Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accessible guide to the latest thinking on where we came from
The reviewers who complain about this enjoyable and enlightening book do not appear to have actually read it carefully enough. For example, the book discusses in detail the use of the terms Celtic and Gaelic and, in that context, the map that is referred to makes good sense.

And, as someone with a lay interest in the subject, I found that there is plenty that...
Published on 7 Oct 2007 by Bryn Davies

versus
29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed it but was left confused
Overall, I enjoyed the book. I found the chapter on linking y-chromosome DNA to surnames particularly interesting.

However, there were a few areas that let the book down. As a previous reviewer has pointed out, basic mistakes (such as labelling the Welsh language as Gaelic) made me wonder what else the author had got wrong.

This book also left me...
Published on 5 Oct 2007 by M. Dorian


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed it but was left confused, 5 Oct 2007
By 
M. Dorian (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Face of Britain: How Our Genes Reveal the History of Britain (Hardcover)
Overall, I enjoyed the book. I found the chapter on linking y-chromosome DNA to surnames particularly interesting.

However, there were a few areas that let the book down. As a previous reviewer has pointed out, basic mistakes (such as labelling the Welsh language as Gaelic) made me wonder what else the author had got wrong.

This book also left me confused as to who McKie was referring to when he was talking about the early Britons (who apparently provided modern Britain with most of its DNA). Who were the people who left the `red-hair' gene? I was never sure when he was referring to the ancient people who came to the Isles 10,000 or so years ago, or to the `Celtic' peoples who arrived later. He seemed to skip from 10,000 years ago straight to Anglo-Saxons, without making much distinction between the pre-Anglo-Saxon people.

Other than these two faults, the book overall was interesting and easy to read. I would recommend, but I will be reading other books in this genre first to try and clear up some of the areas that McKie left hanging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accessible guide to the latest thinking on where we came from, 7 Oct 2007
By 
Bryn Davies - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Face of Britain: How Our Genes Reveal the History of Britain (Hardcover)
The reviewers who complain about this enjoyable and enlightening book do not appear to have actually read it carefully enough. For example, the book discusses in detail the use of the terms Celtic and Gaelic and, in that context, the map that is referred to makes good sense.

And, as someone with a lay interest in the subject, I found that there is plenty that was new to me, for example the work of Sir Walter Bodmer on DNA and much of the material in the chapter about the significance of red hair.

I can strongly recommend the book as a readable explanation of where we in the British Isles come from that does question accepted ideas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Milk-Drinking Adults with Red Flaming Hair, 2 July 2014
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Face of Britain: How Our Genes Reveal the History of Britain (Hardcover)
Written by Robin McKie, science editor of ‘The Observer’, this is the book of the TV series, and yet not the book of the TV series. Whilst relying on the results of the scientific programme covered in the series, the book’s arrangement of eight chapters and an epilogue takes a different and more involved route to reach the same destination. (I wondered if it would have been better if the series had followed McKie’s approach.) But Neil Oliver, who presented the series, contributes a foreword in which he expresses the excitement of discovering the extent of the genetic traces of Britain’s earliest post-Ice Age population, and Walter Bodmer provides an introduction emphasising the medical gains to be made in correlating genetic markers in different ancestries with those genes that cause illness.

I thought the TV series of sufficient interest to buy the DVD (see separate review), but the series was geographically specific whereas I wondered what a fuller national picture might tell. This book did not provide the answers, since it quickly became aware that Bodmer’s tests were themselves concentrated only in those localities featured on screen, although it is noted that his is only a pilot study: “further locations are scheduled to be added in future years.” So, alas, we have no samples from mainland Scotland, only one area in Wales, and a whole swathe of midland England is missing. But this does not mean that this book does not merit a wide readership. It certainly answered some of my questions, if not all.

In the first chapter, which is really a preface, McKie points out that “medicine was the prime motivating factor for the setting up of the project,” history and archaeology being beneficiaries riding piggyback. He says his book “is not an account of the intricacies of human genetics … Equally, this is not a history book.” Rather, it looks at the influences that created the genetic make-up of the British population, including “one of the most striking discoveries to have been made in the field in the past few years: that most of the genes of the British people today can be traced to the very first people who settled on the land more than 12,000 years ago. We may have some Viking blood or Anglo-Saxon genes or hail from a Norman family, but, deep under our skin, the majority of the British population are really Stone Age hunter-gatherers.”

Chapter two, elegantly written, takes us into Bodmer’s laboratory and describes the processes involved. McKie cleverly uses the gene for red-headedness as an entry point into considering the earliest inhabitants of Britain, from which he then considers the vexed question of ‘the Celts’. (Note, if the gene is missing from Cumbria, does this mean they are not Cymri after all?)

McKie’s journalistic style does not mean a sensationalist approach: he takes us by the hand and communicates well both the essence and much of the detail of the subject at hand. He is a science editor, after all, and his perceptive observations – and jokes – pepper the text, such as the origins of Britain’s disposable society (prehistoric hand axes) or that the tag ‘Made in Britain’ can be traced to Norfolk 60,000 years ago. If I have a grudge concerning his style, it is the use of ‘He says’ rather than footnotes.

The remainder of the book is often a whistle-stop tour of Britain’s genetic and cultural history. For instance, chapter four starts with the introduction of farming in the Neolithic and ends thousands of years later with the end of Roman Britain. But genetically, there was little apparent change over this period apart from the rise of lactose tolerance in adults. McKie posits the introduction of farming from France into Kent, but new evidence also points towards Ireland being another (and earlier?) point of entry from Iberia and the Pyrenees.

But this points – for me – to one of the book’s prime failings. If genetics has determined that the descendants of the original post-Ice Age settlers in Britain stayed and form the bulk of today’s population, what were the genetic contrasts with contemporaries on the European continent? In other words, how exclusive was/is British genetics, and to what extent was/is it shared with our neighbours in different parts of the continent?

It is also unfortunate that the way McKie has presented Bodmer’s methodology allows for elementary questions to be raised of its essential first-principals. These appear based on immense assumptions. For example, why does Bodmer rate the Cornish as genetically the most ancient of the Britons? We are told this is “because this is where these people are most likely to have ended up.”

With regard to the old chestnut about the extent and content of the Anglo-Saxon invasions, the jury is still out, McKie introducing us to results of other research. (Alas, he does not explore the obvious correlation of the Franks invading France but then speaking the native Latin-based French instead of German.) But there are some definite surprises where the Vikings are concerned – in Orkney, Dublin, and Cumbria – but the greatest surprise of all is in Iceland!

The book ends with two chapters on facial reconstructions and the links between DNA and surnames. McKie makes the valid point that the Y-chromosome and mitochondrial DNA (on which all this research is based) trace only two of the myriad lineages of each person. Even going back only to our grandparents, half of our DNA is ignored in these kind of studies. That increases to three-quarters by the time of our great-grandparents and increases exponentially the further back one goes. So to talk of the genetic origins of individuals is really a misnomer when only the Y-chromosome and mDNA is explored.

Still, McKie’s book is a good place to start on this important and potentially tendentious subject. Who knows what advances will be made in the years to come – or, indeed, have already been made. It seems a subject rich for further revelations and readers of this review might also want to check out the books by Stephen Oppenheimer and Bryan Sykes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended., 2 July 2014
This review is from: Face of Britain: How Our Genes Reveal the History of Britain (Hardcover)
Highly recommended.

Sykes never fails to raise the bar. Others may jump but none jump higher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but flawed, 8 May 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Face of Britain: How Our Genes Reveal the History of Britain (Hardcover)
There are a lot of good things in this book and it's nicely presented but there are also a few real howlers. Gaelic and Celtic are not synonymous and to talk about "Welsh Gaelic" is a terrible mistake in a work of this type (though Sykes does the same) - they even have a map of "Gaelic" languages with Welsh included as one of them! The figures for the number of Irish speakers also seem dodgy to me - it looks as though they haven't included Irish speakers in Northern Ireland, which is absurd. If you are interested in this subject, you'll find it worth reading but take it with a pinch of salt and check the facts carefully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear, what a let down, 10 Sep 2007
This review is from: Face of Britain: How Our Genes Reveal the History of Britain (Hardcover)
Sorry people, but I felt this book was a waste of money. If you want to read it, borrow it from a library. I was so disappointed that a lot of the content was just repeated info of which everyone with any lay interest in the subject would have been well acquainted.

It lacked professionalism, there were lots of repeated bits of info, other areas seemed to have been added as padding and there were, as another reviewer has commented, some real howlers of mistakes. Oh dear!

In my opinion, poorly written, the images (which I had expected in far greater number and detail) were pretty useless as they morphed faces from one area to another. -There were no definitive descriptions of what sort of features we could discern as indications of OUR families' origins (and lets be frank, thats why most of us would want to read this book).

Sorry, I wouldnt bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A clear and interesting introduction to a fascinating subject, 22 Jun 2014
This review is from: Face of Britain: How Our Genes Reveal the History of Britain (Hardcover)
Not having seen the TV series that this book accompanied, I can’t judge how well it served as an accompaniment. What I can say that it stands alone as a clear and interesting introduction to a fascinating subject.

Anyone raised in Britain knows that Britain has had waves of immigrants – Romans, Anglo-Saxons, Vikings, and Normans. We have vague notions that certain tribes settled in certain areas, that some intermarried with the pre-existing population and some didn’t, and that some had distinctive characteristics. We fondly imagine that such characteristics are still distinguishable in Britons from certain regions today. Some go so far as to claim descent from an illustrious lineage of a particular tribe. Very romantic, if not Romantic.

Most of this book is based on results from the continuing People of the British Isles project, which, at the time this book was written, had analyzed DNA samples from 100 to 150 people from each of about 30 rural locations. All are volunteers but are accepted only if all four of their grandparents came from the same area. Although the main aim of the project is to help medical research, this book focuses on what the project tells us about genetic groupings in Britain and how that evidence fits with historical and archaeological evidence. Some of the findings are consistent with the received wisdom, whereas some are not. All of it is interesting.

There is also a chapter on the connection between genes on the Y chromosome and surnames (both passed down through the male line) and changes in the distribution of surnames across Britain over time.

Genetics is a fast-moving field and this book was published in 2006, so is it still relevant? Yes, because Robin McKie writes with great precision, being careful to distinguish what was actually known as the time of writing from what was conjectured. Here’s a great example of how this care has paid off. When discussing Boxgrove Man, the remains of a 500,000-year-old member of Homo heidelbergensis, McVie says:

“dark skin is thought to be an adaptation to strong sunlight, pale skin to a lack of it… If the people of Boxgrove were longstanding residents, and not recent immigrants from more southerly regions, they may therefore have been relatively light-skinned. As to their eyes, scientists believe blue eyes are a modern evolutionary feature among humans, and so it is likely that these may well have been green- or brown-eyed, though this notion is pure conjecture.”

In January 2014, New Scientist magazine reported on the genetic analysis of the remains of a 7,000-year-old human male found in a Spanish cave: He had dark skin and blue eyes, confounding the researchers’ predictions. So scientists now know that blue eyes evolved before, rather than after, light skin as our ancestors moved north. But this doesn’t invalidate McVie’s account because he clearly marked his conclusion as conjecture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An accessible introduction to a complex matter, 9 Nov 2007
By 
AG PHILLIPS "An Bucca" (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Face of Britain: How Our Genes Reveal the History of Britain (Hardcover)
Written to accompany the recent Channel Four TV series, this well-illustrated book provides an excellent introduction to a complex area of scientific study. In it Robin McKie outlines recent genetic studies of Britain and Ireland, Sir Walter Bodmer, the man behind the most extensive - the People of the British Isles project - writing the book's introduction.

Sir Walter took DNA samples from people in various rural locations whose grandparents had lived locally. Working on an inspired hunch, he then compared the occurrence across the British Isles of the gene that can give rise to red hair - the MC1R or so-called `Celtic' gene. He found that it was most common in the Irish, with about half as much in the Cornish and very little or none in English regions sampled. Together with an earlier study that showed genetic similarities between English people and the Friesians of Northern Holland, this provides evidence to support the traditional model of the Anglo-Saxon conquest - that of invading pagan, illiterate barbarians forcing Celtic Christians to flee for their lives to the Atlantic seaboard of Britain. However, the book claims that most historians subscribe to another model - in this the Anglo-Saxons came in small numbers peacefully absorbing most Celts, their superior culture leading to their becoming the dominant race, the educated Celts leaving in a huff to head west and write a biased history.

History defines identity; if the Anglo-Saxons could be seen in a better light, it would permit their descendants to feel better about themselves. Perhaps this motivates some historians to disregard inconvenient evidence: that early historians, Celtic and Anglo-Saxon, are unanimous in following the first model; that DNA studies can now be said to support it too; that there are very few Celtic loan words in the English language to support the alternative one.

In matters of history, even the smartest people have can difficulty handling the truth...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Populist Tripe, 8 Jun 2010
This review is from: Face of Britain: How Our Genes Reveal the History of Britain (Hardcover)
The entire premise for the 'Faces' aspect of this book and accompanying TV series is flawed from the off. We are told that the people of the West are 'Celts' - this is the books STARTING point,not it's conclusion. Then to take DNA from the West and compare it with DNA from the East is simplistic and ill-conceived. Of course the people in the East will have a slightly different DNA from those in the West, just as if we drew an imaginary line from South Wales to North Wales we would find the same gradual shift in genes - BECAUSE these regions were historically peopled by disparate groups and then regionally isolated over time, with more breeding taking place within ANY area than between areas. This study PROVES nothing. The Silures of South Wales were different people to the Deceangli of North Wales - this was observed by Caesar.

Let's think - Caesar arrived and found the people of the S.E of England to be tall, blonde, blue eyed and the people of South Wales to be short, dark skinned, dark haired and brown eyed. Now - where are the tall, blonde, blue eyed peoples pushed West by the 'SAxons'? Oh, they are still in the East of England. And where are the hosrt, dark haired and eyed ones? Oh, they are still in South Wales. Who has moved or been replaced? NO_ONE.... ALL Brits are descended from the Brits who were there in Pre-Roman times..... check out much better works by Oppenheimer and Sykes, which offer much more considered opinions on this subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny, 11 Oct 2007
This review is from: Face of Britain: How Our Genes Reveal the History of Britain (Hardcover)
After the channel four series of the same name revealed the use of technology in researching our ancestory and genetics I was interested to further my knowledge and understanding of the subject. And this book was the perfect answer.
The writing was concise and the research well executed. If the previous reviewers had taken the time to carefully read the book they may have realised that the facts and figures used by Robin Mckie are both accurate and relative.
I highly recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Face of Britain: How Our Genes Reveal the History of Britain
Face of Britain: How Our Genes Reveal the History of Britain by Robin McKie (Hardcover - 2 Jan 2007)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews