May 2011
By 
P. Elliott (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reaching the Animal Mind: Clicker Training and What It Teaches Us about All Animals (Paperback)
This book is absolutely fantastic - it makes the technical side of animal learning easy to understand as is full of fascinating stories about the amazing capabilities of animals. a must read for any animal lover or training enthusiast!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If everyone read this book, everyone would be converted to Clicker training!!!, 3 Jan. 2011
By 
Ms. R. A. Cooper "Rachel" (Lisburn, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reaching the Animal Mind: Clicker Training and What It Teaches Us about All Animals (Paperback)
As a dog trainer in my local club specialising in Clicker training, this book was an absolute joy! I read it in one evening, alternately crying and laughing out loud!
If you ever wondered whether it was really worth trying the clicker, read this book and it will convince you! If you already use it, read this book to remind you how well the method works and how much fun you and your animals can have training using it!
Also, confirms the special way the clicker noise itself runs straight to the 'reptile brain' rather than the cognitive part of the brain, meaning that using a clicker rather than just a 'clicker word' really is better!
I loved this book and will be recommending it to my clicker training students rather than Karen's older book, 'Don't shoot the dog!', as it is more aimed at animal training for the most part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good simple explanation that explains a lot, 6 Mar. 2010
By 
S. Robinson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having just started clicker training with my dog and horse this book answered a lot of questions. I am a person who has very much been brought up the traditional way of teaching animals and so had a lot of questions and this book answered them all without getting too scientific.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Reaching the Animal Mind: Clicker Training and What It Teaches Us about All Animals
£9.41
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews